We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bridge view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quechee Gorge

Quechee Gorge
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Quechee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locals think of this 165-foot gap as "Vermont's Grand Canyon."
Mahopac, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great bridge view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went in early October which was awesome with the foliage! The view from the bridge was better then from the river. The hike down was a bit of a hill and thought it was going to be worse coming back up but it was not that bad and a nice walk if you have the time. The trail was a little to far in on the river so you really didn't get a good view till the bottom they should have made the trail right along the gorge so you could see it as you walked. Worth the stop, even if you just walk the bridge.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank stroza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    237
    66
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scenic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very pretty with the colorful foliage. Was a little too cloudy to get good pictures though, pick a sunny day to visit if going in the fall.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenMtRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views and easy hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We didn't actually do the hike (it was warm and we were not dressed for it) but it looked very tempting. We could see the people down the river who hiked it. Nice views, but you only need a couple minutes if you are just looking from the bridge. There is a nice welcome center just over the bridge. Go a little further down the road and there is an awesome antiques store!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trvvlngkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“hike-nice, gorge-ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed the walk from the visitors center to the dam, to the bottom of the gorge, and back. It was a good hike, we took a few pictures but I don't understand the hype about the gorge. I was impressed by the signs on the benches that related information about the last hurricane--the flow of water through the gorge must have been something to see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank derrtraveler19968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
298 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“great views of something real col”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you are in the area … stop you will be glad you did.

This is on the main road heading to Rutland (just off of 89 near Hartford, VT) and worth the stop. A few minutes before is a nice shopping area and dinner. Stopping here then the gorge and enjoying all there is to see and do can take a few hours so plan accordingly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank slalemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quechee Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Quechee Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing