We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh baked but no service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of On the Rise Bakery - CLOSED

On the Rise Bakery
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
jericho, vt
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh baked but no service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

He baked goods are fresh and wonderful. The service at the counter is barely above nonexistent. I've been there for breakfast and lunch. The wait was long for both. Ownership could use to take a look at their service model and rethink their priorities.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
404 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Delicious stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stopped here for lunch while on a bicycle trip. After a long morning ride, I'm sure my bicycle tire would have tasted good, but we stopped here for lunch. I had pizza- local tomatoes, kale and goat cheese. Literally the best pizza I've ever had. Dessert was an apple strudel. Fresh, flakey and sweet. This is a lovely place for a stop for a meal, snack or coffee. Lovely sunny patio outside. Young hipsters and cute babies are the crowd (save for our middle aged group!).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went for a Saturday night pizza and salad. The tables were dirty, the pizza came before the salads, and they were out of several items. I had had a good lunch there before but had eaten outside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank srbeau645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Things to Love, Things to Dislike”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having stopped in several times over the years (including the old place before they moved - the building that is now Toscano's), I find it to be a mixed bag. The food is really very good and with a big emphasis on local (the other day I was in and saw a pan full of pears from the tree outside, just waiting to be made into something beautiful and tasty). Try their breakfast bagel sandwiches which are among Vermont's best. The service tends to be non-attentive and it can (though not always) take a while. If you've got time on your hands and are not feeling stressed out, this is a great place to go. I've only tried breakfasts and hope to stop in later in the day sometime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bagoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Food is okay, and establishment has a nice park beside it, but on a recent trip, we dealt with three of the staff. One was polite, friendly and helpful. The other two were offputting, unwilling to do the basics of commerce in an eatery, plus charged us the wrong prices (too much of course). If you don't like having a bad taste in your mouth due to poor customer service , then don't come here to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CliffHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Rise Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing