We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff. OK rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The staff was very helpful and nice. (Except for the woman running the breakfast room who was very rude to us.) First word smelled of smoke even though it was supposed to be non-smoking they were nice about moving us and apologized that it was the 1st floor. Didn't bother us. The rooms were OK. Clean enough but a bit worn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler89675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 325 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Spent the weekend here due to a hockey tournament. While our team was given a group rate the property was still not worth the price. They should be charging no more than 79.00 night. The entire property needs a renovation. The breakfast area is small and very busy so we chose to go offsite for food. The Hampton Inn down the street is much nicer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The staff is excellant at this hotel. The hotel itself needs renovation. The rooms are very small. There was a few bus trips during our unexpected stay and the noise was horrible. Kids slamming doors all the time and buses running nonstop. I do not ever want to hear another bus. Bus fumes were going right up into our window. There is one restaurant in the area, which is ok. Besides that, if you are walking, do not stay here. The staff did not treat us like choicehotel elite members, however, two of the women staff were very helpful to us. The rooms need to be around $79 a night not the price we paid! I would not stay here again due to the noise. I could not get a good night sleep.

Room Tip: Call ahead of time to make sure that there are no big groups staying there. Especially big groups of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBlithes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

For the most friendly and helpful staff, this is the place in Rutland. They coped ever so well with 60 students and all their requests in such good humour and helpful nature that I doubt it could be bettered for a school trip.
Do not stay on your holiday/honeymoon during the school skiing season though! You may not find piece and quiet, although the hotel organised our rooms very well to keep us all together and separate from other schools.
Food in the neighbouring restaurant was very good also, surprisingly healthy diet for the USA and lots of it. Our boys did not go hungry, with second helpings a regular feature.
Rooms comfortable and well equipped.
Thank you so much for looking after us!
Eric Wolton

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezzo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We got a great deal at the Comfort inn for our winter break ski holiday in VT with focus on Mt Killington. It was a bit of a pain being stuck on the 3rd floor, and the 1st night our heat didnt work right. Since I needed to dry out our ski gear from a wet day on the moutains this was a bit of a problem. But Mr. Patel, the manager immediately offered to dry our stuff in the commercial dryer, and speedily sorted out the heat issue. The front desk was pretty helpful too, and the hot breakfast set us all up to last on the slopes until 2p. The rooms were comfortable, and the queen sized beds were welcome. I agree that the hotel is showing its age a bit with a smallish hot tub and dated facilities, but we weren't expecting the Ritz and were very comfortable with everything we were offered. The location is a very reasonable ride to Killington, and if you like eating out then to restaurants in the Rutland area work pretty fine. All in all a solidly good experience, and one we would be happy to repeat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitrasund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Room is fine but rest of hotel is showing age. Breakfast is served but it is all packaged food like microwave egg disks. McDonalds next door would be a better option. Kids enjoyed pool but chlorine smell was very strong hot tub was not hot. Parking is very disorganized when lots of snow comes...not good for Vermont. Staff could use more training and supervision.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackInTheBox68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed at the Comfort Inn for 5 nights and were very well taken care of. This is where they go to stay every time they visit. The people at the hotel, who work there, even remember that they need a 1st level room near the exit because of their mobility. Great breakfast choices and a decent price.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckystar1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutland
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Rutland
260 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
6.4 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Trolley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Trolley Square

Address: 19 Allen St, Rutland, VT 05701-4563
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range: $72 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Trolley Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Trolley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Trolley Square Hotel Rutland
Comfort Inn Rutland
Rutland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing