We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ledges at Hawk Resort are awesome to rent.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawk Inn and Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The staff at Hawk Inn and Mountain Resort are terrific. They are very accomadating and very kind. My family and extended family rented 3 Ledges condos and were very pleased. Anything we needed they were glad to get for us. The week we stayed was warm and humid, but we did have fans in each room. Upon departure, the staff informed us that they were working on getting ac for each unit. Lots of fun activities for kids and adults of all ages.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evbsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

They nearly have perfection. If Hawk Inn felt like a deal rather than a splurge, we would have paid less attention to the flaws and would return at least once a year! But at $230 per night (and that was some sort of discount) for a modest-sized room, the problems felt a bit more notable: brown water running from the faucets; floorboards so creaky near the bathroom that if one of us got up in the night to use the toilet, it woke everyone in the room (and maybe everyone on the floor!); having to go back to the front desk soaking wet after swimming because one of our key cards didn't work; super-slow food at dinner that had our kids squirming; the one vending machine in the building not working when the brown water sent us in search of some bottled water to drink; and service that was friendly but somehow always made you feel like you were asking a favor. That last point was really hard to figure out. As we arrived at breakfast our last morning, I realized that the issue was that no one was ever stationed at a desk to greet you. The front desk clerks would come out from the back eventually after we had been standing there for a minute; there was no one at the hostess/host desk at the restaurant both times we arrived for meals. Even though the staff was kind and accomodating when you pulled them away from whatever they had been doing, it somehow felt like you were asking someone to do something he/she didn't really consider his/her job.

All that said, this place is beautiful! The views are gorgeous, the rooms are perfectly nice (brown water and creaky floorboards aside), the food in the restaurant was delicious at both breakfast and dinner, and the outdoor heated pool is (in my humble opinion) one of the greatest gems in all of New England. It is magical, stunning, relaxing, and just plain fun to be swimming so comfortably under the trees (and, later, the stars), surrounded by snow, and listening to the river babble past.

Rather than sweating the small stuff, I think this place should just lower their price points a notch. Had we been paying $150-$200 per night instead of $200-$250 we would have come up for longer and been less fussy about the flaws. Had dinner entrees been $10-$20 instead of $20-$30, we would be raving that we'd found one of the best hotel restaurants we could remember rather than focusing on how slow the food was to arrive.

If they can't afford to make this place feel like a deal year-round, they should at pick a couple months a year when they can discount their prices (both food and lodging!) significantly. Since the pool is the key attraction for us, we would aim for those lower-cost periods, and I am sure that they would draw a lot of future-return-customers if they had a bargain season.

A great place with some inconsistencies.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We have been vacationing at HAWK fr several years and the place never lets us down. the pools (indoor and outdoor) were warm and clean. There are plenty of activities at the resort (skating, xc ski, etc) to keep us busy and it was only a short trip to Jackson Gore and Killington for some downhill skiing. The hotel (and ski areas) were busy but we never felt like we were crowded - always plenty of private space. The staff is great (Art, the pool guy and the housekeeping staff), they do a nice job making sure that guests are comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The foliage was gorgeous. Our stay at Hawk Resort was wonderful. Took the tour of the Calvin Coolidge homestead.

Will come back again next fall for a relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Thank kfitzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We purchased the "Lovers Package" and when we got there we did not get a luxury room, were not given the sweets, and they forgot to give us the card in which our meals were included. However, it was a very nice place, and the massages were great! The rooms were also very clean, and there was a lot to do recreationally. The food was also very good, but iffy service.

When checking out, it took them 3 times to get our bill somewhat correct. Then they charged us $50.00 extra even though we had an email confirmation stating the total that we were supposed to be charged.

Overall, the place was great, but the service all around was lacking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband and I had never been to Vt so we started looking for places to stay. We were looking at the Woodstock Inn and here. Woodstock was just alittle more expensive, so we chose Hawk. When I first arrived I was puzzled by the house sitting in the middle of the complex. Looked out of place. Thats the main office. Any other lodging place it might look acceptable, but it didn't seem to go with the outdoor "decor". We checked in and went to our wing. I didn't like the idea that the door going into the our building was unlocked. I know it's a remote place, but you never know and that made me a little uneasy. Maybe they lock them at night, but there wasn't any posting saying that. My two negatives quickly turned positive as we entered our wing and climbed the stairs to our room. Our room was very nice. Clean. Our window overlooked the running river and at night provided us with a beautiful sound to sleep by. The rooms have a/c, but the temps then were only mid 70's and we left our windows open. I liked the extra touch of a candle with matches in the room. Our room, although it was only a deluxe, came with a small refridge and wet bar that was nice. Delicious Green Mountain coffee is provided too. We did not find some of the previous mentioned opinions of the decor. I don't remember the paneling....there ARE chairs provided outside...the outdoor pool IS open in the winter. It's heated to 90 degrees and it has a little step up that leads you directly to the indoor pool. The decor is modern and bright. Many little areas to sit down and read. The library is spacious and offers games to play along with many books and fireplace. We found the grounds nicely cared for. We did not eat dinner at the Tavern, only because we were out and didn't want a time to return. We did eat the wonderful breakfast that is included in your stay. We did visit the bar at night and were delighted with the bartender and waiter. They were so friendly. We enjoyed their company a lot. As previously noted in another rating, they do perform many weddings. They do spread out the reception along the walkways, pool side etc as said. I can imagine it is beautiful for those attending the wedding, but not so much for the guests. We were lucky. No wedding. I would check to be sure when booking. We found 4 out of the 6 staff people wonderful. There was a housekeeper who was gruff in the hallway and the woman who checks us in and out may not be the most qualified person to greet and handle situations. We tried to make a return reservation for the Fall when we checked out and was told she can't do that. The reservation person comes in at 3 and she would have them call us. They never did. I called 2 days after and was told again that person will be at 3. Not exactly easy to make arrangements, is it? The showers water pressure needs some work. I'm sure it's a water saver, but it takes a long time to get all the soap off you. You also can not get any bars on your cell phone while at the Inn. (this is great for when we bring our teenagers next month! ) Because you are surrounded by the mountains in a valley you can't get reception. Once you start to head out to the surrounding towns, you'll be able to use it. Even as we drove up the mountains that Hawk has their condos on, we got bars. We did not partake in any of the outdoor activities, other than the outside concert on Thursday. We did off site sightseeing.
I know I've mentioned alot of negative but as I also just stated, we ARE returning in Aug for 3 days with our teenagers. My husband and I truly loved the place. We visited the Woodstock Inn to see what we were missing and yes, it is of an upper scale hotel worthy of the $350+ rate and is a place comperable to places we usually stay (when its'the two of us) as we walked out we both felt like we chose the right place for our get away. Oh and if you check out the place on-line, don't take the availability too seriously. Be sure to CALL and check for openings. They are booked way ahead for the foliage season. We were unable to get a date. Thats why we're going in Aug. No foliage, but our kids will have alot more to do to keep them happy. Hope I've added some insight and if you ever visit the Hawk, be sure to say hi to Brian and Frank in the Tavern. They are great!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lndastalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a secluded resort where we could relax and at the same time enjoy many of our favorite activities. We feel fortunate to have found Hawk on the advice of friends who have stayed there. We swam both indoors and outdoors, exercised in the well equipped fitness room and kayaked on the beautiful lake, exploring both the lake and the winding river which feeds it. On our first night there we dined at the River Tavern and had a lovely meal and excellent service. The next morning, was drizzly, so after a hearty breakfast in the Tavern, we spent the morning in the very comfortable library reading. Fortunately the weather improved and in the afternoon we hiked along the river in the scenic nature preserve on the resort's property. We were given a map to follow but were still surprised when we came upon a lovely open grassy area with a good sized swimming pond and small beach. On our last morning we rented bicycles at the recreation center where the staff was very friendly. We explored some of the resort's other sights, including the stable area where we watched the grazing horses and then explored a section above the stables where a few of the Hawk homes are sited. Our lovely, spacious room, in a wing of the resort called Amherst, was very comfortable and clean. The staff at the resort was both friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz073Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
5.3 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
277 reviews
11.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
436 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
9.6 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
2.4 mi away
Salt Ash Inn
Salt Ash Inn
#1 of 2 in Plymouth
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawk Inn and Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawk Inn and Mountain Resort

Address: Route 100, 75 Billings Road, Plymouth, VT 05056
Location: United States > Vermont > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range: $150 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawk Inn and Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most peaceful and unspoiled resorts located on 1200 acres in the heart of the Green Mountains, between Killington & Okemo, Four Seasons of Activities: Mountain Biking, Canoeing, Kayaking, Water Trampoline, Nordic Skiing, Fishing, Heated Indoor & Outdoor Pool, Hiking, Ice Skating, Nearby Golf and Alpine Skiing, Snowshoeing, Spa & Tennis. Distinctive Real Estate opportunities available. Minutes to the villages of Ludlow and Woodstock, Vermont. Plymouth is the home of President Calvin Coolidge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawk Inn And Mountain Hotel Plymouth
Hawk Hotel And Mountain
Hawk Resort And Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing