We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to Crash”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quechee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parker House Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6 Quechee B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Like every B&B at which we've stayed, when we were making our reservations everything seemed to indicate the rooms were almost sold out, while the actual occupancy rate was about 1/3 full when we spent the night. I would think that a free upgrade in cases like this might tempt people to return. The room was large enough, though some of the peripheral furniture was pretty shabby. There were no room darkening shades for privacy, and the windows in the room were screwed closed. I though that a bit weird as a safety issue. There was dust on the furniture. The appearance of some sort of commercial vehicle in the dark hours of early morning woke me with its back-up alarm. The shower was tiny, and the bathroom sink also miniscule. There was nowhere for my wife to place her 'kit'. The bed was comfortable. The restaurant offerings were overpriced.. My wife had the Lobster Risotto, which was also to have included some shrimp... barely any lobster or shrimp. By the way, the prices on lobster are very low right now and have ben for a while, so there's no excuse to not offer up a fair amount. I had the double lamb chops which were done to perfection.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejja55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 137 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

My daughter's Vermont wedding had to be replanned due to the damage hurricane Irene caused. We found the Parker House and from the moment we walked through the door we knew everything would be alright. The Inn is charming with a staff that is talented, generous and welcoming. If you are hungry, they will serve you a delicious feast, thirsty, offer you something you've never tried, but will now become your new favorite. Every request we made was delivered immediatly with a smile and question if there was anything else they could do. The entire time we were at the Parker House they made us feel like our stay was their priority, and judging by the smiles on the other guest faces they made them feel the same way. I cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I booked the inn because of it's location as we were hot air ballooning on Saturday. When we arrived Friday night Adam, one of the owners, greeted us and showed us to our room and he was very friendly.

We had dinner out on the porch and the food was very good. We Ended up in the bar after dinner and had a wonderful time talking to the "regulars" who come here weekly. Everyone was so friendly from the staff to the customers. Definitely have Adam make you one of his signature drinks!

Our room was very large and comfortable, the only issue was that the bathroom door would not stay closed.

I am a "picky" traveler and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bostonagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were in Quichee for a wedding last weekend and managed to get a last-minute room at the Parker House Inn, so we canceled our reservations at a chain hotel in White River Junction, and we're so glad we did. It's a beautiful old property with wide wood-plank floors, antiques galore and a wraparound porch overlooking the river.

We had a great night's sleep on the firm mattress, they were gracious and accommodating about getting us an ironing board and iron, and the breakfast (served out on the porch) was sensational: a delicious, thick, crispy pancake with real maple syrup, fresh fruit (blueberries, strawberries and cantaloupe), scrambled eggs, and bacon, plus coffee, orange juice and your choice of newspapers. Couldn't have been happier with our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is an exceptional place. We were pampered and treated like family. We brought our 5 month old puppy and couldn't have felt more T home. The service was exceptional, the food was amazing and the owners, Adam and Alex are like long lost friends. Loved every minute. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife (American) and I (ex regular) dined at the hotel and had a very good meal. We spoke at length to the owner who gave us a tour of the accommodation available. He apologised for the meal on the grounds that his wife, the French born chef, had the night off, not that I would have known. Whilst the restaurant next door could be seen as a little more up market; I would vote for the less pretentious Parker House Restaurant on the basis of the menu evidence available, but that's very subjective but there again so are all reviews.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SheridanNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Two of us had dinner here and it was absolutely disappointing. $150 (including tip) for two glasses of wine, two starters, one desert, one coffee. The food was badly presented and pretentious. The steak tasted as if it had been immersed in water and then broiled. The mashed potatoes were watery. The starter fish melee was a joke. The wine was 10 dollars for the house red. The coffee was good. This place is very nice to visit but the food is totally overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ilana049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VTChef, Owner at Parker House Inn and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Well, my husband is British and he is the host, but we are decidedly not a “British” restaurant, our motto “New England Farms, Warm French Flavors” we are definitely more Mediterranean above all else. $150.00 does seem rather high for the meal you described! So I added up the combination of food you described and the result I get is $79.00 not including tip or taxes… but if you go with the most expensive items on the menu, including the most expensive house red wine which start at $7 and go up to $10, then, sure, it can add up! Also, it seems you forgot to mention the entrée you ordered until the end of the review. Most of our appetizers are in the $6-10 range, The “Fish Melee” : I am assuming you mean the Smoked, Grilled Tasting board, which is meant to be a shared platter, is priced at 18.00 dollars and includes Grilled Shrimp cocktail (3); Scottish Smoked Salmon and Ducktrap Farms Smoked Trout; garnished with homemade horseradish crème, shallots, capers and toast points. The Steak entrée is a Hand Cut Strip loin and is grilled and the finished in the oven ($30) served with bourbon peppercorn crème topped with aged blue cheese. The mashed potatoes are done every afternoon before service and included butter, Local Heavy Cream, Shallots, Garlic and nutmeg in the traditional French Style. Thank you for taking the time to write this review….we wish we had the opportunity to take care of your apparent dissatisfaction at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quechee
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
7.0 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
436 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
663 reviews
3.9 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker House Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker House Inn and Restaurant

Address: 1792 Quechee Main Street, PO Box 780, Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Quechee
Price Range: $145 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surprising, Classic & Unique *Renovated in 2015* Chef owned full-service Inn and modern B&B in a beautifully refreshed 1857 National Historic Register Mansion overlooking the Ottauquechee River. Next to Simon Peace Glassblowing. 2 Minutes to the Quechee Gorge. 15 Min to Lebanon and Hanover NH to 5 min to Woodstock, VT Nestled intimately within the Upper Valley blends New England's traditional charm with contemporary touches and deluxe accommodation Pub, full bar and award winning dining. Savor each morning with a cooked to order full country breakfast included in nightly rate. Wi-Fi and full Quechee Lakes Country Club Access for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parker House Inn And Restaurant Hotel Quechee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing