We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty but slow”

Sandy's Books & Bakery
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty but slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The food is yummy and wholesome and the porch and garden are lovely but service is always somewhat disorganized and slow and prices quite high. The place if cosy and funky and people friendly. it combines food and a book store so nice place to browse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farmvisiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best coffee in Vt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Friendly people. Quaint & funky atmosphere. Hands down the best coffee Ive had in Vermont yet!!
Definitely will come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boriquá R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love love love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We came in right about at closing time on Saturday night. We were greeted by Fran who made us feel incredibly welcome and encouraged us to stay while they completed their 'soft closing' for the day. Fran made wonderful suggestions for us, served it with the most delicious rye bread (baked there) and recommended their sun tea- which I was totally addicted to! The tea was steeped in jars on the front porch with mint in it from the garden out back- they use a lot of veg from there to use in their food. (Take a minute to go out back and see it- a beautiful garden!). It made my trip. I'm new to visiting Vermont, but this place was the embodiment of what I hoped VT to be. And the cookies! God Lord, do not miss the cookies!!! Gluten free flax macaroons, black & gold cookies, and so much more. Loved Fran- she is an incredible lady, working at an incredible little gem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_F_from_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Love this place! Great food, books, and atmosphere. We went everyday during our week long stay in the area. Every meal we had was delicious and fresh. All of the soups were awesome and the salad dressing was one the best I have had. There were plenty of options for both my vegetarian self and meat loving husband. The great selection of used books puts this place over the top. We made sure to bring home some baked goods and bread. This place really exemplifies why Vermont is such a wonderful place. Cannot wait to return on our next visit to town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hill22785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great food for vegetarians and carnivores alike; a wonderful collection of books of all sorts, including vintage and collectibles.
Also delicious scones and cookies!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marygracevenable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy's Books & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Sandy's Books & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing