We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The only other sounds the sweep, of easy wind and downy flake."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"The only other sounds the sweep, of easy wind and downy flake."”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I absolutely can not put into words just how much we loved our stay at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins. There are so many little touches that are inexplicable, but make you feel like Marty and Carol are welcoming you into their own home. Me, my girlfriend, and our friends instantly fell in love with the place as we pulled in, and we just kept loving it more and more each day we stayed.

Firstly, the cabin itself was gorgeous. Everything was clean, and felt new. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need (we cooked pasta, chicken, sauted broccoli) from tupperware to appliances to wine glasses! The living room area had a very comfortable couch (that folds out into a bed if need be) and a beautiful nook to read/enjoy the view out the window (complete with a very well thought out reading light). The gas fireplace was easy to use, and kept us quite warm, while giving the cabin a great area for everyone to gather around. Our bedroom was quite roomy for a room with a queen bed, and it had a nice window that opened to our back porch. The other room with the twin beds was also quite roomy, even with some nice drawers for storage, the cabin's floor plan was clearly well thought out. The bathroom opens to the living room/kitchen area and is quite large, and fully stocked with towels and all the necessities. Finally the fully screened in back porch was absolutely amazing. Complete with a dining set for cookouts, our porch faced the lightly snow covered woods. The view of the pine trees covered in white that go on as far as you can see... just reminds me of something Robert Frost himself would write about. Lastly outside our back porch, they do have nice charcoal grills if you want to do some grilling (yes, we were crazy enough to grill in January!).

The location itself is amazing, and if you are looking to disappear off the earth for a few days, this is the place to go. The first thing we noticed, is that there is no cell phone reception within 20 minutes of the cabins... this is a GOOD thing! We were able to thoroughly enjoy life for our long weekend because of that. If you do need to be connected, there is free high-speed wifi in each cabin, which did make looking up activities in the area convenient. We stayed in cabin #4, Serene Outlook, and right outside our cabin was a trail head into the woods, which eventually made an easy loop back around (good for dog walks) or could head farther down the mountain depending on what you were looking for. The view from the bonfire/loft area was breathtaking, we could see some towering snow-capped mountains in the distance. Lastly, as remote as the cabins are, you are close enough to a lot of popular destinations like Mt. Abraham, The Robert Frost Interpretive Trail, and Branbury state park. You are also reasonably close to Middlebury where you can find a full grocery store to stock your cabin for your stay.

The final, and best part of my review is about the owners of the cabins, Carol and Marty. I've never seen better hospitality at any location I've stayed at, including 5 star resorts that cost triple the price. When you stay here, you feel like truly appreciated guests. The Husband and Wife pair live in the first house you pass on your way to the cabins, just down the road from where you will be staying, and are always available for you to stop by and talk or ask for anything you need. We had let them know that we were bringing our two pups ahead of time, and when we arrived they had left bowls for food and water, and treats for both of our dogs (which they loved!) They had started the fireplace to warm the cabin up for us, and left us some local coffee and hot cocoa mix. A little later that day Carol herself stopped by to ask if we needed anything, give us directions to stores, and meet our very excited dogs (they are both very big dog people, and our puppies loved them). The next morning we awoke to a picnic basket of fresh, warm, delicious blueberry maple muffins left on our doorstep... Carol is quite the baker! On the last day of our stay, snow had started to accumulate and we saw Marty go by in his plow, clearing the roads, the next thing we knew, we looked out the window and saw him shoveling around our car for us. The two of them love to talk to their guests and they took this wonderful weekend and made it extra special for us. They clearly love what they do, and put a lot of effort into making sure their guests enjoy their stay.

P.S. Our pups can't wait to come back and play with their super happy and friendly dog Merlin!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
It was truly a pleasure to be your hosts. Thanks so much for all of your kind and positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Robert Frost Cabins two times now and each time we have been so pleased with the experience. Marty and Carol have built 4 (soon to be 5) amazing cabins that are warm, cozy, and comfortable (each with a fireplaces!). We have enjoyed walking the trails around the cabins as well as driving to Burlington to visit friends. We especially appreciate the baked goods that Carol makes for each visit. As we have only visited during the fall and winter, we can't wait to come back in the summer and take full advantage of the grill on the porch!

Room Tip: Every cabin has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Glad to hear of your plans to for a summer visit and bar-b-que. Nothing smells more like summer than something cooking on the grill. We'll be sure to have your cabin's grill tools ready to be put to use!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a (too) brief couple of nights at these lovely, well-appointed guest cottages over New Year's. Even our dog Riley was welcomed, with dishes and treats waiting for him upon our arrival :) It was COLD outside when we were there - well below freezing at night, and just teens during the day and the heat in the cabins must be magic - it was toasty the whole time! A couple of highlights included many different pillows to choose from, memory foam topped beds, LOTS of towels, a large fridge and kitchen well stocked with dishes, pans, etc. It is also nice that the bathroom is not located in the bedroom - I get up early and like to be able to let others sleep in with their doors closed. We didn't spend much time on the screen porch this trip, but will definitely plan to come back when we can. the Wifi is great, but (as expected) there is no cell service for calls/texts. I occasionally saw 1 (useless) bar on Verizon, but nothing for AT&T. there is a land line in the community loft.

Room Tip: We were in Cottage #2 and had plenty of privacy. the view out the back door and screen porch was of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Glad that you were toasty - even with the chilly temps. When we planned the cabins, it was important to us to ensure that they would be well insulated and comfortable. Nice to hear that the effort was well worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Robert Frost Mountain Cabins during the week of Thanksgiving. Our son is a student at Middlebury College, and the cabins provided a perfect place for our family holiday. The two-bedroom cabins are beautifully built and very spacious, with a well appointed kitchen, screened-in porch, and gas fireplace. Carol and Marty are such gracious hosts, and they made us feel right at home in our cabin and in the loft gathering space, complete with books, games, movies, and satellite TV. Our son was even able to get his laundry done while watching Thanksgiving football games! We plan to return in the fall to take advantage of evening bonfires and spectacular views of the foliage. I am so glad we discovered this hidden gem!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 04901Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
It was great to be able to provide you with a home away from home for Thanksgiving. Looking forward to sharing other VT seasons with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our family returned here for a second time.

Most of our weekends are full of kid related activities (soccer, soccer, and the occasional soccer) so it makes no sense for us to own a "place in the mountains", however much we dream about it.

So the week between Christmas and New Year is the one time when we go away as a family.

Marty and Carol run a very warm, welcoming destination. Both times when we have turned up late at night after a long drive from Boston they have appeared at the cabin door to check that we have everything we need - and offer whatever we were missing. (Their house is separated from the cabins by woods and a large barn - close enough to get help, far enough away not to notice).

The cabins are a short distance from the road - at night the road appears miles from anywhere, but by day you realize that there are alot of houses and even a school. Middlebury is a 15 to 20 minute winter drive away. The cinema was a hit with the boys, and the 2 Brother's Pub an event bigger hit with the parents (no, Anchorman 2 could not compete with a warm pub and plenty of local draft beer). The Hannaford supermarket is very large and well stocked so there is no need to bring much from home.

The cabins are all a year or two old, and are in very good condition - all the appliances are very new. We cooked alot - the Chicken is currently roasting in the oven. You can borrow pretty much anything from Marty and Carol if you need a roasting pan or whatever.

Our son was so confused by the lack of a dishwasher that he put his dirty dishes in the draining rack after every meal - and was stunned that they were not magically cleaned.

We have just returned from tobogganing down a very long unploughed road - truly scary by the second bend as the speed picks up, and quite exhausting. The boys have retreated to their room to watch Netflix (the Internet is much faster this year).

There is a party in the common area (the barn) tonight - so that should be fun and a good way to meet the other guests (mostly from Canada tonight).

So all in all a really good place to come and relax.

I think the best way to sum it up is "hand crafted with care" - Marty and Carol are slowly building a really beautiful vacation destination, and they are ploughing everything they have into making it both a success and a great experience. Even my totally urban son likes it, and has learnt a new skill (dishwasher).

Room Tip: All the cabins are essentially identical. Marty is building a new cabin every 6 months or so, and no...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Can't wait to share our new toboggan run with you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have visited twice now and love these cabins. The second time, we visited for my husband's 50th birthday. Marty and Carole (our hosts) were kind enough to put out on the road in a sandwich board wishing Rob a Happy Birthday. They also delivered delicious cinnamon twists with a birthday candle to our door on Saturday morning. We enjoyed long brisk walks through the woods with snow gently falling. Our golden retriever LOVED the walks and wide open spaces to run the trails! The cabins are new, fresh and lovely with great amenities. Lots of fluffy towels and plenty of hot water. Comfortable beds and a cozy nook to watch movies or laze away the day with a book. You are only 15 minutes to Middlebury, which is a great college town and Lincoln Peak Winery as well as Dakin Farm and the Vermont Flannel Store are fun outings. A perfect place if you like a rural, well appointed, weekend away from the business of life! Thank you Marty & carole!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
We loved having you back for a second visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our stay at the Robert Frost Mountain cabins was outstanding. The cabins are beautiful, the scenery is breathtaking, the cabin owners Marty and Carol treated us like family (even their dogs guided us through the trails on the property), and we had everything we needed to feel right at home. We were even delivered warm, homemade muffins to our cabin one morning. We enjoyed the seclusion of the cabins while still being only 15-20 minutes away from stores, restaurants, and attractions. The RFMC will be the only place we stay when we travel to Vermont. You cannot stay here and be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin #2 "Sunrise Vista" and we were very happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTCabins, Owner at Robert Frost Mountain Cabins, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
It was so great that you took advantage of so many of the opportunities in the area. We love to see folks appreciate it as much as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripton
6.3 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
7.0 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
7.0 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
14.6 mi away
Lilac Inn
Lilac Inn
#1 of 10 in Brandon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Frost Mountain Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Frost Mountain Cabins

Property: Robert Frost Mountain Cabins
Address: 2430 North Branch Rd, Ripton, VT 05766
Location: United States > Vermont > Ripton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ripton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Robert Frost Mountain Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2014 and 2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner, Robert Frost Mountain Cabins offer spacious, artisan-crafted, timber frame cabins with spectacular mountain views. Each cabin has 2 bedrooms, bath, kitchen, living/dining room and screened back porch. Nestled on 112 acres bordering the Green Mountain National Forest, our charming cabins include all of the contemporary comforts and are conveniently located near Middlebury and a short distance from Middlebury College’s Main and Bread Loaf Campuses. We offer year round short term or extended stay lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Robert Frost Mountain Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing