We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good service, Useful location, Hearty Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Trolley Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Trolley Square to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Allen Street, Rutland, VT 05701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
CT, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service, Useful location, Hearty Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We got a great deal at the Comfort inn for our winter break ski holiday in VT with focus on Mt Killington. It was a bit of a pain being stuck on the 3rd floor, and the 1st night our heat didnt work right. Since I needed to dry out our ski gear from a wet day on the moutains this was a bit of a problem. But Mr. Patel, the manager immediately offered to dry our stuff in the commercial dryer, and speedily sorted out the heat issue. The front desk was pretty helpful too, and the hot breakfast set us all up to last on the slopes until 2p. The rooms were comfortable, and the queen sized beds were welcome. I agree that the hotel is showing its age a bit with a smallish hot tub and dated facilities, but we weren't expecting the Ritz and were very comfortable with everything we were offered. The location is a very reasonable ride to Killington, and if you like eating out then to restaurants in the Rutland area work pretty fine. All in all a solidly good experience, and one we would be happy to repeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chitrasund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    104
    66
    25
    16
See reviews for
70
85
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Room is fine but rest of hotel is showing age. Breakfast is served but it is all packaged food like microwave egg disks. McDonalds next door would be a better option. Kids enjoyed pool but chlorine smell was very strong hot tub was not hot. Parking is very disorganized when lots of snow comes...not good for Vermont. Staff could use more training and supervision.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackInTheBox68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed at the Comfort Inn for 5 nights and were very well taken care of. This is where they go to stay every time they visit. The people at the hotel, who work there, even remember that they need a 1st level room near the exit because of their mobility. Great breakfast choices and a decent price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckystar1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Needed a room to be close by for business meeting next day. Upon check in, pretty girl behind desk apparenlty has her boyfriend loitering in the lobby for hours at a time, for what reason I have no idea. Room was fairly small but clean. TV channel selection extremely limited. WIFi was adequate. Went down to pool an hour after check in, and the boyfriend still there in the lobby and wandering around in pool area. Went in pool area, smelled chlorine and made the mistake of opening my eyes for a quick second...WOW...that was a new kind of pain for 2 hours. Immediately had to flush my eyes with cold water. They remained bloodshot till morning. Continental breakfast was best part. Wide variety of food including eggs and sausage. Ok for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Comfort Inn at Trolley Square has some good qualities and some not so good qualities. The staff at the front desk and breakfast room are friendly, helpful and knowledgable.

The rooms are comfortable and every things works (high speed Internet, TV, phone, etc.)

There is plenty of free parking and a nice restaurant to walk to right across the parking lot.

We stayed two nights and had a good night's sleep both nights.

The place does need some sprucing up. It is clean but there was drywall tape coming off the ceiling of our shower, the breakfast room on the third floor is too small and needs more space to provide additional breakfast items.

We have stayed there a couple of times in years gone by and would stay there again but we have noticed the decline in the facility.

Room Tip: The breakfast room is on the third floor if you want to avoid the stairs/elevator to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raggs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

When we arrived, the sign was not lit. That should have told us something. This place is suffering from real neglect.
The folks at the front desk and working the breakfast area were very nice and helpful, however, the facility itself is really awful.
First of all, the hotel is a dimly lit maze: we had to go through a poorly marked door to the "dining room" to get to the elevator. The halls smell of smoke and are dank and dark. The rooms are similarly old, damp feeling and shabby---although not smoky smelling, to be fair. The shower curtain had red mold on it, and the heater/a/c was ineffective and loud. The breakfast was several rungs below the usual Holiday Inn Express-type breakfast. There was a public computer and a printer. The printer was broken, but the staff made copies for us.
I do want to say that the beds were comfortable and the showerhead had a nice strong spray. Both good things, but not enough to overcome the damp, musty, smoky, dingy general atmosphere. This place has not been cared for and I just can't recommend it except in a real pinch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marthainoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. My room was pretty clean. I think the carpet proably could have used a shampoo, but overall good. The sheets were clean. After going over the bottom sheet with a lint roller, the roller was clean !!! Bed was comfy. TV is flat screen. No fridge in the room, but front desk said they presently only some rooms have the fridge, but that they are working on putting them in all rooms. Bathroom was small but clean. Shower head had no pink mildew LOL !!! Breakfast was the upgraded continental including waffle machine, scrambled egg paties, and sausage. Breakfast room was small and got a bit crowded, but then thinned out. Guess people took food back to their rooms. Hotel has a restaurant/bar on the premises, an actual bar and a McDonalds just outside the property and lots of other things in the area. So overall, I was a happy camper !!!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 233.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Trudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutland
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
3.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
6.4 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Trolley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Trolley Square

Property: Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Address: 19 Allen Street, Rutland, VT 05701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Trolley Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Trolley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Trolley Square Hotel Rutland
Comfort Inn Rutland
Rutland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing