We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on August 19-22- 2010 .We enjoyed our stay . The pool was nice and so were the hot tubs. We stayed on the 2nd floor . The room was clean and spacious . We ordered room service ,they were reasonably priced and the food was good . I wouldn't say it was a 4 star , but was edible . The area is nice and lots of things to do with in a 1.5 hour drive . but thats Vermont . We will return next summer for another visit .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darienolv2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn_team_rutl, Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you! I am glad to hear that the food was good and that you enjoyed the pool and hot tubs. We have just finished giving the pool a face lift and we are pleased you enjoyed it. We are in the center of Vermont and that makes us a great place to use as your home base, as you travel to all the great attractions throughout the state. Looking forward to seeing you next year when you return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    114
    98
    48
    19
See reviews for
125
86
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orleans,ON
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Helpful desk people.
Great room,fridge/microwave/HD TV/free internet.
Free welcome alcoholic drinks.
Free buffet breakfast.
Free parking.
Free Newspaper.
Great Location.
Seconds to restaurants/shopping/attractions etc.
Excellent discounted price.
One can not ask for more.
Will recommend to all and stay again at this great Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchy 1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn_team_rutl, Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Wow, thanks for such a great review. When you are back in the area The Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington will be your home away from home. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Was transferred from Barre Vermont to Rutland and stayed over a month. Phylliz my housekeeper was fantastic. She knew I was working over night shifts along with day shifts and made sure my room was cleaned every day and I was able to get my rest. Great front desk staff too. Was helpful in my learning the area. Would highly recommend this Hotel. Your entire staff made a bad situation much easier.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn_team_rutl, Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your response, we are so pleased that your stay with us during your transfer was enjoyable. The Management team is glad to hear that our staff was able to make a bad situation easier. I am looking forward to passing along your review to Phyllis and our housekeeping staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel is in a great location, near highways, stores & restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. It has a very generous pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna, and fitness center. The bar/restaurant overlooks the pool area, which is quite convenient if you have kids swimming. As with all Holiday Inns, the breakfast could be better if they used fresh eggs and had a bit more variety. I would stay here again and I think this is a great hotel year-round!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divinedecadence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn_team_rutl, Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for a great review, the team at the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington works very hard to anticipate our guests needs and it is nice to hear we are succeeding. I have passed your comments on about breakfast to our executive chef and we will try some new things. We hope that the next time you are in the Rutland area, you will make us your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An American living in Northwest England
Level Contributor
226 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is a Holiday Inn, so not a luxury hotel or ornate facility. But if you are looking for a good, clean and comfortable place to stay in the Rutland area, this fills the bill. My room had a comfortable queen sized bed, rooms have all the amenities one wants - small refridgerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, nice TV, air conditioning that works.

The bathrooms are good sized and clean, the indoor pool and whirlpool are nice. If you are a Priority Club member (signing up for this is free) you get a free breakfast, which is a good one, eggs, bacon and sausage, bagels and breads, pastry, yogurts, good fresh fruit etc.

I ate one evening in the restaurant, Poynter's, and while it was nothing fancy, it was fine. Good caesar salad with chicken or shrimp, several choices of steak, turkey, seafood, and I heard that the ravioli was good too. So if you don't feel like wandering downtown or to the nearby chains, you can certainly make do and be ok.

I was here for a conference, and everything seemed to be set up and ready, I know a hotel staff member straightened out a computer glitch for one of the speakers, and the luncheon food for the large group was good. So somebody clearly competent is running the function facility.

Oh, and the free wireless actually worked, which is more than I can say for a lot of the "free wireless" places I have stayed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJP-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinn_team_rutl, Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that we had all the amenities you were looking for in your guest room and in our hotel. It is great to see comments on our bathrooms, as we have just renovated them all. As for our conference center, we are the only hotel in the Rutland area with conference space, and our sales and banquet team work hard to make every event outstanding. Your great feedback lets us know we are doing just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We are in the 3rd week of our stay here and everything has worked out extremely well. Some notable details about the hotel that I haven’t read in other reviews: it has a nice courtyard with direct access to the pool area (open until 11 pm everyday). The best rooms are ones that face the courtyard (these rooms have two doors, one to the hall way and the other to the courtyard). Rooms facing the courtyard are the even numbered rooms from 114 to 126 and 142 to 156. The courtyard is very well kept and has enough space to play Frisbee. The trees make it look quite pretty. We almost always had the courtyard to ourselves especially during weekdays. Clearly, other families make this Holiday Inn their weekend getaway because at least several families have stayed and booked adjacent rooms in the courtyard (some rooms are linked with a door). All rooms have a microwave, fridge, internet, and power bar for extra power outlets.

Having stayed here this long, we know many of the staff from the front desk to maintenance staff and room cleaning staff. Out of the 8 to 10 staff we recognize, we know a number of them by first name. They are all really nice native Vermonters; we haven’t met a single grouch.

They have on-site laundry (available 24hrs a day) and when the clothes dryer was out of service, they dried our laundry free of charge using their machines. They were also very accommodative by allowing me to park my motorcycle next to our car at the front of the hotel which is a highly visible area. They made a note of this at the front desk so all staff was aware that they had OK’d the parking spot.

Check roomsaver.com for the holiday Inn discount coupon (or go to the entrance way of Denny’s for the room saver coupon book). This saved us a lot of money especially when you add the savings over the course of our stay. To add to my own disbelief of how well this stay has worked out, we joined the Holiday Inn Priority Club and we received the breakfast buffet free everyday of our stay (scrambled eggs, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausages, fruit, activia yogurt, 6 different types of cereal).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Nice restaurant, which was by far the best feature of this hotel, which is going through remodeling-paint smells, entire areas not operational. Has a fairly large pool, two whirlpools (although only one was working, and the other was difficult to turn on-something is off with the button an employee told us). we loved the sauna although the light didn't turn on readily as well as the well equipped smallish excercise room.

The rooms were clean, but nothing special. On the positive side, the staff were all very friendly and helpful in every way. The hotel is in walking distance to a strip mall with a grocery store and several chain type restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymoo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boogatz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry for any problems you had when you where staying with us. We are working on finishing up our remodeling and renovations. We hope that the next time you are in the Rutland area you will stay with us again, so we can show you the great improvements we have made to the hotel.
Again, thank you, for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rutland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington

Property: Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
Address: 476 Holiday Dr, US Route 7 South, Rutland, VT 05701-4887
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington Hotel. Ideally situated on Route 7 in Rutland, Vermont, minutes from downtown, the Holiday Inn affords you the convenience of a short drive to Vermont's most popular attractions such as ski areas Killington, Pico and Okemo, Manchester Center, Adams Farm, Vermont Marble Exhibit, New England Maple Museum, and historic villages like Rutland, Woodstock and Weston, just to name a few. If you are planning a meeting, wedding, motor coach tour, reunion or other gathering, the Conference Center is perfect for groups from 20 to 400. Our hotel banquet and catering staff's outstanding service & attention to detail, makes us a favorite in the Rutland area. For breakfast, lunch or dinner, Paynter's Restaurant offers an extensive menu for any appetite in a casual atmosphere where Kids Eat Free. Centre Stage Lounge serves a variety of fare and boasts 5 TV's so your are guaranteed not to miss a sports game. When you're away from home, you can continue your exercise regime in the Rutland hotel s Fitness Club, complete with Paramount equipment. Unwind in our indoor heated pool, two whirlpools and sauna and enjoy poolside refreshments and light dining or relax by the fireplace in the hotel lobby and take advantage of our complimentary high-speed wireless internet or business center. Businesses near the hotel: GE, OMYA, STO Corp, Carris Reels, Casella, Kalow Technologies, Killington, Okemo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington Hotel Rutland
Rutland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing