We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed, but not breakfast”
Review of Salt Ash Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Salt Ash Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bed, but not breakfast”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The accommodations were basic but cozy. Check in was easy and the entire place is charming enough. The room and bathroom were clean and adequately stocked. There is no cell service but wifi is easy to access and fast. There is only one TV channel, which didn't really matter as my friends and I fell asleep right away after a full day of skiing.

Breakfast, however, was a disappointment. The waffles, which was probably the most substantial item of the food choices, was grocery-grade and was served in it's box. Guests had to toast it themselves, which is fine, except that there was only one toaster for the entire breakfast room.

Coffee was not hot and the water for tea was lukewarm. The rest of the breakfast menu were cereal and fruit. If you want a good breakfast for a full day on the mountain, you will have to get it elsewhere.

While my stay was not bad, I will definitely try other accommodations in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank KateD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB009, Owner at Salt Ash Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We provide basic continental breakfast on weekends and holidays. Our prices are much lower then a typical bed & breakfast in the area shop around. We strive to provide affordable, comfortable and clean accommodations our rates are among the lowest in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    7
    8
    12
See reviews for
14
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Spa, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

if you are going to killington for more than 1 night this is the place to be. 10 min from the Rear gondola. The staff is supper helpful, friendly and laid back. there is always great beer on tap in thier bar and the food is fantastic. A place like this should cost a fortune however it is so affordable you will think its to good to be true. dont miss out on the salt ash.

Room Tip: the moore room sleeps 6, great for families and friend trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Spent the second half of the kids school vacation in Plymoth skiing at Okemo and staying at the Salt Ash Inn! The Inn is about 20 minutes out from Okemo and from Killington in opposite directions. Okemo mountain was great sun and snow - with a day of rain in between.
The Salt Ash Inn was very quaint. The room was above the bar "the Moore' and accomodated 2 teenages and mself and my husband nicely. Lots of space. The room was a little noisy at times.. but to be expected given it was above the Restaurant. The rstaurant and menu is really nicely done. The kids loved the profitter rolls made onsite and had a great time playing pool while we enjoyed a beer or two after skiiing. The rooms in the Inn are very cute and old world. No frills but warm with lots of hot water and clean and comfortable beds. For the price I have no complaints. We will defintely be back - Thanks Al!

Room Tip: It is worth a call to the Inn to help figure out the best room to accomodate your needs. the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRCA_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I have a dog, and it's difficult to find accommodations that are pet friendly near Killington. Seeing the favorable rating here, we booked a room. I am not sure what the rest of the rooms are like, but the pet friendly room was in the extension of the main house. We have backpacked in various places, from staying in a hut to pitching our own tents. The only reason I would put this room above camping is because there is an indoor toilet with a hot shower that has plenty of water pressure. Otherwise, I wish I brought my sleeping bag. The outside temp was -20 degrees, and we only had a thin wool blanket. Even on the second night after the room had a chance to warm up, we had our dog in the bed (which we NEVER do) for extra warmth. Even though the price supposedly included breakfast, we never saw a soul in the mornings, nor smelled any coffee brewing. Good if you don't mind bare accommodations and amenities, as it is a short 15 minutes drive to the slopes. Otherwise, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aelysium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB009, Owner at Salt Ash Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
it was -20 outside, the rooms usually maintain around 68 degrees, but with those extreme temperatures and the wind it is going to feel cold no matter what. Our dog friendly rooms are located on the first floor and thus may be slightly colder as there is a crawl space below. This guest never asked for an extra blanket which we gladly would have provided. We leave extra's in the dresser of each room. Sometimes they get moved around, but there a plenty to be had one just needs to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had a great time this weekend! The inn keeper was super nice and really helpful. Our previous accommodations had fallen through and so we literately had to find a new hotel for six people and four nights in three hours. Al was great and really understanding. He responded fast and cleared up all of our questions. In addition he and the restaurant/bar staff treated us like family. If you are looking for a place thats really relaxed and laid back this is it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Salt Ash Inn in the town of Plymouth is a great place to stay. The Inn’s location is prefect for traveling to local ski stations, shopping and site seeing – highlights are Woodstock (great for shopping) and the Billings Farm and Museum.

The rooms were clean and comfortable – very quaint. The décor brings one back in time and the shelves are well stocked with books. There is no cell phone service but each room is equipped with a phone. Coffee and tea were on hand each morning with a variety of breakfast choices. Although we were not able to take advantage of the new restaurant, the food smelled wonderful.

The staff was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Room prices were reasonable. We had our dog with us, and it worked out well. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farfaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed on Saturday, Oct 12, 2013. The location is remote and to get some food you need to drive for a while. Our room is first mis-assigned to third floor (the stair is steep and narrow and we need to drag our luggage up and down). OK, we understand this thing happens. After we are relocated to second room on second floor, we found the sink is leaking. Call the front desk person and he can't fix it. He even totally break the faucet, sink and pipe. We are asked not to use the sink and he feel sorry. Since the B&B is fully booked that night, he can't switch the room for us. We are forced to use shower to wash our hand, face and even teeth. Not to mention the shower space is so limited and small.

After this very inconvenient stay, I contacted the Inn and expressed our disappointed feeling and experience. The Inn expressed their sorry and promised to reimburse $50 to us (I spent $160/one night). This response makes us feel their responsibility, but didn't last for a long time. The thing is: we never received the check they claimed they sent. This process took around one month (I needed to keep sending several email to get one response). OK, they promised to sent another check. After several weeks waiting, no check delivery again. So I needed to go over this process again. It should be fairly easy to sent a reimbursement check, but they just can't do it. Finally, they agreed to sent the reimbursement through PayPal (why not send through PayPal in the beginning?) and I received it after more than 2 months negotiation.

We are not people without empathy and we did understand this kind of thing (the broken utility) inevitably happens sometimes. However, the way they handled it is very disappointed. We didn't feel respected or they tried to be responsible during the whole process.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
11.1 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
8.5 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
310 reviews
7.5 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
7.2 mi away
The Woodbridge Inn
The Woodbridge Inn
#8 of 16 in Woodstock
90 reviews
4.8 mi away
Echo Lake Inn
Echo Lake Inn
#2 of 7 in Ludlow
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Ash Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Ash Inn

Property: Salt Ash Inn
Address: Jct. Routes 100 & 100A, Plymouth, VT 05056
Location: United States > Vermont > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Ash Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salt Ash Inn is conveniently located near Killington and Okemo Ski Areas in Calvin Coolidge's hometown of Plymouth, in Vermont. We are just up the road from the Long Trial Brewery, and a short drive to Woodstock. The Inn is a very casual, home-style Vermont Country Inn, think about it as a home full of friends you haven’t met yet. The main building is rich in history and much of our furnishings are antique and rustic. The main building has been an 1830s stagecoach stop, a general store and even a post office. The Inn has undergone many updates over the years and recently underwent a major renovation after damages caused by Hurricane Irene. It now offers 13 uniquely decorated guest rooms (all with private baths, individually controlled heat, TV's and telephones with free domestic calls). We offer warm common areas for lounging or reading, a cozy rustic Country style bar with pool table, gas fireplace, and some of the most unique furnishings you will find anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Salt Ash Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Ash Hotel Plymouth
Salt Ash Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing