We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salt Ash Inn”
Review of Salt Ash Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salt Ash Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salt Ash Inn”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

• Service: Satisfactory, Friendly, Helpful. We stayed twice and will return.
• Room: Coolidge is best double room. We liked it very much - attractive, comfortable. Check choices on Web site.
• Location: Near: Okemo, Killington, Woodstock
• Breakfast on weekends: Plentiful and good
• Best = Value. Free Wi Fi. Worst = Minor repair sometimes needed.

Room Tip: Coolidge is best for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4FHS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    7
    8
    12
See reviews for
14
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Wolf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Bed and Breakfast means a nice place to sleep and I expect a good breakfast in the morning. Well they did good pretty good with the breakfast, but they decided to add a common area (a bar) on the first floor and the noise carried right into our room. I was kept up until 2:00am! No a pleasant experience when I was on the mountain all day and needed to get a good night sleep for the next day of being back on the mountain. I would never recommend this B&B to a friend and will never go back again. Also the place was completely abandon when I got there. No one to welcome me and tell me where my room was, just a key in an envelop with my name on the front. Not a good way to start the experience and then things just got worse as I mentioned.

Room Tip: As far away from the bar as possible if you don't have any other B&B options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
8 Thank Heidi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After booking this place for the first time through Killington website, my friends and I really enjoyed staying at this place for every ski trip this past season there after. The owner is super friendly and accommodating. Its small and very clean, it makes you feel comfortable and cozy. They also have breakfast in the morning (did I mention they make fantastic scrambled eggs?). They also provide free wifi, although sometimes it may be because there was a full house and I was on the top floor it did not work as well, but as soon as I went downstairs I have access to it. The bar area is self serve. You can bring in your own beer or even keg and hook it up. There is also plenty of board games and a pool table for when you just want to cozy up and chill out after a long day of snow filled activities. I know maybe some people might complain about this but there's no cell phone signal available. I don't really care because I drive up from the craziness of NYC and it feels great to disappear off the grid for the weekend. You can also make calls through the landline if necessary. They are also super close to the gondola for Killington which is great! I really enjoyed my stay here and I'll probably be back again for the next ski season!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KyoujiRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped at Salt Ash Inn and stayed on the way back from a ski vacation in Northern Vermont. We needed to be near Ludlow (Okemo) the next morning so Plymouth was a great location. The inn is absolutely charming. The room we staying in was small but beautifully decorated. The bed was comfortable and the Inn is committed to energy conservation (a nice touch). The room had a well appointed private bathroom. The price and location can't be beat. We traveled over to Woodstock for a spectacular dinner, but there are other restaurants much closer. We will definitely be returning. This is a great find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcaldharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family and I accompanied a group of college students for a weekend of spring skiing with some nearby friends. The Salt Ash offered a great base of operations for Killington and a casual place to unwind in the evening. We slept well, ate well at breakfast, and had any and all of our questions answered by the friendly staff. The pool table, chess, and collection of games kept all ages engaged and away from screens for hours at a time. We highly recommend!

Room Tip: Plymouth room spacious and comfortable with big, updated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JMHrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our second trip was as great as the first. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. The Inn is the quintessential Vermont experience, also very clean and comfortable. We loved the family style set-up that gave the kids their space while we had ours.

Room Tip: Plan ahead on where to dine since the Inn is not in close proximity to many restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Al was extremely friendly and very welcoming. The room was great and the bed was very comfortable. I stayed with a group of friends and there was plenty to do, including pool, board games, and a great bar to bring your own drinks. Would definitely stay at the Salt Ash again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
8.5 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
299 reviews
11.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
7.2 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Echo Lake Inn
Echo Lake Inn
#2 of 7 in Ludlow
114 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Inn at Weathersfield
The Inn at Weathersfield
#1 of 2 in Perkinsville
232 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mountain Valley Retreat B&B
Mountain Valley Retreat B&B
#8 of 14 in Killington
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Ash Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Ash Inn

Property: Salt Ash Inn
Address: Jct. Routes 100 & 100A, Plymouth, VT 05056
Location: United States > Vermont > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Ash Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salt Ash Inn is conveniently located near Killington and Okemo Ski Areas in Calvin Coolidge's hometown of Plymouth, in Vermont. We are just up the road from the Long Trial Brewery, and a short drive to Woodstock. The Inn is a very casual, home-style Vermont Country Inn, think about it as a home full of friends you haven’t met yet. The main building is rich in history and much of our furnishings are antique and rustic. The main building has been an 1830s stagecoach stop, a general store and even a post office. The Inn has undergone many updates over the years and recently underwent a major renovation after damages caused by Hurricane Irene. It now offers 13 uniquely decorated guest rooms (all with private baths, individually controlled heat, TV's and telephones with free domestic calls). We offer warm common areas for lounging or reading, a cozy rustic Country style bar with pool table, gas fireplace, and some of the most unique furnishings you will find anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Salt Ash Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Ash Hotel Plymouth
Salt Ash Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing