We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quechee Inn at Marshland Farms, Vermont”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
Ranked #1 of 6 Quechee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a very comfortable and quaint inn conveniently located on Quechee's Main St. At its standard room rates, it is a great value compared to other accommodations in the area. The service is great and Rick Trahane, the Innkeeper, is quite accommodating. It is always our first choice as the place to stay when we visit Quechee, if they have rooms available. They frequently offer "deals", particularly ones including free dinners in ther excellent restaurant.

They also house "Wilderness Trails" operated by Marty Banak. Marty is the best fly fishing guide I've ever met and my wife and I try to fish with him 2 or 3 times each year. Wilderness Trails also offers canoe, kayak, and bike rentals in the spring, summer and fall, and cross country skis,snow shoes and ice skates in the winter. He maintains a beautiful set of cross country ski trails and my wife and I also try to work in at least one trip visit to the Quechee Inn each winter.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevieg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 337 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Recently, we stayed two nights at the Quechee Inn. It was a beautiful setting with average accommodations. It was adequate. Most of the staff was pleasant, with an exception of one very rude staff member..The common room was quaint and cozy.the breakfast was nothing special, much like another guest quoted as " what you might find at a Marriott". None the less, the wait staff was very accommodating. The high light of the visit was the evening meal at the Quechee Inn. It was very tasty and priced fairly. We enjoyed the ambiance of the Inn but we would more likely check out other B and B s in the area of Woodstock.

Room Tip: Don't ask to have a fire in the fireplace unless it is below freezing. " Absolutey NOT &quo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRC732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hubby and I spent two nights at the Quechee in this October. We stay in Bed and Breakfasts all the time, so I was disappointed that this place was not the cozy-type place we are used to. Upon arrival, we checked-in with a young girl at the counter. The Innkeeper was nowhere in sight. (We found out later he was the one running around like crazy 24/7. We never meet him in person.) The girl was scurrying around, apparently having to take care of the counter and phone, as well as try to greet guests and give the "tour". She was too busy to give us a complete tour or answer any questions. Our room was one of the lower-cost rooms, and was really just that....a room. There was no ambiance or anything special about it. The room was clean, but no extra amenities, ie, coffeemaker.
The common room was very cozy, with several seating arrangements and a fireplace. There were games and puzzles available. But it was very noisy, as it was the "waiting room" for the dining room, which is open to the public for dinner. I have to say, the dinner was the best part of our stay. The service was great and so was the food. The Friday night special of 2/$50 was a steal.
Breakfast was a disappointment as well. At a real B&B, we usually have a home-cooked meal, oftentimes made to order. In this case, it was a breakfast buffet the type of which we usually get at a Marriott, which we find poorly lacking.
Another area of annoyance was the cleaning staff. Two young girls who were screaming with laughter and playing music in the room beside ours as we tried to take an afternoon nap.
All in all, we had a nice stay, but just didn't get that "warm and fuzzy" feeling we like.

Room Tip: I definitely would not take one of the least expensive rooms if you want to have that "bed and...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our stay was simply delightful, excellent staff and accomodations, so much to see and do in such a beautiful place. Had a wonderful time and cannot wait to go back agian. The room was great, very comfortable and cozy. Food was wonderful and our stay was relaxed and fun. Even took a fly fishing lesson and Marty made sure we caught fish, excellent guide and teacher. We love Vermont.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I just had our wedding at the Quechee Inn at Marshland Farm. We could not have had a better experience. It was absolutely wonderful!! Our guests were so pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the property and the comfort at the Inn. My family and I have a vacation home in Quechee, VT and we travel there multiple times a year. We almost always have dinner at the Quechee Inn. The dining experience is fantastic! The food is always amazing! I recommend the Filet Mignon! But everything is out of this world! The staff are so friendly and we have always had excellent service. Our wedding guests this past weekend were raving about the food. There is a typical expectation of wedding food, but our guests said that it was the best they've ever had. We were so happy!! The guests that stayed at the Inn loved the charm and comfort. The lobby at the Inn is very beautiful. After our wedding we all lounged in the lobby and ate pizza. The wedding staff made our day perfect. Every detail was thought of. They made sure that we were taken care of and that our wedding was exactly what we envisioned. I can't stress enough how much we love the Quechee Inn. It will forever be a place of positive memories. We look forward to continuing to spend time there and want to bring our children there in the near future.

Room Tip: Each room is different, but they all have Vermont country charm
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtpt1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were married here in August and can not say enough about how wonderful our experience was! From the very beginning Michelle, the special events coordinator and Rick, the Innkeeper were so incredibly helpful. While we both grew up in the area, we planned the wedding from San Francisco so had to plan our meetings around the few times we were able to be home throughout the year. I burned up Michelle's inbox with a gazillion emails as she helped us navigate every detail of our big day. By the time we finally got there we couldn't have been happier with the outcome, the Inn looked beautiful (even in the rain!), the food was delicious, the staff were SO friendly and just made all of our family and friends feel so at home. We loved having the whole Inn for just our friends and family, everyone spent the day out in the field playing games, we were able to put up pictures and decorate, the tent looked gorgeous and everyone had a blast. Overall we couldn't have asked for a better weekend and would highly recommend this as a wedding venue for anyone looking-we were thrilled with our experience :)

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Bridget O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Quechee Inn last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely, spacious country-style room. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The complementary breakfast buffet was very good with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, pancakes, cereal, fresh fruit, breads, juice, coffee. For two evenings we dined at the Inn's restaurant and had excellent, gourmet meals. Quechee Gorge is an easy 10 minute walk from the Inn and the center of Woodstock is a 15 minute drive. A good restaurant in Woodstock is Bentley's where we had delicious ribs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6HappyTraveller65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quechee
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
7.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
423 reviews
8.5 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
299 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
655 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm

Address: 1119 Quechee Main St., Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Quechee
Price Range: $126 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1793, the inn was originally the home of Colonel Joseph Marsh, Vermont's first lieutenant governor. Since that time, the historic residence has been expanded and carefully restored to maintain as much of the 19th century character and charm as possible, while adding modern conveniences like private baths, cable TV, and air conditioning for all of the guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm Hotel Quechee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing