We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid breakfast at a great price”
Review of Quechee Diner - CLOSED

Quechee Diner
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: This restaurant has only been open since Father's Day, 2012. It was formerly the Farmer's Diner but has now been taken over by new management. Before the Farmer's Diner, it was Farina's Family Restaurant.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Good solid breakfast at a great price”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a great family breakfast at the diner yesterday. I loved the corned beef hash. Kids got the 7.95 buffet. Back room is a bit dark wished we had eaten in the front diner car. Very nice wait staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    18
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canaan, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really Good Foor, Marginal Service”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good- Really good breakfasts, at a very competitive price, in-spite of being in "tourist" country
Service- bad, bordering on awful, until a young waitress showed up about 3/4 of the way thru our meal. She was great, helping all the tables, whether hers or not. See below.
Hint- While the menu says "American Cheese" (crazy in VT, huh?) for each item including cheese, they do offer really tasty cheddar, just ask.

We stopped in for breakfast for the first time since the diner re-opened under new management. Our experience was definitely mixed, starting right at the door. We stood waiting for a table (diner section was clearing, dining room almost empty) while the hostess wandered around looking bored and confused...no smile, no welcome, no just a moment please, no would you like coffee. We did get seated, by which time the diner area was pretty empty, and then waited for a while until the waitress, who seemed to be having a bad day, finally came over and asked if we'd like to order...again no smile, no welcome, no apology for keeping us waiting. Mean while, the hostess had wandered thru several more times, but did nothing for anyone.

We asked for coffee, one breakfast burrito, and one vege omelet. We then waited and waited for our coffee. Finally, about 15-20 minutes later, we got our first cup. We then waited another 15-20 minutes for our second cup, which came after the food was delivered. Both breakfasts were really good, more than enough food, and the omelet was perfectly cooked with mountains of tasty filling.

About half way thru eating, something changed. That was the arrival of a smiling, energetic, outgoing, waitress. She checked with each table (none of which were "hers") to see how they were doing, whether then needed coffee, etc. In the next 10-15 minutes she delivered two more refills. She, not our waitress, also came by to see if there was anything she could do for us. Between the good food and this nice/efficient waitress, it rescued a "bad" rating to "average". With the right person serving, this could be good/very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyV2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointing, But I'd Go Back”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived just 1/2 hour before closing because of harrowing delays on our travel days, so we were famished. It looked like they weren't happy to see us so late as they were already cleaning up, but several parties arrived after us too. In any case, we were seated in a quaint old dining car, which was wonderful, and our service was good from then on. I wasn't too impressed by the food, and found my burger sub-par. Despite the "average" rating, I feel like I'd give it another chance, especially for breakfast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarthMacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice diner to fuel up before day or after hike.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

It is a diner so the food is not 5 star but wonderful breakfast buffee on Sunday till noon and above average diner food, wonderful atmosphere and close to State Park, shopping and hiking the gorge. Fuel up before you head out for a quick bite of even after getting off trail or shopping.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabe4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“The Diner atmosphere is the Best Part”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stopped in for a burger after shopping at the Antique Mall. Really, just average food.
But the diner is vintage and worth looking around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quechee Diner also viewed

 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing