We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite stunning.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quechee Gorge

Quechee Gorge
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Quechee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locals think of this 165-foot gap as "Vermont's Grand Canyon."
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quite stunning.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The view of the gorge was quite stunning. We walked to the lower part of the gorge which was a nice way, nothing special.
While on the bridge looking at the gorge I was afraid someone may get hit by a moving vehicle.
It would be good if there are speed bumps on both ends of the bridge before the viewing area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArtNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    236
    66
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Take the easy route”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We parked at the Visitor's Center for the Gorge and started down the trail to the gorge. Guy inthe center said it was "an easy one quarter mile walk". I asked even with a knee problem? Yeah, no problem. Maybe because it was very humid and about 90 degrees, but it wasn't a very easy walk. My suggestion : go a few hundred feet past the visitor center and park in a lot right before the bridge that goes over the gorge... Sidewalks on the bridge allow for great views of the gorge and it was a nice, level, short walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jktran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“gorgeous gorge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Splendid views; walked all the way to the dam; to the bottom of the gorge and across the bridge...impressed with anything that nature makes! Easy access. The visitor center is friendly and a wonderful respite after a long walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobielo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
427 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lovely spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am not an outdoorsy person, but appreciate the beauty of this gorge. It is easy to access ans has good parking with food & stores nearby.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank milliegordon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Not the Grand Canyon”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Sorry we were not very impressed with the Quechee Gorge, although it might be more impressive in the Fall with leaves in full color.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolina67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quechee Gorge also viewed

 

Been to Quechee Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing