We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic B&B Near Okemo Mountain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historic B&B Near Okemo Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

10 minutes away from Okemo; farm animals add to the rustic atmosphere; high quality breakfasts but limited selection; house is quite antiquated but well-maintained; lunches and dinners are not offered; owners are extremely friendly and sociable (ask them about their bee hives!); snacks, soups, and beverages are provided in the afternoon; wish there were more amenities such as a hot tub, fitness room, and pool; would like to see a little more character from the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maevum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
America
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is the place to stay when visiting the Ludlow area! My family of 5 stayed here for 3 nights and we were very comfortable. The owners Mike and Julie do a fantastic job. My kids loved the the "bottomless" cookie jar, the drinks and soup after a long day of skiing (and we did too). The breakfast is very hardy and tasted great. We weren't hungry until 1pm and that was with a morning full of skiing! The house is very clean and bedding is wonderful. We will be returning here next year and after seeing all of the favorable reviews I will make sure I book way in advance:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seeingtheworld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have traveled a fair share over the years and stayed at nice hotels in many places. Before our trip to Vermont and the Golden Stage Inn we had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast. Our concerns of a "Flirting With Disaster"-type of visit had always kept us from making such a reservation. We could not have been more wrong, and our stay at this fabulous establishment has completely reversed our opinions.

The Golden Stage Inn is successful for many reasons. The rooms are nicely appointed (we stayed in the Bee Hive Suite with a newly renovated bathroom), the beds simply amazing (the sheets are the softest we've ever seen--really!), the decor of the inn charming, and the food excellent.

What makes the Golden Stage such a phenomenal place to stay, however, has everything to do with Julie and Mike, the proprietors. It's hard to imagine more warm and welcoming B&B hosts than Julie and Mike, and they make the stay feel like you're visiting old friends. The pair provide a feeling of comfort from the moment you arrive and maintain that connection with their guests up to the moment they bid you farewell at the end of your stay.

I'm not sure other B&B's can attain such a gold standard. Julie and Mike have only been doing it for a bit over a year and, if things get better with experience, future visits to the Golden Stage will be the highlights of vacations for years to come. We will certainly find reasons to visit the area, again, simply to relive the stay at the Golden Stage.

Room Tip: Family suites are available. My father and his wife stayed in a single, and it was equally well-app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAmericanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have just arrived home from our weekend stay at Golden Stage. My husband and I could not go the night without writing about our amazing stay. Innkeepers Julie & Mike were wonderful, we could not have asked for more. We truly felt as if we were visiting with friends. The breakfast was Delicious, the cookies and cake were great. I cannot get the freshly baked scone I had this morning off my mind, every aspect of our stay was truly great. If you are looking for a place to stay in Vermont, close to Okemo, and even Killington, look no further. Julie and Mike, we do hope you take us up on the offer if you ever visit NY. God bless your home and your business in the years to come.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTagTeamReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

This surpassed any and all of our expectations in terms of convenience, service, and proximity to Okemo ski slopes! Our group had a total of four people and from the moment we were welcomed till the time we left, we had an extremely pleasant and accommodating experience. The bedding was softer and more comfortable than in many high end hotel chains. And of course the food was delicious as was the bottomless cookie jar ;)~ We will recommend this inn to all of our friends and plan to only stay here when planning a trip to Okemo. Thanks again to Julie and Michael for their hospitality!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms that we saw were extremely cozy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpianist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great location a few miles from Okemo with very accommodating hosts (Okemo shuttle stop is just outside). Stayed the weekend in a very comfortable, roomy guestroom and enjoyed an excellent breakfast that is top quality. Fresh-baked cookies and chocolate cake as well as cider and coffee available throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a cozy B&B for a skiing weekend at Okemo Mountain. And what we found was way more than we had expected! Already on the phone the owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful with a couple of questions that we had in advance! Arriving at the Inn, a delicious soup as well as cookies and hot apple cidre were waiting for us. Also, we found a small welcome package with lip balm, hand cream, tissues and hand and foot warmers in our room! Just fantastic! Our room was very quiet, very nicely decorated and the beds were so cozy! Breakfast was freshly made by the owners and really really delicious. The location of the Inn is fantastic if you like to go skiing at Okemo. It is less than 10 minutes away by car.
All in all, this was our best B&B experience we have ever had! Already planning when to go back there. Can't wait!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Proctorsville
0.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
3.3 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
5.2 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
3.6 mi away
Andrie Rose Inn
Andrie Rose Inn
#3 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.4 mi away
Okemo Inn
Okemo Inn
#4 of 7 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 399 Depot St, PO Box 218, Proctorsville, VT 05153
Location: United States > Vermont > Proctorsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Proctorsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Golden Stage Inn, we pride ourselves on providing just the right balance between intimacy and privacy, between luxury and down to earth comforts. Situated just miles from great hiking trails, cycling routes, and Okemo Mountain resort (have you tried the zipline?!), Our grounds offer a convenient respite from it all. Stroll down to the babbling brook, get an inside tour of our honeybee hives, enjoy the in-ground pool or sit inside our historic building reading a book or working on a puzzle. Homemade and wholesome breakfasts always included in our rates. Two family suites plus six guestrooms, all with private baths. We redefine the Bed and Breakfast experience! This summer, ask us about our discounted theater tickets to the Weston Playhouse, available for guests staying 2 nights or more. You won't want to miss a theatrical night out in one of Vermont's most charming villages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing