We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Signature Cheddar Soup Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simon Pearce

Simon Pearce
Reserve with OpenTable
Simon Pearce is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Quechee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Simon Pearce Restaurant, recently voted one of America’s Most Romantic Restaurants by Travel and Leisure and Best of New England, VT 2011: Meal with a View, offers Creative American cuisine utilizing fresh local ingredients, thoughtfully prepared and attentively served in a classic restored Mill overlooking the Ottauquechee River. The staff motto is "quality without pretense." The dining room is casually elegant with views overlooking the waterfall and covered bridge. Recipient of Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" since 1993, they offer a series of wine dinners monthly from November through May. They feature handmade glassware and pottery, which you can observe being made in their on-site glass and pottery workshop at The Mill. Enjoy their retail shop before or after you dine. Reservations are not accepted for lunch but are accepted for dinner. The restaurant will do their best to accommodate requests but does not guarantee any specific seating.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Signature Cheddar Soup Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I also had the fresh beet salad. Wow! This place was excellent. I would live to eat here again. The glass blowing was interesting to see but out of my price range. Great view of the falls. Loved it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marlenemaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    216
    72
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect stop for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was a suggested stop on our way North to Vermont, and a great suggestion it was too. The restaurant overlooks the falls and a covered bridge.
The waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu. The cheese soup was the best I have ever tasted and leaving room for the creme brulee is a must.
This was the best meal I had on the whole trip.
We didn't book as we were in the off season but talking to other customers it can get busy, so booking may be essential during the summer

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blueyonderNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Consistently Superior in Every Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We bring our family and friends here anytime we are in the Woodstock area. The glassware is a joy to hold and the scenery out the window of the new covered bridge and waterfall are beautiful. The food is made with farm fresh ingredients and we enjoy the specials as well as a few veterans like the lamb burger. The servers are attentive (and I believe Beth is the best server I've had at any restaurant). The glassblowing demonstrations on the lower level are equally outstanding - a gem of a destination.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DKSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming, Excellent food and water view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

This restaurant is in a stone building with an elegant casual atmosphere. It also has a showroom and you can watch glass blowing of Simon Pierce glassware downstairs.. So all the glassware on your table is glass blown. Always ask for a seat by the river and waterfall. At times hot air balloons come down above the river and it is a site to behold. The service and quality of the food is excellent. It is fairly expensive but worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ortrud s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch - nice surroundings and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We did the Simon Pearce stop on our trip through Vermont. Had lunch there and had a window-side table overlooking the falls. Even without the view it would have been an enjoyable lunch.

We both opted for the cheese soup. (Very good!) One of us had the beet salad and the other the calamari salad. Calamari were done perfectly (they tend to get rubbery if overdone, as they often are). Remoulade served with the calamari was ideal. A small plate of bread and maple butter was also served. A glass of wine and a glass of Guinness rounded out the lunch. Food was a cut above what I would call "average". But then I may just be a naive tourist.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

Total lunch set us back about $40 as I remember. We thought we got good value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HimselfNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon Pearce also viewed

 

Been to Simon Pearce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing