We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Putney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Putney B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Once in a while, you travel to somewhere which reminds you of home. Not because its resembles where you live (we live in Barbados - I'm not sure Vermont in the winter could be more unlike Barbados), but because it 'feels' like home. Hickory Ridge House feels like home. Dennis and Gill Pettit are the consummate innkeepers, the cottage where we stayed behind the main house was relaxed, comfortable and clean. After a day out, whether it be pristine Grafton, a glorious lunch at Burdicks in Walpole or the friendly village feel of the Front Porch Cafe in Putney, returning to Hickory Ridge House felt much like coming home - warm and welcoming. I could go on about Dennis' and Gill's culinary skills at breakfast, or the fact that our kids enjoyed the use of the snow discs and sleds that Dennis lent them, but at the end of the day all those things simply add up to the warmest of welcomes from an outstanding bed and breakfast that we are already planning to return to.

Simply wonderful and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zerobajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 72 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

Exceptional inn: restored 1800s farmhouse. Immaculate and beautiful grounds: country garden and rolling fields on quiet country road. Friendliest hosts possible and delicious home cooked breakfast with homemade muffins/scones and hot food.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slrboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Beautiful clean rooms, comfy beds, great breakfast..very friendly owners

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotrings26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

My husband and I have been to the Hickory Ridge House five times in the last nine years. The house itself is absolutely beautiful and each room has its own specific charm. The photos on the website do not do the inn justice. This most recent trip was our first with Gill and Dennis as the owners, and was by far the most enjoyable.
They are so welcoming and warm, the food is absolutely incredible, and beautifully presented. They think of every detail -after each day of exploring our favorite state of Vermont it was a delight to return to the fireplace completely set up and ready to light.
Gill and Dennis are knowledgeable about the area and are eager to help you enjoy your stay. They are quite simply the quintessential Inn owners. It is everything you think of and hope for when you picture a weekend at a Bed and Breakfast.
We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Erin4451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Our Hickory Ridge Farm stay was all too short; we could have spent a week longer snoozing in bed by our crackling fireplace, watching old movies, or chatting with Gill and Dennis and adorable Jack (the terrier) over delicious breakfast and coffee. They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, offering numerous dining recommendations, pointing out the best path to snowshoe, even picking up pizza for us in the middle of a snowstorm... thanks again-we'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 25thStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

My partner and I stayed for two nights at Hickory Ridge House at the end of July 2007, and we could not have been more pleased with our visit. The inn is a very comfortable, immaculate and well furnished 200-year old farmhouse, situated on a quiet country road. The innkeepers, Gillian and Dennis, are a lovely couple -- originally from England -- who made us feel very welcome and were helpful in directing us to fine restaurants, hiking trails, art studios, pottery shops and artisanal cheese makers. We appreciated the little touches, like the lovely garden from which the innkeepers gathered flowers and vegetables for our delicious breakfasts, the lemon pound cake that materialized out of the kitchen one evening, and the reading room upstairs with complementary beverages in a community fridge. Dennis even made a bonfire for the guests in the backyard, where we watched the full moon rise over the field. That evening, we appreciated the song "Moonlight in Vermont" as we never had. We highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast and are very much looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My sister and I stopped here on a road trip through New England with our dog. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by Gill, and got good advice about finding carry-in food, which we enjoyed in our cottage. As we settled in, we found everything very thoughtfully arranged for our comfort and convenience. After an excellent night's sleep, we joined Gill on her lovely patio for a really memorable breakfast of freshest fruit, an omelet, and homemade scones, with excellent coffee. At our request, we had a tour of the main house, which is very lovely, with lots of nice touches and many choices for rooms. We had trouble bringing ourselves to leave and get on with our trip. We would love to return here, and we were glad to have learned about Hickory Ridge from Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Putney
7.2 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
309 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
336 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
8.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
165 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Putney Inn
The Putney Inn
#2 of 6 in Putney
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 53 Hickory Ridge Rd S, Putney, VT 05346-8872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Putney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Putney
Price Range: $145 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickory Ridge House, a Vermont landmark listed in the National Register of Historic Places, has been an Inn for more than 20 years. Surrounded by peaceful gardens in the spring and summer and just a short walk to our local fresh water swimming hole. There is breathtaking foliage in the fall and a network of groomed cross-country ski trails in the winter. With eight elegant, romantic rooms, all with private bathrooms, Hickory Ridge House offers the perfect escape from today's hectic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickory Ridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn
Hickory Ridge House Hotel Putney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing