We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & homey, great vibe, cool people, good food”

Bennett's 1815 House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reading
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bennett's 1815 House
Ranked #2 of 3 Reading B&B and Inns
New York City
2 reviews
“Warm & homey, great vibe, cool people, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We chanced upon the 1815 House on the web while looking for a place in the area for a couple of nights. The reviews were good, the house had a great backstory and the cafe brought the added bonus of built-in good food. We were not disappointed! Karen and Peter were very accommodating, the room was very reasonable, and we really enjoyed talking to them.

A lot of inns in this area can be, shall we say, stuffy? Some may look for that in a B&B, but it's not for us. Their house has a welcome, homey vibe, the kind of place you where you feel like you're hanging out with good friends in their kitchen (oh wait-- you are!). The property is lovely too.

We didn't get to try their lunch and dinner menu (oh well, next time), but we did enjoy Karen's homemade ice creams and blueberry pie (berries right out of the garden). The sundaes are amazing. Cafe has the same relaxed, homey vibe as the house. Our first night there they were trying out an open mic night with talented local musicians. It was nice to hang with some ice cream and a pint of Long Trail.

Love the place, recommend it, and we'll definitely be back with friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonRiverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2009

Staying with Karen, Peter and their lovely cats and dog was very nice. The breakfast and dinner was amazing and our room was so quiet and restful. The Seedhouse Cafe was warm and cozy, excellent food and great local brews. We enjoyed local antiquing, dining, and a winter sleigh rally. The sleigh rally was delightful to watch as dogs and their owners were pulled along the snowy field by horses adorned with bells. We also enjoyed visiting the VIN Nature Center. We purchased some tasty treats in town like maple syrup and some locally made cheeses. We ended our stay with a magical one hour personal sleigh ride through fields and woods. There are lots of near-by winter sports and hiking to partake in as well. Let Peter and Karen be your host for your next visit to Reading, Vermont!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandANY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

MY boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at Bennett's. Everything was perfect- the working fireplace in the bedroom, to the farm fresh delicious made to order breakfasts ( local bacon smoked like I've never tasted before- amazing!), and the beautiful Vermont winter wonderland scenery. We also had a fabulous dinner at the Seedhouse Cafe, which is attached to the B&B. Great food, beer on tap and homemade ice cream and freshly baked breads. yum! It's very close to Woodstock, which is a cute little town and there is a lot to do in the area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYKarenBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2008

This city woman has a few things to say about country Inns. Bennett's 1815 House is like going to my imagionary Grandmothers house. The house is full of old things, books (lots of them), toys in my room, landscape art, and cupboards full of Grandma's china. My bedroom was comfortable. I slept deeply because the silence of the country was more refreshing than medication. The house sits back from a crossroad with meadow views. Big trees on the lawn that both shadow and profile on a big sky. Did I say there was a brook out back? And, the food...plenty, tastefull, and creative. All homecooked in the Seedhouse Cafe kitchen. We wished for an additional bathroom. For pet lovers there is a loving dog and two shy cats.

  • Liked — It's not your corporate experience. It's all about home.
  • Disliked — I'de like another bathroom upstairs.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KandCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.6 mi away
The Pond House Bed and Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
8.2 mi away
Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Snapdragon Inn
Snapdragon Inn
#1 of 4 in Windsor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
8.3 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
9.1 mi away
Timber Inn Motel
Timber Inn Motel
#1 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bennett's 1815 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bennett's 1815 House

Property: Bennett's 1815 House
Address: 37 Route 44, Reading, VT
Location: United States > Vermont > Reading
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bennett's 1815 House is a small historic B&B in central Vermont 13 miles south of Woodstock. Two sunny rooms each with fireplace, double bed, shared sitting room and bath. Full breakfast included. Situated on 7 acres of woodland, field and brook for you to enjoy. Fine dining restaurant also on the property. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing