We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and extra-large portions at a price”

Vermont Apple Pie Bakery and restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and extra-large portions at a price”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you want to treat yourself to an amazing, decadent breakfast in Vermont, this is your place. The food was outstanding but pricey. Would have preferred smaller portions and lower cost. It was a joke for the remainder of our vacation about our "gourmet" breakfast. Would recommend this place, but not if you're on a budget.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    41
    11
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“outstanding food”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

this place had a large menu with portions to match, really nice owner who visited our table, had stuffed french toast with blueberries, bananas and whipped cream, it was fantastic and enough for 2 or 3 ! wish I had it right now, a must visit!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank peleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Repeat Customer Review”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have visited this restaurant twice in the past six months. We haven't eaten off the breakfast menu, but judging from looking at other people's plates, the breakfast servings are probably too large to be practical for a family breakfast. You will end up buying way more than you can realistically eat. However, we have eaten the pie each time. The restaurant is family run and the service is line with that motif - it is painfully slow. The price is fair for the pie, but once coffee, tax, and tip are factored in, your "snack" becomes a bit pricey. However, based simply on the pie, it is the best pie we have ever eaten.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BunRab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had a very good omelette and a slice of strawberry rhubarb pie. Felt like a home more than a restaurant. Don't go if you can't relax and take your time. Once our order was taken the wait time was good but prior it was a little slow. However, the food was worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap (and not a good one)”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I would never return to this place. This place does more things wrong than it does right. Rude waiter that said, I hope your children don't mess up the tableclothes with food (?) Two $5 dollar plate sharing charges for a 2 and 4 year old EVEN though we ordered bacon and biscuit for them. When we complained, only one was taken off because the restaurant has to wash dishes for them. Jeez, I guess I'm supposed to order an adult meal for a two year old. Tip was embedded with tax and not clearly defined until I asked them about the 20% tax rate. Would not accept credit cards for $100 bill and told us to go to ATM since there was a broken credit machine has been broken. Based on others' reviews, that credit card machine has been broken for a very long time. Do yourself a favor and star far away. I wish I had. Oh yeah, the food was ok but not worth the aggravation.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wombatus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermont Apple Pie Bakery and restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vermont Apple Pie Bakery and restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing