We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Simon Pearce Mill

Simon Pearce Mill
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Quechee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Vermont this month, staying in Stowe. On the recommendation of a Vermont friend, we decided to make the drive to Quechee for a visit to the Simon Pearce Mill. We arrived late morning and decided to have lunch at the restaurant on site. I would recommend getting in line before the 11:30 a.m. opening time for the best tables at the windows. We were seated with a lovely view of the covered bridge and waterfall. The lunch was great. We were greeted immediately by our server and were given the daily specials. I chose the broccoli, mushroom, cheese quiche and it was terrific. My husband chose the hamburger plate and he reported his meal as good also. The strawberry infused lemonade was a nice addition to the meal. We opted to pass on the desserts, but we both thought our choice to have lunch there was a nice highlight to our visit. After lunch, we visited the store. Although expensive, the pieces are beautifully displayed. There is an area to the back of the store where slightly flawed pieces can be purchased at a somewhat reduced price. Both the lunch and the store are very enjoyable, but the high point of the visit is downstairs, where the artisans are busily creating the beautiful glassware. Although they are busily concentrating on their duties, they are very friendly and seem to welcome questions. The weather was rainy on the day of our visit, so we didn't take the opportunity to see the Quechee Gorge. The drive from Stowe to Quechee is an easy trip on mostly interstate roads.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GAbdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    49
    12
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
1,150 reviews
409 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

At first I didn't realize that they actually MADE glass in the basement of the building. I thought this was a retail outlet and restaurant. The glass blowing process turned out to be quite interesting, and even more so when I found out that they generate their own power via the dam on the Ottauquechee River, which flows adjacent to the back of the very old building.

Watching the craftsmen work with extremely hot materials to create exquisite glass art is certainly not boring. They're very friendly and will answer any question about their work.

I later googled the Simon Pearce glass flowing facility and found out that it had been severely damaged August 28, 2011 when Tropical Storm Irene wreaked havoc in New England. The building was flooded with fifty-foot high water in the basement and the mill area, and it took nine months to get everything operational again.

The finished glass products are truly beautiful, although pretty pricey. After seeing all the work that goes into the creation process though, I have to admit they're probably not overpriced.
Bargain hunters can find some very lovely items for 40-60% discounts in the clearance section.
The retail outlet also carries wood art creations by Andrew Pearce (Simon's father), as well as some copperware.

Having just eaten prior to arriving, we didn't dine at the restaurant on site.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting for a brief Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

For the challenged traveler:

Easy access for all. A lift that will fit a wheelchair to the lower level and good ramps inside. The bathroom is a bit tricky, but negotiable.

For all travelers:

A very cool typical New Hampshire small town. The place has a very interesting assortment of glass pieces made on site. It is very pricey, but I am not an expert on glass. The restaurant is very pricey, but has great views of a beautiful waterfall and the food is interesting and tasty. I wouldn't bring kids there due to the price and selection.
The highlight is clearly the lower level where you can see the glad pieces being made. The artisans are friendly and are constantly inviting questions. I could have stayed there for an hour just watching them do ghri magic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kMH714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great glassblowing exhibit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We didn't eat at the restaurant or buy any glass, but we still had a great time. The glassblowing exhibition was fantastic. The artisans were patient, friendly, and they seemed very happy to answer questions. The setting of the shop is an added bonus -- we were there in the dead of winter, and the frozen waterfall was quite the sight.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Person3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
296 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Watch the Demonstration!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

It is unfortunate, perhaps, that one could browse the glassware offered for sale without watching the process by which it is made.

After seeing the ballet-like team work required to turn molten glass into beautiful stemware in a room with several furnaces going, the prices seem much more reasonable.

It is worth seeing, even if you do not plan to make a purchase.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OldRoadWarrior60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon Pearce Mill also viewed

 

Been to Simon Pearce Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing