We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal and view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simon Pearce

Simon Pearce
Reserve with OpenTable
Simon Pearce is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Quechee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Simon Pearce Restaurant, recently voted one of America’s Most Romantic Restaurants by Travel and Leisure and Best of New England, VT 2011: Meal with a View, offers Creative American cuisine utilizing fresh local ingredients, thoughtfully prepared and attentively served in a classic restored Mill overlooking the Ottauquechee River. The staff motto is "quality without pretense." The dining room is casually elegant with views overlooking the waterfall and covered bridge. Recipient of Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" since 1993, they offer a series of wine dinners monthly from November through May. They feature handmade glassware and pottery, which you can observe being made in their on-site glass and pottery workshop at The Mill. Enjoy their retail shop before or after you dine. Reservations are not accepted for lunch but are accepted for dinner. The restaurant will do their best to accommodate requests but does not guarantee any specific seating.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Most people know of Simon Pearce, the restaurant and the glass/pottery store. it's applauded all over the area as the place to go for the best meal and to watch the water cascade over the falls and to shop for beautiful glassware and pottery made by the Simon Pearce artisans. It's true-the food is fantastic and if you shop in the seconds part of the store you can find some real bargains. We always take out of town visitors there for lunch and shopping. Never disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nhnatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    218
    72
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Spot on the Waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stopped by Simon Pearce Glass Factory and Restaurant on our back to Boston from Stowe VT.
The Glass galleries and restaurant are exquisite. Perched above The Ottauquechee River in Quechee Vermont, allows for terrific views of the rushing waterfalls and the covered bridge. The atmosphere is classy and comfortable. The service was excellent. We really enjoyed the cheddar soup and the lamb burger. The waitress brought us over their cookbook. Really interesting to see that the recent history of such a successful brand. The family is from Ireland and has been here about 40 years. The glass galleries are beautiful and watching the glass blowers was really impressive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kbedford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a wonderful time watching the crafts persons blowing glass in the workshop downstairs. The glassblower we watched was affable and informative. We were then all the better able to appreciate our experience of shopping and admiring the wares for sale in the retail shop. We finished our visit to Simpn Pearce with lunch in the adjacent restaurant, which was served on handmade pottery and glassware. Our meal was excellent and there are several interesting wines available by the glass. Lunch service begins at 11:30 and I recommend arriving early to be seated at a table with views of the waterfall.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ojerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful time - great reasonable lunch prices and excellent eats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a great time at Simon Pearce, on a weekend where the skiing was rained out. Wife had a salad, and I had a chicken sandwich, we also had the 2 cheese plate. I had the hot mulled cider - excellent! Overall, for the $ a great fine dining experience, and if you're lucky to get a table overlooking the waterfall, a wonderful time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GOBIlls213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

There is no better restaurant than Simon Pearce down the street. Love their menu and browsing in their store!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank caseydong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon Pearce also viewed

 

Been to Simon Pearce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing