We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B, but....”

Richmond Victorian Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richmond Victorian Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Richmond B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My wife and I were on a 2 week motorcycle trip through New England this past summer. This was one of our scheduled 13 stops along the way.....4 of which were bed & breakfasts. We, unfortunately, ran into rain on our way to this place, and were graciously allowed to pull our bike into the garage out back. Our room was small and cozy....but served its purpose for one night. Because we were on a motorcyle....we also needed to find a laundromat to do some laundry (this was day 6 for us on our trip). The host told my wife it would be NO PROBLEM for us to use his washer and dryer to do our laundry. Great!
You can probably understand our suprise and disappointment to find out in the morning that he CHARGED US TEN DOLLARS for using his washer and dryer. This is AFTER he volunteered them to us the night before.....nice!!!
Other than that little episode....the bed, room, and breakfast were no better or worse than the other B&B's we stayed at. But next time we'll find our own laundromat, thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyMae95, Owner/Innkeeper at Richmond Victorian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2008

These travelers had indeed come a long way by motorcycle and it was late and raining when they arrived. They were staying only one night, on a weekend. When the wife asked about a place to do laundry, we told her that there is no longer a laudromat in our town and the nearest one, about 8 miles away, was closed. We understand travelers' needs and try to accommodate them whenever we can, so she was grateful that we gave her access to our laundry room and all the supplies. We didn't think it was unreasonable to charge $10 to wash and dry at least two large loads of laundry - about three hours worth. The next morning, at checkout, the Innkeeper explained the extra charge and the guests never questioned it at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2006

The proprietors were superb hosts giving us recommendations from what to see, where to go, and more. We even planned to visit the "maply syrup man" but he wasn't home when we arrived at his place. They were such a wealth of knowledge about the history of the area and they made a nice country breakfast for us. The bacon was from the local butchers and was superb!

Richmond, and the house, is situated on the loveliest stretch of Rt. 2. You can take it all the way into Burlington, a 15-20 minute drive, so you can see some of the other small communities along the way.

You'll enjoy your stay and will be pleased you're not spending twice as much for staying in Burlington. Burlington's not all that.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
claremont, NH
13
Reviewed August 14, 2005

Would definitely go back! Stayed in the suite with the jucuzzi tub. Well worth the money. Every single piece of furniture was extremely relaxing and comfortable. I normally have trouble sleeping in a foreign bed for the first time, but slept like a baby. Wish I could take the bed home. Location is 20 minutes from Burlington and other attractions. Breakfast was great. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Richmond Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Victorian Inn

Address: 191 E Main St, Richmond, VT 05477-9666
Location: United States > Vermont > Richmond
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: $70 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing