We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never lets us down”
Review of Trolley Stop

Trolley Stop
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Poultney
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never lets us down”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A short visit to Lake St. Catherine this winter has ended up being extended by two weeks because of renovation problems at home and a wild March blizzard in Vermont. We have eaten out a lot including several meals at the Trolley Stop. Each time, it has been a pleasant, delicious experience. They were even open the night after the blizzard. Despite the skeleton staff (I think the guy serving was also cooking,) the food and service were excellent. That night we had mussels in broth (as good as anything we've had on the Jersey shore) and lemon chicken, which was perfect comfort food. We indulged in maple creme brûlée and it was divine. We asked for coffee and the young an brewed a new pot for us. It was strong, but smooth and mellow. We are hoping to be able to head home in a couple of days, but not before another stop at the Trolley Stop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katiecreates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugarbush,Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good local spot”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Best food poultney has to offer. We have a vacation house here and we always come for the fish & chips or one of the nightly specials. Friendly service, family owned and operated

Helpful?
Thank Sugarbushvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Warm & Welcoming”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great food~ nice friendly service. Small town charm. Try the Maple Creme Brulee if they have it~ pure heaven!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kungfuNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Vermont village meal”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have a vacation home in Wells, VT and usually drive to Manchester Center for special meals out. While the food is usually creative and well-prepared, most of the restaurants in the area are quite pricey and really not the best option for regular "dining out so I don't have to cook on vacation." However, The Trolley Stop in Poultney is a happy exception. The food is uniformly good and the prices are what my husband refers to as "insanely reasonable." This is a family-run business in an early 19th century building. It is quite informal, but there is real pride of ownership in the service and the food preparation. Everything we have tried has been excellent. We don't even have favorites -we just roll through the menu. The specials are always worth a try. The portions are large - enough for two people if you are also having appetizers. Very family friendly. I gave it four stars for this instead of five only because the dining room does not have a lot of open space, so active children may find it a bit constrictive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katiecreates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK food but not more than that”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We thought it would be better, based on the reviews we read. The staff was very nice and the service was great. The food was OK, not more than that. Not strong enough taste to the food. All in all a good experience but not enough to merit 4 or 5 stars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eefrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trolley Stop also viewed

 
North Granville, NY
 

Been to Trolley Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing