We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Richmond Victorian Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Victorian Inn

Richmond Victorian Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richmond Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Richmond B&B and Inns
minneapolis, mn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Richmond Victorian Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor (especially the management rebuttal to the laundry situation), the two of us decided to give this inn a go. We are really glad that we did. Management bent over backwards to make our stay truly comfortable.

We mentioned that we were going to tour the Ben and Jerry's plant. Management popped up and gave us a couple of passes. Truly above and beyond expectations.

The room was super comfy, with well-appointed furniture. Common areas were spotless and had a superb Victorian charm. Please do not take the low quantity of reviews as a negative. There are many old and new loyal customers, many of which may not be a tech savvy as they could be. All in all, a absolutely wonderful experience!!

  • Liked — Management and decor
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnesotatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

My wife and I were on a 2 week motorcycle trip through New England this past summer. This was one of our scheduled 13 stops along the way.....4 of which were bed & breakfasts. We, unfortunately, ran into rain on our way to this place, and were graciously allowed to pull our bike into the garage out back. Our room was small and cozy....but served its purpose for one night. Because we were on a motorcyle....we also needed to find a laundromat to do some laundry (this was day 6 for us on our trip). The host told my wife it would be NO PROBLEM for us to use his washer and dryer to do our laundry. Great!
You can probably understand our suprise and disappointment to find out in the morning that he CHARGED US TEN DOLLARS for using his washer and dryer. This is AFTER he volunteered them to us the night before.....nice!!!
Other than that little episode....the bed, room, and breakfast were no better or worse than the other B&B's we stayed at. But next time we'll find our own laundromat, thank you!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyMae95, Owner/Innkeeper at Richmond Victorian Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2008
These travelers had indeed come a long way by motorcycle and it was late and raining when they arrived. They were staying only one night, on a weekend. When the wife asked about a place to do laundry, we told her that there is no longer a laudromat in our town and the nearest one, about 8 miles away, was closed. We understand travelers' needs and try to accommodate them whenever we can, so she was grateful that we gave her access to our laundry room and all the supplies. We didn't think it was unreasonable to charge $10 to wash and dry at least two large loads of laundry - about three hours worth. The next morning, at checkout, the Innkeeper explained the extra charge and the guests never questioned it at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

The proprietors were superb hosts giving us recommendations from what to see, where to go, and more. We even planned to visit the "maply syrup man" but he wasn't home when we arrived at his place. They were such a wealth of knowledge about the history of the area and they made a nice country breakfast for us. The bacon was from the local butchers and was superb!

Richmond, and the house, is situated on the loveliest stretch of Rt. 2. You can take it all the way into Burlington, a 15-20 minute drive, so you can see some of the other small communities along the way.

You'll enjoy your stay and will be pleased you're not spending twice as much for staying in Burlington. Burlington's not all that.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2005

Would definitely go back! Stayed in the suite with the jucuzzi tub. Well worth the money. Every single piece of furniture was extremely relaxing and comfortable. I normally have trouble sleeping in a foreign bed for the first time, but slept like a baby. Wish I could take the bed home. Location is 20 minutes from Burlington and other attractions. Breakfast was great. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Burlington Williston
12.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
12.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Victorian Inn

Property: Richmond Victorian Inn
Address: 191 East Main Street, Richmond, VT 05477-9666
Location: United States > Vermont > Richmond
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing