We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bentley House”
Review of Bentley House

Bentley House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poultney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bentley House
Ranked #1 of 3 Poultney B&B and Inns
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bentley House”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have stayed here three times and all three times were delightful! Pam and Rich who own Bentley House bend over backwards to make your stay comfortable and are full of knowledge of the area. The rooms are beautifully appointed and very clean. Breakfast is delicious and served in a very cheerful dining room. We feel like we are staying with friends as opposed to being in a hotel and it is a great feeling. We recommend Bentley House to anyone who has to visit Poultney - it is a great find!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katweave54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a lovely room on the first floor, just off the dining room. The room was immaculate. It was nicely decorated and had very high end linens. The couple who ran this place couldn't have been nicer. The breakfast was excellent and bountiful. Very convenient to walking into town. We paid $116.63 including tax. Very enjoyable, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms would probably offer a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolenzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The owners of the Bentley House are your quintessential bed and breakfast owners. They are welcoming, kind, and very generous. You definitely feel like a guest in someone's home versus a hotel guest. The inn is in walking distance of the town and the cute shops and yummy restaurants that line Main Street.

Now my negative experiences: I've stayed here twice and haven't been able to successfully fall asleep yet. I stayed in the Blue Room both times and perhaps the mattress is too firm for my liking, but I just couldn't fall asleep.

I'd probably stay here again, because of the location and the incredibly kind owners, but I'd take a Benadryl with me first.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Poultney is very small town, but the Bentley House is warm and inviting. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were nicely decorated. While breakfast was not gourmet, it was quite tasty. The owners are outgoing and friendly. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phishstyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife and I randomly chose the B&B to stay in for an overnight trip away from our 8 month old son. Overall our stay was excellent. The house itslef is beautiful and very interesting. We stayed in the Cranberry room which was very cozy. The bed was comfy which was important since we really needed a good night's sleep. The room was very clean and all of the appointments were of high quality. Breakfast was excellent as were the hosts who were very nice and accomadating. The town itself was small but quiet and charming. Make sure to take a walk around the farm across the street, its part of the college and open to visitors. We had dinner in Rutland which wasnt too far away. If you want to take a nice scenic drive, take Rt 140 east out of town at the traffic light to RT 7 in Wallingford. The views are amazing.

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms and they were all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

The Bentley House is a charming bed-and-breakfast in the equally charming village of Poultney. Situated directly across from the beautiful campus of Green Mountain College, this Victorian property is ideally located for quiet strolls in a quintessentially Vermont village. Public rooms are cozy and inviting with interesting antiques, comfy chairs, and reading material. Bed and private bath were very well-appointed and beautifully decorated. Amenities of all kinds are provided, including robes and sandals. Innkeepers Rich and Pam are conversational and hospitable. Delicious breakfast. Enjoyed the Bentley House very much and highly recommend it to anyone looking for cozy elegance a little off the beaten path.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cattaraugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poultney
14.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
17.3 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
5.6 mi away
Marble Mansion Inn
Marble Mansion Inn
#3 of 3 in Fair Haven
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley House

Property: Bentley House
Address: 399 Bentley Ave, Poultney, VT 05764-1176
Location: United States > Vermont > Poultney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Poultney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing