We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was hoping for more”

The Kitchen Table Bistro
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Was hoping for more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've been to the Kitchen Table in the past and enjoyed it. It's an upscale experience: the decor is warm and very "Restoration Hardware" and the food is usually creative. I was disappointed though when my husband and I met friends for dinner in December. We had a drink at the bar first which was nice - the bartender was friendly. When we ordered though, we got the large cheese plate for the table. It was served on a slate slab which looked cool, but there was so little for four adults we found ourselves carefully picking at it so there was enough for everyone (and I know this was an appetizer but for $12 was not worth it given its size). I then had the gnocchi with squash and mushrooms. The gnocchi were done perfectly - they were light and tasty. The combination though of the squash and mushrooms was very earthy and after a few bites didn't work anymore. My husband wasn't impressed with his meal either. There are other upscale local restaurants that provide what we would expect for this type of experience that we'll probably go to in the future rather than the Kitchen Table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShelbyJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    24
    18
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must for food tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We live in burlington and make the trek to the Kitchen Table Bistro regularly. Food is amazing; best farm to table restaurant in Vermont. Staff is friendly and service is good. Space is cozy (it is a farmhouse turned restauraunt. You will be sitting close enough to other tables to hear the conversation, but this does not detract from the experience. You will not be sorry for coming here. Dont forget to make reservations, this place is popular year round with vermonters and toursists alike.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wintejp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Always a great dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have been to the Kitchen Table perhaps 6 or 7 times in the past year, and have never had a single bad experience. If you look at my other reviews you will see that I have high expectations and am critical, so when I say that this place is worth the price and the trip, you can take my word for it.

If you do not want a full entree or a longer dinner, pulling a seat up at the bar and grabbing a burger is a great way to go....the burgers are fantastic. While other restaurants try very hard to be something special, the kitchen table just seems to do it naturally. Very impressive and a great place for foodies.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank masadavt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Special restaurant for a date or group, fabulous food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have been to the Kitchen Table twice, and both times were excellent experiences. The staff was very accommodating, in one case finding a separate room for our 15 person party with only a few hours notice. The food is consistently excellent, with many fresh local ingredients and great options. The building itself is historic and quite interesting, and the decor is attractive. I haven't been yet on a date, but I see a number of quiet nooks for good one on one conversation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bannerarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of Vermont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This chef-owned gem never disappoints! Delicious local fare creatively done, Lara's homemade desserts are amazing and staff is extremely knowledgeable about wine pairings, ask for Neal about wines. We have dined here many times and they are consistently superb!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RegBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Table Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen Table Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing