We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hickory Ridge House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
Chesterfield Inn(West Chesterfield)
$219
$149
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Brattleboro)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Brattleboro(Brattleboro)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Mountain Inn(Brattleboro)
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
67
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelicious breakfastsitting areacould not have been morecomfy bedhome away from homeget awayhosthousevermontwinterschoolweekendpetsfurnishingsbeauty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 72 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

There simply aren`t enough adjectives to describe this fabulous property and location. In a quiet setting in the woods near Putney. This wonderful house built in 1808 is immaculate in every sense, you half expect to see the ghost of Scarlett O`Hara swishing down the staircases.

Rooms are large , spotless and themed, we were in the Autumn room, simply wonderful.
Breakfast is varied and wholesome, wonderful stuff, no need for lunch after this set up for the day.

Gillian and Dennis are the perfect hosts, charming, gracious and informative, there is much to do in the area if you like hiking.

Dennis is English and the proud owner of a British sports car (as I am) and we had a great time razzing round the local area in his Triumph. Just up the road is David Clarke sportscars, an American engineer whose specialism is British sports cars, a great and welcoming visit here.

We have travelled all over the USA but this venue takes some beating. A return is assured

Room Tip: Any room you choose will please.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeropilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A beautiful house and grounds expertly run by Gillian and Dennis. Everything was 5 star and the breakfasts were to die for, you did not need a lunch. Excellent bed rooms with lovely comfortable beds a good nights assured in the wonderful peace. Hope to go back to this Raffles of Vermont soon.

Room Tip: All good rooms and all very quiet also a large study available for you to use.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A beautiful home with spacious yard - elegant but comfortable, with friendly and helpful but not intrusive host. All needs thought of, and wonderful breakfast, with special diets accommodated. Our grandson felt welcomed, and we all felt the deep peace of the setting. Good hikes and good meals nearby. We felt lucky to have happened on it.

Room Tip: They all seemed fine- spacious and each with private bath. Heat was fine - and Grandma given first floor bedroom.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My fiance and I went to the Hickory Ridge House in October. We got lucky enough and accidently timed it with the Keene pumpkin fest which was a blast. They literally shut down Main street in Keene and line it with thousands of carved pumpkins, but back to the B&B. This was our first B&B experience and loved it. The house was beautiful, as were our rooms. Breakfast was amazing, you could tell Dennis and Gillian really take pride in what they do. The B&B was located at the bottom of some hills and offers some beautiful hiking and walking trails, that offer stunning views, especially when the leaves start to change. I think a good review lists both positives and negatives but in all honesty I can't think of a single negative thing to write. If your inclined to go to Putney, Hickory Ridge comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankS152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a beautiful historic home. The rooms have high ceilings, wide planked floors, and antique, but inviting decor. Breakfast was muffins or scones, fresh fruit cup, a slice of homemade quiche, breakfast meat, and fresh veggies. The plate looked like a work of art! The bed was so comfortable that I feel asleep instantly. Beautiful setting on a dirt road. The only downfall was that they have two dogs, and while the owner was attentive to trying to keep them out of the way, it just didn't appeal to a non dog lover like myself.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTglobetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews