We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Sing Enough Praises of this Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Quechee, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cannot Sing Enough Praises of this Hotel!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was our second stay at the Comfort Inn - Trolley Square in Rutland and AGAIN, the stay, the staff and the room were top notch! We had stayed at the Courtyard in Burlington the night before for $271 and that stay paled in comparison to the Comfort Inn which came in at $78 with our AAA discount. Our room was well appointed and clean, right up the stairs from the pool which we enjoyed after dinner. Queen sized bed, full size tub/shower and flat panel TV with a decent selection of channels. The pool area is a bit dated, but it was more than relaxing and refreshing. The continental breakfast served on the second floor is awesome - waffle bar, eggs, sausage, cereal, coffee, tea, juice - what more could you ask for? Keep up the fantastic job Comfort Inn, we hope to see you in the fall!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brtngrl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for the postive review!! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We do treat all of our guests as if they were at staying at our own homes. We do have a great staff and are very proud to work at our hotel! We enjoy our guests and we are always happy to help them visit all our wonderful sites of Vermont! We will be looking for your return in the fall:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    132
    70
    25
    16
See reviews for
86
105
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The level of service stands out at this hotel. The staff is considerate and goes out of their way to provide superior service. The free breakfast is above average, and the rooms are up to date and clean. Parking at night can be tight, but I always managed to find a space. Location is ideal, right in the middle of the business district and close to shopping and restaurants. A real find.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quiet and close to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_in_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your great comments, they are very much appreciated! We strive to have all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. We are known as "The Friendliest Hotel in Rutland" !! My staff and myself try to treat our guests as if they were gusest in our own home.
We look forward to you staying with us again!! Thank you, Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Good value under $60 with a full hot breakfast. We had a twin queen room with a frige and a microwave. The only complant was the size of the bathroom

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papadooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCindy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel! It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our NEW Hot Breakfast Items!! We look forward to your return to "The Friendliest Hotel in Rutland"! Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
188 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

On the road and needed a place to stay at the last minute. Used a coupon so it was very reasonable. A NICE hotel. Good beds, clean. We had a king room so there was a desk and chair and a comfy chair. The bathroom was small and a bit awkward . Pool area looked nice. Breakfast was better than most.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCindy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for writing in! It is always nice to hear from our guests. As you mentioned we now have added more "Hot Breakfast items." Looking forward to your next visit to "The Friendliest Hotel in Rutland!" It is very appreciated. Thank you again from our entire staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many, many times over the past several years.
The rooms are always clean. The staff has always been very helpful, professional, accomodating, etc. Every one from the general manager, the front desk staff, house keeping maintenance, all of them go above and beyond the call. I can't rave about them enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

On a whirlwind weekend hiking tour of the New England area...ended up at the last moment in Rutland, VT...didn't want to overpay for a simple place to sleep - but also wanted a decent room. For the price, we were delightfully surprised to have a very clean, bright and lovely room. Basic, but nice. Other than a brief mix up with room assignments with another guest...we had no other issues. It was quiet, close enough to the highways to make an easy exit in the morning, a nice continental breakfast and pleasant service. Definetly worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workinggirl124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCindy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel! I am pleased you had a nice stay with us. As you mentioned we are a very basic hotel as far as our amenities. We do strive to keep hotel clean as possible and as "FRIENDLY" as possible.
All of our associates are here to help our guests have a great time in Vermont!
Thank you again- it is greatly appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have been going to Rutland 3 to 5 times a year for the last 11 years. The first couple of years we stayed at different hotels, Ramada, Redroof to name a few. Ramada was O K, but did not like Redroof. We then tried the Comfort Inn. After our first weekend, we were hooked Let me tll you the positive things about the Comfort Inn. All the staff are very friendly. I admit the rooms are not new, but are clean and comfortable. You can't beat the price for what you get. The location is perfect. Every year I see the the same staff working there. That speaks for itself. They are usually the first hotel with all rooms full during the holidays and special events, so book early. Now about the last two reviews. It sounds like they were written by a jealous competitor. I would not be happy if my room was dirty. The staff offered them another room which they declined. Would you let your kids stay in a DIRTY room? I wouldn't. Now for the REAL complaints. When was the last time you heard a staff member complain about about your room rate. What does he care how much you pay. He could get into trouble for saying it. That proves thier prices are excellent. Now, about breakfast. Breakfast is on the 3'rd floor. How disappointing can that be? Were you expecting STEAK and EGGS for breakfast with room service? For the price you pay for your room, you get a very good selection. Some places I have stayed at, continental breakfast was coffee, juice, and donuts. Last item. If your room was over heated, why didn't you lower the heat or turn on the a/c? Each room has its own control.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkCindy, General Manager at Comfort Inn Trolley Square, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for you kind words. It is guests like you that make us proud to come to work each day.

Your exactly right--We may not have the newest hotel in Rutland, but we do strive to keep it clean, affordable, and have everyone enjoy their time with us.

As someone once stated---A building is just a building- its the associates in it-- that makes the difference.

Thanks again- see you soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rutland hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
3.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Rutland
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland/Killington
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 12 in Rutland
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Trolley Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Trolley Square

Property: Comfort Inn Trolley Square
Address: 19 Allen St, Rutland, VT 05701-4563
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Rutland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rutland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Trolley Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Trolley Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Trolley Square Hotel Rutland
Comfort Inn Rutland
Rutland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing