We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish we would have found this one sooner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Putney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Putney B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have visited Putney several times in the last three years and stayed at another Inn which we enjoyed. This time we found the Hickory Ridge House and wished we knew about it before. The Inn Keepers are first rate and have made a cozy, wonderfully furnished haven in this old Vermont House. Gillian is a wonderful cook and the breakfasts were superb. We were snug and warm while it snowed outside, bundled in a comfy bed with warm quilts. The bathroom, linens, cleanliness and attractiveness of the Inn are top notch. This in must be beautiful in all seasons, out in the country and surrounded by scenic Vermont.

Room Tip: We didn't see a swimming pool but I can't figure out how to remove the rating….!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggyinthemiddle1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 72 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I just left today. It's been a long time since my first visit here. This place provides peace and tranquility. The owners are really friendly, the food is delicious, and the welcoming committee (the dogs) are the cutest!

Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

There simply aren`t enough adjectives to describe this fabulous property and location. In a quiet setting in the woods near Putney. This wonderful house built in 1808 is immaculate in every sense, you half expect to see the ghost of Scarlett O`Hara swishing down the staircases.

Rooms are large , spotless and themed, we were in the Autumn room, simply wonderful.
Breakfast is varied and wholesome, wonderful stuff, no need for lunch after this set up for the day.

Gillian and Dennis are the perfect hosts, charming, gracious and informative, there is much to do in the area if you like hiking.

Dennis is English and the proud owner of a British sports car (as I am) and we had a great time razzing round the local area in his Triumph. Just up the road is David Clarke sportscars, an American engineer whose specialism is British sports cars, a great and welcoming visit here.

We have travelled all over the USA but this venue takes some beating. A return is assured

Room Tip: Any room you choose will please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeropilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A beautiful house and grounds expertly run by Gillian and Dennis. Everything was 5 star and the breakfasts were to die for, you did not need a lunch. Excellent bed rooms with lovely comfortable beds a good nights assured in the wonderful peace. Hope to go back to this Raffles of Vermont soon.

Room Tip: All good rooms and all very quiet also a large study available for you to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A beautiful home with spacious yard - elegant but comfortable, with friendly and helpful but not intrusive host. All needs thought of, and wonderful breakfast, with special diets accommodated. Our grandson felt welcomed, and we all felt the deep peace of the setting. Good hikes and good meals nearby. We felt lucky to have happened on it.

Room Tip: They all seemed fine- spacious and each with private bath. Heat was fine - and Grandma given first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My fiance and I went to the Hickory Ridge House in October. We got lucky enough and accidently timed it with the Keene pumpkin fest which was a blast. They literally shut down Main street in Keene and line it with thousands of carved pumpkins, but back to the B&B. This was our first B&B experience and loved it. The house was beautiful, as were our rooms. Breakfast was amazing, you could tell Dennis and Gillian really take pride in what they do. The B&B was located at the bottom of some hills and offers some beautiful hiking and walking trails, that offer stunning views, especially when the leaves start to change. I think a good review lists both positives and negatives but in all honesty I can't think of a single negative thing to write. If your inclined to go to Putney, Hickory Ridge comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankS152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a beautiful historic home. The rooms have high ceilings, wide planked floors, and antique, but inviting decor. Breakfast was muffins or scones, fresh fruit cup, a slice of homemade quiche, breakfast meat, and fresh veggies. The plate looked like a work of art! The bed was so comfortable that I feel asleep instantly. Beautiful setting on a dirt road. The only downfall was that they have two dogs, and while the owner was attentive to trying to keep them out of the way, it just didn't appeal to a non dog lover like myself.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTglobetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 53 Hickory Ridge Rd S, Putney, VT 05346-8872
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Putney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Putney
Price Range: $145 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickory Ridge House, a Vermont landmark listed in the National Register of Historic Places, has been an Inn for more than 20 years. Surrounded by peaceful gardens in the spring and summer and just a short walk to our local fresh water swimming hole. There is breathtaking foliage in the fall and a network of groomed cross-country ski trails in the winter. With eight elegant, romantic rooms, all with private bathrooms, Hickory Ridge House offers the perfect escape from today's hectic lifestyle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hickory Ridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn
Hickory Ridge House Hotel Putney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing