We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the soup”
Review of Simon Pearce

Simon Pearce
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Quechee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Simon Pearce Restaurant, recently voted one of America’s Most Romantic Restaurants by Travel and Leisure and Best of New England, VT 2011: Meal with a View, offers Creative American cuisine utilizing fresh local ingredients, thoughtfully prepared and attentively served in a classic restored Mill overlooking the Ottauquechee River. The staff motto is "quality without pretense." The dining room is casually elegant with views overlooking the waterfall and covered bridge. Recipient of Wine Spectator's "Best of Award of Excellence" since 1993, they offer a series of wine dinners monthly from November through May. They feature handmade glassware and pottery, which you can observe being made in their on-site glass and pottery workshop at The Mill. Enjoy their retail shop before or after you dine. Reservations are not accepted for lunch but are accepted for dinner. The restaurant will do their best to accommodate requests but does not guarantee any specific seating.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“go for the soup”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Worth a trip just for the Vermont cheddar soup. SO delicious! This is a beautiful place to have a great meal and enjoy a scenic view. It is expensive, so we chose to go for lunch over dinner and had a great experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hill22785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    234
    75
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A fantastic dining experience, superior service”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Special Prix Fixe menu for graduation weekend at Dartmouth College taken mostly from their regular menu. This is not a cheap place to eat, but it’s worth every penny in my opinion!

Vermont cheddar soup is creamy and good, but rich. Seared sea scallops were perfectly cooked and would have made Chef Ramsey proud! Pork Belly Roulade in sage brown butter and served with house tomato chutney was delicious! Don’t think Latin pork belly, this has more meat on it and just enough fat to make it really moist and flavorful. Crispy duck confit served with sweet and sour cabbage and a truffled balsamic vinaigrette was very tasty.

For the entrees, we tried Steak Frites, a New York Strip cooked medium-rare as ordered, the much-touted Horseradish crusted Chatham Cod, the Smoked and Roasted Duck Breast and the Grilled Filet Mignon. All were delicious and wonderfully presented. The smoked duck was full-flavored with an aromatic smoke. The Steak Frites was straight-forward but a great quality steak, full of flavor.

The setting is as advertised and we got there a few minutes before our reservation and got seated in the dining room overlooking the water. Nice! Service was impeccable and our server, from New Zealand, knows her stuff. For example, she could explain how the cod was encrusted with horseradish to impart the flavor without the bite. Horseradish’s zing lies in its oils, similar to those found in mustard. When you cook horseradish the oils evaporate, reducing the bite. The cod was awesome!

Dessert in many restaurants is an afterthought. Not here. The vanilla bean crème brulee was light and rich at the same time. The caramelized lemon tart with macerated berries was absolutely yummy!

The atmosphere is lovely and the staff makes you feel welcome. Management knows its customers well, making the rare gesture of giving graduates a small but highly coveted gift from the glass store. Let’s just say parents we ran in to were scrambling to make Sunday reservations because their son or daughter had to have the Simon Pearce gift! Lovely gesture, fantastic dining experience.

Dinner June 8

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwheelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat with a view”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The meal was exquisite. If you want a river view, have an early reservation. We had the cheddar soup, eggplant for a first course and couldn't have made better choices. For dinner, pork and duck. Very generous portions that were delicious. And any dessert is worth having at Simon Pierce.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Surprisingly average”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant over the years. This time, five of us went during balloon weekend. Our hosts, who live in Quechee, reserved a table next to the windows: The reservation was not honored. A salad with a wedge of warm goat cheese was fresh and very pleasant; not so the more pedestrian sea scallops and the bland duckling. Dessert, Simon Pearce's take on S'mores, held out promise that was far from reached. There was little graham cracker, the marshmallow was tasteless, and the chocolate was overdone. Sadly, it was a dessert without balance. A rhubarb tart had little character. Ditto for the lemon tart. Service was fine and friendly—but the overall experience was a huge step down from "the good old days."

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jww1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, NY
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A quest in Quechee”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We made the unfortunate mistake of trying to dine here during the annual balloon festival. Parking appears to be a bit limited on a normal evening and the sign at the entry to the parking lot stating "No event parking" was far from useful. After trying for 20 minutes to find "legal" parking, we called the restaurant to say that we would be late for our reservation and where could we park. The cheerful person who answered the phone did give us guidance and we were able to find a safe parking spot within reasonable walking distance. The staff was gracious and apologetic when we finally arrived. The service was efficient and the rack of lamb was delicious.
We were also treated to 2 hot air balloons as they passed by. Some advice - even though there is a porch with a view of the waterfall, it is difficult to get a table with this view even if requested. Be sure to ask if there are any festivals in town when you reserve your table as parking will be a nightmare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon Pearce also viewed

 

Been to Simon Pearce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing