We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Rooms Really Need Spiffed Up - Service OK” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quechee
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
769 reviews
546 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“The Rooms Really Need Spiffed Up - Service OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Rooms are motel style drive up and nice and roomy. The carpet is old and the room we had only had a refrigerator. My sister was in the room next door and it had a refrigerator and microwave. My room had two dining type chairs - one at the desk/table and one beside the bed. The upholstery on the one near the bed was torn. This chair was not conducive to watching TV so we just sat on the bed. The TV is an old CRT style and is, necessarily, small. Since the room is large it wasn’t the best viewing experience. There was a phone on the wall near the table and one on a bedside table. There was a nice in the room wear you could hang clothes that had space for setting a suitcase on the stand and also included the iron and board. The sink is separate from the toilet/bath. The bath had old, rusted fixtures and the wallpaper is pulling away in several places. Our room had a bar of soap left from a previous guest at the top of the tub insert. The sink had been redone with a granite counter and it had enough space for toiletries to be laid out. The carpet is old and it was vacuumed but you could tell there was a lot of ground in dirt. The bed was comfortable enough and the linens appeared clean. The internet was snappy and the bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was less than stellar - the best part was good orange drink. The coffee was weak, only two cereal choices and no bread for toast. I did not try the scrambled eggs as they appeared to be the kind that come in a plastic bag already liquified. They had sausage one day ad bacon the next that tasted fine. There was the obligatory waffle maker and small Yoplait yogurt cups.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    105
    44
    15
    8
See reviews for
70
97
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mpls.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I just spent 1 evening at this hotel. We were very pleased. The room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was very good. I would have no problem staying here again or advising others to also. Just an added note - the area is beautiful and has some nice places to hike and jog.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I had pre-reserved two king rooms five months before arriving (leaf season). Many other hotels were already booked and after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I was a bit worried. Check-in was great, very pleasant staff. Sadly there were other people stopping in who were turned away as the motel was full that evening. We were given side by side rooms in the back courtyard. Very quite area and neat grounds. Parking is right in front of the rooms. The motel is older but our rooms were very clean. The toilet and shower area are separate from the sink / vanity. We had dinner at Shepard's Pie next door, which the young lady at check-in recommended and the food was outstanding. Self serve breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lrboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

As part of a group we stayed at this hotel and were put in a smoking room. Cigarette burns on the carpet, wallpaper falling off the walls. They ran out of bread for toast in the morning. Quality Inn should take their sign off...there is no quality here. Great location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank giggles219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

To stay in Woodstock is really an expensive experience. So we looked for an alternative and found this Motel. We had a room that facing the backyard - so it was quiet. The Queen was good - the breakfast also- with hot waffles, sausage and eggs.
Queche Gorge is an nice walk and it is not far to woodstock.
We paid 95 Dollar....for this region during Fall Foliage a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naplesmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nomnomnom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My mom and I chose this hotel because we wanted something close to Quechee Gorge and didn't want to pay an outrageous amount of money.(There are a good number of b&b's in the area....but not exactly a good fit for mother and daughter). We found a coupon in one of those free hotel coupon books they have at thruway stops. I'm convinced that is why we stayed in a terribly outdated dirty room. Before I continue I should say that I work in a hotel, a housekeeping team leader. Before that I worked for several years as a front desk clerk. I would not stay here again and I def am not staying at a Quality Inn again either, even though they apparently are "updated". The one good thing I can say about this place was the front desk clerk! I think her name was Savannah? She was very friendly, engaging, and informative. Def appreciated the quality of customer service here! Now onto the room. One of those half bathroom deals, which is fine. Smelled like smoke on arrival(nonsmoking) the mirror had toothpaste splatter all over it, ironing board cover stained, carpet was a solid shade which is terrible at hiding the numerous stains, carpet was definitely NOT vacuumed. Under the bed I found some more crumbs, a plastic fork and a empty bottle of wine. The toliet seat lid was missing a hinge which caused the seat to be incredibly loose. The bed skits were covered. COVERED with...stains...i'd rather not even write what the stains most likely were. One comforter had green and brown smears on it. The wallpaper was stained and peeling and had dents and holes in it everywhere. The phone,clock, and tv were from the 80's but worked. We turned on the heat and it smelled like burning. Luckily the sheets were clean and the breakfast was good(waffles!). The customer service is the only reason its not rated terrible. I was shocked at this place after all the good reviews I read. So disappointed. If you decide to stay here don't get stuck in Room 222.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 222.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomnomnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Overall a nice place to stay. Room was spacious and clean with pillow options which I appreciate. I liked having the sink outside of the bathroom. The shower toilet area was very small, but manageable. Great location and easy walk to area attractions. There was a line at check in (5:00 pm) through no fault of the clerk. There needs to be another attendent there at this busy time. I'm sorry I didn't get her name, but she was friendly, polite, helpful, and professional. I would have liked to have a refrigerator in the room as we like to travel with some of our own food and beverages. Breakfast was the usual assortment of items, but was missing fresh friut which I think should always be offered with a contnental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quechee
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
7.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge

Property: Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
Address: 5817 Woodstock Rd, Rt. 4, Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quechee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn At Quechee Gorge Hotel Quechee
Quality Inn Quechee Gorge
Quechee Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing