We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a Bride Could Ask For....and More!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quechee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parker House Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6 Quechee B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2008

My husband and I are locals here in Quechee and were married here last September. We asked Alex and Adam to put together a cocktail party for the night before our wedding so our out of town relatives and friends could meet and socialize with their local counterparts...about 100 people in all. We also needed accomodations for the weekend for out-of-towners and a bridal suite for us. The result was beyond anything I could have hoped for! The party was amazing! Tables of cheeses, dips, veggies, and smoked salmon were set out both inside and in the front garden. Watiers passed hot hors doevres and every guest raved about the delicious food. There were two bars set up so nobody would have to wait in line for a drink and a fantastic acoustic band set up under the arbor in the garden. Unbelievable food, quick service, and an incredibly beautiful yet relaxed atmosphere. All our friends who stayed at the Inn for the weekend were very impressed (many are in the service industry and can be very picky!). Our bridal suite for the weekend was huge and was located on the end of one of the floors for a very private feeling. Even Adam's bacon and scrambled egg breakfasts were delicious! Thanks again Parker House...you helped make my dream wedding a reality!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassandra113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 137 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2008

I returned to the Parker House with my teenage son -- for the 3rd time. We have family in the area and have come to see the Parker House as a "home away from home." We reserved late for President's weekend not realizing how crowded it would be. But Adam was unfailingly gracious and made sure we felt welcome and special. Due to the "full house" we stayed on the third floor where the rooms are not quite so large and are thus cheaper, but we found them to be lovely and cozy. We ate in the restaurant Sunday night with our very young cousins (4 and 10), and although it was a full house, the service was prompt and friendly; the children felt truly welcome and Alex (the chef) made sure to prepare things just the way they liked. I had the salmon which, as always, was beautifully presented and delicious; my son had the lamb which is his favorite. We ended our visit with breakfast the next morning, with Adam to host us with good food and good cheer.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ann64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Parker House last December and I will never forget it. We ate at the restaurant almost every day. Alex Adler makes some of the best food I have ever tasted in my life. Hands down. The filet mignon and crab bisque are to die for. And our room could not have been cozier. A truly beautiful place.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank rick3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Stayed here for one night in October 2007. The owner (Adam) was very friendly when we arrived and showed us to our room. The room was very homely and felt more like a suite as it had a bureau, coffee table and little sofa in it. There was also a small dressing room in between the bedroom and the bathroom. Overall, we really like this place but felt that the layout of the bedroom/dressing room/bathroom could have been improved.
There were no curtains at the window, which is fine if you don't mind waking up with sunlight.
Breakfast was very pleasant indeed and we felt very relaxed after our night here - even though it was just one night.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

The restaurant should be mssed at all cost! With the suggestion that this is quality food, and a chef owner, they have greatly missed the mark. With four diners, all were totally disappointed.

All entries seemed like they were prepared by an airline chef...
totally tasteless. The fish stew tasted like a can. The same base as the mussel appitzer - " one base fits all seafood dishes" seemed to be the theme.

Avoid this eating establishment at all costs! Go next door to Simon Pearce...it's faboulous!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DustyVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTChef, Alexandra Adler owner/Chef at Parker House Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2007

Wow, what a scathing review. I wish we had known about this patrons displeasure at the time, we do everything within our power to make every guests’ dining experience pleasurable. Prepared a la minute, using fresh herbs(Rosemary, thyme, Italian parsley and Marjoram), spices, caramelized roasted garlic, diced shallots and fennel -our bouillabaisse and mussel dishes are some of our most popular and celebrated by locals and guests. We do not use one base for all seafood dishes: first of all it would be boring, second , lobster-saffron broth and roasted tomato -leek based broths while similar in color are decidedly different in flavor. My apologies for not meeting your expectations this evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

We stayed on a weeknight in the Walter room. The tab was in the low 200's for one night.

The high points are the location and setting of the property. It has a great view of the river... esp on the deck off the bar in back. Quechee is a charming spot. We enjoyed watching wine glasses being blown at Simon Pierce next door. We also very much enjoyed the scenic
drive to Woodstock on the lesser traveled route through Quechee.

We had dinner in the restaurant. The food and service were excellent and the pricing seemed about right. I would recommend the restaurant.

Our biggest gripes were with the cleanliness in our room and the common areas of the Inn. We noticed cob webs and dust. And in general
the finishing of the room was pretty low rent. You should be warned that the Walter room is directly over the bar. Not surprisingly, this
old house isn't up to the challenge of keeping the noise down from a bar directly under a bedroom.

Overall, our experience was pretty average.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank MarkFromMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTChef, Alexandra Adler owner/Chef at Parker House Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2007

Hello Mark,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the dining experience at The Parker House Inn. While we are thankful that you took the time to write this review I would like to clarify some of your comments particularly the "low rent" one. Our linens are 500 count Egyptian, The duvet is French linen encasing a down comforter; the antique furniture in the room are19th century original pieces; and the original art on the walls are pen and ink drawings of Venice, Italy
from the late 1700's. Your robe if you choose to wear it- is an incredibly soft (again Egyptian) cotton and all of the bath amenities are Caswell-Massey Sandlewood collection and include shampoo, conditioner, body gel, body lotion, hand cream, shoe mitt and a sewing kit. Our complimentary toothpaste is Tom's of Maine.

While dust and cobwebs do happen here in Vermont, I agree that they have no place in an Inn where you are paying a premium rate (or anyplace for that matter) I wish we had known so we could have quickly redone your room for you more to your (and my) satisfaction.
The walter room is over our bistro which usually stops serving about 10:00pm- we are more of sedate spot so usually there is no problem with noise but now that you have mentioned this I am going to put one of our antiique oriental rugs in there to cut the noise to a minimum.
.
My hope is that you can forgive us for the cobwebs - but I respectfully disagree with the low rent comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Dear Adam and Alex:

We cannot express our gratitude deeply enough for the absolutely outstanding job you did of making our surprise wedding last Friday, August 17th 2007 an event to remember. The compliments we received from our guests regarding the beautiful rooms, the very friendly and efficient service and the amazing dinner at the reception were manifold. We think Alex has supernatural powers-how else could she produce 46 delicious (and different!) meals in such a short space of time? The hors d'oevres and dessert buffet were perfect, too. On top of all this you added all those extra touches (midnight snacks and a pair of shoes for Ron, checking our friends in on-line for their trans-Atlantic return flights, scrumptious breakfasts for whoever pitched up, etc., etc.) that everyone loved. And we, the bride and groom springing the fact that it was a wedding (not a surprise birthday party!) on you the day before. You didn't blink-nothing fazes you and we are eternally grateful to you and your wonderful staff for the most memorable day of our lives. OK, we're running out of superlatives here, but you get the message: you are the best!

We'll be back up in Quechee at the end of next month and will book in to have dinner at the inn. We look forward to seeing you then.

Lots of love,

Gillian and Russell

Stayed: August 2007
Thank BackBay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quechee
7 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
456 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
484 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Lebanon
373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
1.2 mi away
Inn at Clearwater Pond
Inn at Clearwater Pond
#2 of 6 in Quechee
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker House Inn and Restaurant

Address: 1792 Quechee Main Street, PO Box 780, Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Quechee
Price Range: $145 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surprising, Classic & Unique *Renovated in 2015* Chef owned full-service Inn and modern B&B in a beautifully refreshed 1857 National Historic Register Mansion overlooking the Ottauquechee River. Next to Simon Peace Glassblowing. 2 Minutes to the Quechee Gorge. 15 Min to Lebanon and Hanover NH to 5 min to Woodstock, VT Nestled intimately within the Upper Valley blends New England's traditional charm with contemporary touches and deluxe accommodation Pub, full bar and award winning dining. Savor each morning with a cooked to order full country breakfast included in nightly rate. Wi-Fi and full Quechee Lakes Country Club Access for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parker House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Quechee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing