We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping walked right in, past "DO NOT DISTURB" sign”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I booked this hotel as a waypoint to bring my daughter to summer camp in VT. On the morning of our departure, I went for a run and left my daughter in the room, sleeping. I made sure to put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door.

When I came back my daughter was visibly disturbed because someone had entered the room while I was away, waking her up and scaring the daylights out of her. I asked the housekeeper and it appears that the housekeeping supervisor, Rhonda, went into the room despite the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door and despite the fact that it was only 10.30am, which is before the 11am checkout time. Incidentally, I had asked for, and gotten, a noon checkout time anyway.

I travel a lot, and I can't say that I've ever had a housekeeper disregard the a DND sign before checkout. My daughter freaked out when she woke up and didn't recognize her surroundings and found some strange woman in the room. Given the other reviews about the rude front desk clerk, I guess this hotel doesn't have very professional management.

Given that there are LOADS of little hotels withing a half mile of this one, I'm going to stay elsewhere when I visit at mid term and go to pick her up from camp.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank groukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 328 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2009

I recently stayed at the Comfort Inn Trolley Square in Rutland, VT. I had stayed here several years ago, and encountered a very rude front desk clerk, but I put this aside and booked a 2nd stay. Upon awaking in the morning, I went into the bathroom and found not 1 but 2 small live roaches on the floor and in the sink! Upon complaining to the front desk clerk, I was informed that my bill would be adjusted, and that the manager would come out to speak with me, neither of which happened. Upon pursuing this via E-mail, I was later told that the staff checked the room and found "no evidence of roaches". Of course, what else would they say?? My advice- stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAN321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

booked after reading reviews and talking with a family member who had stayed here. Room was ok at best, ceiling in bath chipped and stained, bed like a rock, heater VERY loud.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

This hotel is really nice for the price. The rooms are well maintained and tastefully decorated. The free breakfast is also nice when you are in a hurry to checkout.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DanielleTully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

When visiting Rutland, VT, stay at the Comfort Inn at Trolley Square....it's the best! Clean and tidy, great pool, pleasant accommodations to just relax. For a reasonable price, you won't believe how nice these folks are. Besides that, you get a breakfast included. It's a deal too good to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Decent hotel in a great location. Right in Rutland, close to many restaurants, the mall etc. Directly across the street from the State Fairgrounds. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel room was clean and comfortable although our room was quite dark due to the fact that there was just one window which faced out towards the parking lot. But otherwise a good hotel for the very reasonable price we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Elynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

No surprises, met our expectations. We often stay in Comfort Inns and this one was very typical. Enjoyed Rutland.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Willsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutland
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
259 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
6.4 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Trolley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Trolley Square

Address: 19 Allen St, Rutland, VT 05701-4563
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range: $81 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Trolley Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Trolley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Trolley Square Hotel Rutland
Comfort Inn Rutland
Rutland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing