We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
Ranked #1 of 6 Quechee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here five nights, mid-August 2012, while I attended the four-afternoon Bread Baking school at King Arthur Flour in Norwich (great fun!). We enjoyed our stay very much and would happily return. Our room, #11, with a sloping wooden floor, was clean and comfortable and had two bathrooms. Also a very old rather noisy wall A/C.
If your grandparents liked their visit here sixty years ago, they would be pleased now; nothing has been changed. The furnishings and the decor are the originals and the upstairs windows have not been washed since. The public area is cluttered with old comfortable furniture.The owners have not spent a dime on upgrades in all those years. This is not a complaint. If you like an old-fashioned environment, this is the place. Relaix & Chateau it ain't!
Most notable was the friendliness of the entire staff, all anxious to please. The restaurant, however, is outstanding. We enjoyed all four nights there, not seeing any reason to try other recommended restaurants in the area until we had completed the menu. The duck was the best I have ever tasted. Preparation is a two-day process: roast the first day and completely debone. Truss up, glaze, and re-roast the second day to serve. Superb! I had it twice! The wine list is very good and is very reasonably priced, although you will not find any first-name California or French wines on the carte.Try the Ex Umbria Syrah, a beautiful bottle.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenatRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 343 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

This review is really hard to write because this Inn has some very strong points but also a couple of big problems.
The staff is friendly and the location is excellent, we ate at the restaurant and the food was very good and also here with friendly staff.
The problems started when we saw our room: we couldn't believe that the hotel looked so good from outside and the room was so bad.
The room was dusty and the bedsheets weren't clean, I think that cleanness should be the first priority in an hotel and I never found a room in such a bad shape. The bathroom was in line with the rest of the room with problems with water pressure and a not so clean floor.
I'm sure that the hotel has better rooms but it doesn't make me feel better to know that we're assigned a second rate room...

Room Tip: Avoid room 12 at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SitoCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QInkeeper, General Manager at Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

I appreciate the fact that this guest made note of the strong qualities of the hotel, and that they enjoyed the food and staff of the Inn. I find the comments regarding the cleanliness of the room very distressing. We make every effort to ensure that our rooms are as clean as possible for each and every room in the Inn. The Inn has a dirt driveway and dust is always a problem due to the driveway encircling the building. Our staff inspects every check-in to ensure that the room is clean and dust-free for check-ins. This guest does not indicate whether they brought their dissatisfaction with the room to our staff's attention. I always ask that any guest who has an issue with anything, rooms, service or food please bring it to our immediate attention so that we can resolve the issue in real time while the guest is here. We could have immediately sent staff in to clean and refresh the room or moved this guest to another room. I cannot determine who this guest was and we received no complaints or comment cards regarding an unclean room. The guest does indicate that they stayed in Room 12, but not when they stayed. I personally just inspected this room and found it to be spotless, I am at a loss as to why it owuld have been so dusty for this guests stay, as this room is sold quite often. I have shared this review with our housekeeping staff, a review like this only helps us to improve our commitment to providing the best stay a guest can have. I would encourage this reviewer to contact me personally as I would like to have more specific information to share with the staff. I hope this guest would return and allow us to make sure that every aspect of their next stay, including the room is perfect

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We concur with all the positive comments below. Both our dinner and breakfast were delicious. The B&B was located in beautiful surroundings, very friendly staff, and despite being a national historic site, was very well maintained. It has a lodge feel - the sitting area (see pictures) is inviting with its funishings, piano, and bar. Everything here is top notch, welcoming, and at a very affordable price.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank JohnJurik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We have a super dinner with wine two for $50 at the Inn during the Quechee Balloon Festival. We had front row seats the for balloons and a great meal! The wine selection could hav ebeen better, but what do you want for such a deal!!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank knittycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a lovely old inn with beautiful surroundings. Friday night $50 dinner for 2 is great. Soup or salad, choice of 6 or 8 main dishes: crab cakes, steak, salmon, ravioli, chicken, pasta, a glass of wine each (and $5 ea if you want another glass), plus dessert.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I spent a lot of time in Vermont as a kid but not in this area. I chose The Quechee Inn at Marshland Farms because we love B&Bs and it fit our price range. I had no idea just how quaint and charming this Inn was. The food both for breakfast and dinner was amazing. Eggs, French toast and oatmeal were made to order. Our room was very large and comfortable. The bed was great, we slept like logs which is a problem with me when we travel. It was a very refreshing and relaxing stay. The staff was very helpful with a car problem during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leela1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at the Inn on the way back to the Midwest from picking up our son at Norwich University. Had a wonderful time and the food is fantastic. We also rented the Kayaks and had a nice trip down the White River. The hospitality is wonderful and it is a very relaxing location and property.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Loggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quechee
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
7.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
446 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
230 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
371 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm

Address: 1119 Quechee Main St., Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Quechee
Price Range: $123 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1793, the inn was originally the home of Colonel Joseph Marsh, Vermont's first lieutenant governor. Since that time, the historic residence has been expanded and carefully restored to maintain as much of the 19th century character and charm as possible, while adding modern conveniences like private baths, cable TV, and air conditioning for all of the guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm Hotel Quechee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing