We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JUST LIKE HOME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“JUST LIKE HOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose this inn at random during a web search for places to stay in Vermont. Mike and Julie were welcoming and helpful in all areas of our stay. Offering suggestions and recommendations for things to do and see and places to eat while there. They always put you first. even Nellie the dog was wonderful. The breakfasts were awesome and varied. The soups were delicious and welcome after a day out in the winter cold. The Saturday night chocolate cake was superb!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Your not staying at hotel at the Golden Stage inn, Julie & Mike welcome you into thier home. The house itself is a quintensenntial Vermont home, which is beautifully decorated, and scrupuously clean. Nellie the dog greets you and is always loving a belly rub. Be sure to visit Shayla, one of the sheeps and Julie is willing to take you to the bee hives and tell you all about them. All the food at the inn..amazingly delicious and all homemade, is locally grown/raised. The sheets are probably the best sheets I have ever slept on, they felt like 100,000 count sheets! Our room was cozy, comfortable and warm. Julie and Mike werer very helpful in suggesting places to go, places to eat and things to do. We will definitely be staying at the Golden Stage Inn

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineSaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent Labor Day weekend. Wonderful inn. Relaxed, spotlessly clean, comfortable. Excellent breakfasts, yummy cookies (especially the peanut butter ones), concerned and interesting innkeepers Will be going back regularly for the excellent bicycling in the area

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bicyclist4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Immaculate, cozy, friendly - Our three day stay in Vermont during a recent college visit for our son gave us a great opportunity to enjoy the charm and beauty of Vermont. We enjoyed a "family suite," equipped with two bedrooms and private bath, fresh crisp sheets and towels, privacy, a charming environment, and wonderful service. Innkeepers Julie and Mike tended to our every need, providing excellent suggestions for our interests and providing hot breakfast based on our dietary considerations and plans for the day. The bottomless cookie jar is oh-so-real, and the Saturday night chocolate cake was the perfect touch to our busy day. The best part of our experience was that Julie and Mike make it seem so easy; they moved seamlessly in and out of our presence, making their jobs look so easy. Clearly, they have put forth a great deal of hard work to carve a place for travelers to enjoy peace and charm of lovely Vermont. An excellent suggestion from our innkeepers was the Weston Playhouse, exactly 25 mins. from the inn, where we enjoyed a wonderful production of "Fiddler on the Roof." Enjoy!

Room Tip: The family suite worked for our family, but Julie had provided specific details on the phone when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJ1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I participated in a plein air painting workshop of six people over this past weekend, based at the Inn. Mike and Julie-Lynn went above and beyond in making this feel like home. Breakfast was wonderful every morning, rooms were lovely and we especially liked Mike's Saturday afternoon chocolate cake.

Room Tip: You can't choose a bad room, they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Had the pleasure of a four night stay. The Inn itself was lovely. It had all the charm of a building with history, but with the modern features (wifi, recently renovated showers in the suites) that guests look for today. The breakfasts were amazing, made with some foods as local as the Inn's back yard.

The owners, Mike and Julie, make the place amazing. It felt like staying at a friend's home. They could not have been more accommodating of my needs, such as scheduling and food preferences, and every one of their recommendations from restaurants to things to do to places to go was absolutely spot on. The quality of my vacation as a whole was improved by having them as a resource. I would absolutely recommend their inn to anyone in that area.

Room Tip: Suites have recently renovated bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAT193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

10 minutes away from Okemo; farm animals add to the rustic atmosphere; high quality breakfasts but limited selection; house is quite antiquated but well-maintained; lunches and dinners are not offered; owners are extremely friendly and sociable (ask them about their bee hives!); snacks, soups, and beverages are provided in the afternoon; wish there were more amenities such as a hot tub, fitness room, and pool; would like to see a little more character from the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maevum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Proctorsville
0.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
3.3 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
5.2 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
3.6 mi away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
7.0 mi away
Echo Lake Inn
Echo Lake Inn
#2 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 399 Depot St, PO Box 218, Proctorsville, VT 05153
Location: United States > Vermont > Proctorsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Proctorsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Golden Stage Inn, we pride ourselves on providing just the right balance between intimacy and privacy, between luxury and down to earth comforts. Situated just miles from great hiking trails, cycling routes, and Okemo Mountain resort (have you tried the zipline?!), Our grounds offer a convenient respite from it all. Stroll down to the babbling brook, get an inside tour of our honeybee hives, enjoy the in-ground pool or sit inside our historic building reading a book or working on a puzzle. Homemade and wholesome breakfasts always included in our rates. Two family suites plus six guestrooms, all with private baths. We redefine the Bed and Breakfast experience! This summer, ask us about our discounted theater tickets to the Weston Playhouse, available for guests staying 2 nights or more. You won't want to miss a theatrical night out in one of Vermont's most charming villages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing