We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Stage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Castle Hill Resort And Spa(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort(Cavendish)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timber Inn Motel(Ludlow)(Great Value!)
$129
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Jackson Gore Inn(Ludlow)(Great Value!)
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel in the Meadow(Chester)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
127
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookie jarcookieslip balmfamily doglove stayingmodern amenitiesfelt like homebreakfast was deliciouslast minute tripwalking tourwonderful hostsgreat bedweekend staywe've stayeda lovely staystayed for nightsthe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 135 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Our family stayed for 5 days over the Christmas Holiday 2011. The hosts Julie and Mike Wood were very warm. We celebrated Christmas Dinner the first night. The rooms are comfortable with good mattresses and clean bathrooms. Some have been recently rennovated with new bathrooms and gas fireplaces. The breakfasts are always delicious, different and plentiful. Apres-ski is great with cookies, tea/coffee and soup. You can bring your own wine, beer or scotch to enjoy with your party.

If you need help with skiing options, activites or dinner reservations, Julie is always accommodating with suggestions and help. We have been going to the Golden Stage Inn every year for the last 3 years and highly recommend it for families, firends, and couples.

Jeff L

Room Tip: Ask Julie for her suggestion based on who is coming
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My friend and I wanted a place in between where we live so we decided on the Ludlow area.
We were so lucky to find the perfect accommodations at the Golden Stage Inn in Proctorsville. It was the perfect spot! From the gracious Innkeepers, Mike & Julie, the beautiful antique fllled common areas with fireplace, the delicious hearty country breakfast and the charming Rev Warren room we shared we loved every moment of being at the Golden Stage Inn.
We were lucky again and stumbled upon Singleton’s General Store located just down the road from the Inn. This unique store is known nationwide for its famous Vermont Smoked Meats. What a treat to find such a unique store that offers just about anything you might need.
I do hope to return to this gem of an Inn and the Ludlow/ Okemo area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlac117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The final night of our family vacation coincided with Tropical Storm Irene. It was a difficult drive into Vermont only to find our originally booked hotel evacuated and closed due to the storm and flooding. Our family of 5 was stranded late in the day with most mountain roads closed. Locals recommended the Golden Stage Inn where we found shelter. Though the Inn was busy, our hosts offered a beautiful 2 room suite for our family. We found the Historic Inn to be updated and very well maintained. Our bedrooms and private bathroom were nicely appointed with a combination of antiques and modern amenities. Our hosts were incredible friendly, accommodating and hospitable throughout our stay. The best part was the dinner they made for us which included a freshly baked chocolate cake for our son's 12th birthday. It turned out to be the highlight of our vacation!

Room Tip: Each room is decorated differently, I recommend viewing them on-line at the Inn's website prior to reserving a specific room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The Golden Stage is one of the nicest inns we have stayed at while vacationing in Vermont over the last 8 years. Julie and Mike made us feel welcomed from the moment we arrived. Our room was well decorated and the bed was comfortable. The common area of the inn is very inviting. We stayed for three nights, and each morning breakfast was delicious. Julie and Mike are really attentive to the needs of their guests. The Golden Stage is a great base location for day trips. In addition to the Ludlow/Okemo area, the inn is close to Weston and the Weston Playhouse, Woodstock, Chester, and other great places to explore. We definitely recommend a stay at the Golden Stage Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

When we arrived, we were greeted by the smell of freshly baked cookies and a warm hello from inn-keepers Julie & Mike. I had a comfortable, cozy,& clean room. The rooms , decorated with antiques, crisp white bedding, fresh paint, and original wood floors, give the overall feeling like you have just arrived home after a long trip. The "bottomless cookie jar" was never empty. Saturday evening's treat was "warm from the oven frosted chocolate cake" - the best I've ever eaten! After a great night sleeping in a comfortable bed, we were served an incredible breakfast - one morning was a Mexican frittata with homemade muffins, biscuit, sausage, fresh fruit, and coffee. The next day's breakfast was fresh fruit salad with yogurt & homemade granola, coffee cake, bacon and oven pancake with cinnamon apples and maple syrup.
The outside gardens were filled with brightly colored day lilies, perennials, stone walls, and grass paths for walking. In the back is a swimming pool - next visit I will be sure to bring my bathing suit! There is also a sheep and a small flock of chickens.
But what made our stay so enjoyable are the inn keepers, Julie and Mike. Despite being inn keepers for only 6 months, they operate the inn as if they were seasoned inn keepers. They were accommodating to our needs - when looking for a place to have dinner, they googled restaurants, got menus, and offered to make our reservations. They were genuinely interested in making our stay a memorable experience.
Though the inn is only 2 or 3 miles from Ludlow center, it is hidden from the main traffic routes. My suggestion to you? Forget the other motels and inns in Ludlow and make your destination this charming, warm and wonderful inn named THE GOLDEN STAGE INN. I promise you that you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: My friend and I had a suite with 2 bedrooms and a bath. It was clean and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2yellowkittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews