We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Inn”
Review of Salt Ash Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salt Ash Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our second trip was as great as the first. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. The Inn is the quintessential Vermont experience, also very clean and comfortable. We loved the family style set-up that gave the kids their space while we had ours.

Room Tip: Plan ahead on where to dine since the Inn is not in close proximity to many restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 61 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Al was extremely friendly and very welcoming. The room was great and the bed was very comfortable. I stayed with a group of friends and there was plenty to do, including pool, board games, and a great bar to bring your own drinks. Would definitely stay at the Salt Ash again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay and meet new people search no more!!! We booked our trip in the last minute and arrived very late (around 2 AM). However, Al was extremely friendly and did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. The Salt Ash Inn has a great feel and its is hands down the place you want to come back to after a day of ski or a long hike.
If you are not familier with the area (like we were) don't worry Al will take care of you and tell you everything you want to know. The place has a BOB bar with a great pool table, a T.V. and a buautiful fire place, which makes you wanna stay there forever. Furthermore, we were surprised by the delicious complimentary breakfast that was served at the kitchen every morning!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Moni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My father and I recently drove up to Vermont for a quick weekend trip before classes started. We scheduled at the very last moment and were not sure what to expect but upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was in great condition and was very clean. This biggest complaint was over who got the bigger bed. The bathroom was extremely clean and we had absolutely no problems with it. Breakfast was provided for us in the morning before we hit the slopes and I have zero complaints. It is located about 15 minutes from Killington's Skyeship lodge which I fould to be the perfect distance. The prices were fantastic and the owners were extremely friendly and accommodating. I would absolutely recommend the Salt Ash Inn to anyone. It's quaint and rustic and we had a great stay there and are in the process of planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ohnomalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I recently booked four nights at the Salt Ash Inn (Christmas holiday, 2012). Please take the time to read this if you are considering staying at this Inn.

Former reviews should be disregarded as these neither reflect recent changes nor the current conditions. Most comments refer to aspects of the Inn that no longer exist (pool, excellent food, bar, full breakfast). Photos show a pool – it’s been filled in and doesn’t exist; same for the hot tub. The Inn's website has a link to some glowing reviews on a bed and breakfast booking site that does not even list this inn.

There is a couple currently running the Inn for the owner; they do seem to be lovely people but are extremely limited in what they can offer. To say the owner is not interested in providing any quality experience for the guests is a gross understatement.

Quaint country Inn – not quite. The main building is an old house with great potential. Now, it is nothing more than a house with rooms for rent. No ambiance, no care, no effort to make a pleasant stay or impression. The website states it has been renovated – no evidence of this other than an unfinished bar area. The website boasts “warm common areas for lounging or reading” – not really. The lights and heat are turned off in all areas. Winter temperatures in the teens and twenties outside, but inside - in the forties and fifties.

Full breakfast included - Not really. A self service assortment of cold cereals, watery juice, coffee and hot water for tea. We were offered eggs or pancakes or toast when we expressed dismay. One egg. No omelets, no cheese, no vegetables, etc. Instant pancake mix. Imitation maple syrup – really? We’re in Vermont!! White toast only. No jelly. On the last two days - instant oatmeal appeared.

The owner has some personal dietary restrictions which are enforced at the inn. No pork products allowed. Therefore no bacon, sausage, ham or any other breakfast meat. That's OK - but should be advertised and guests forewarned. That being said, there are many alternatives - turkey bacon, soy products, etc. But again, providing a full hot breakfast does not appear to be the intention.

Better wear ski clothes – the room is very cold.

Pub Food Available - BYOB bar
No pub food - that concept never got off the ground.

The bar is “rustic” and is BYOB as advertised. Good thing we had snow outside – no refrigerator, no ice. Glasses are available, no soap to wash them out, no paper towels - and no one was going to come by and do it for us either. There were dirty glasses, tools, trash, broken parts all over the bar and behind it. The bar is in a state of construction – for some time now, according to other reviews.

Common Area: this is in the same room as the bar. Pool table, tree trunk table tops on barrels. A drum kit in the middle of the floor ??
All lights and sources of heat are off. A gas fireplace with a glass window; the inn keeper shows you how to turn it on and gives the responsibility to the guest. It takes about an hour for the temperature in the room to get into the 50’s.
Bathrooms off this common area smell of smoke – toilets are dirty; floors reek of urine. One roll of toilet paper in one bathroom, one roll of paper towels in the other, soap in one, not the other. Not nice.

Games - yes there are games. Not a single one with all parts/pieces or directions. Lots of laughs.

Non - smoking establishment.
Well, it smells of smoke! Figure that one out.

Our particular room:
Amenities – essentially none. Just liquid soap – intended for both the sink and shower - and air freshener. No shampoo, no conditioner, no skin lotion, etc. Small hairdryer affixed to the wall. Nothing else. Not even extra toilet paper in the bathroom. One partial roll - good luck with that!

Old sheets and towels from a laundry service – white, thin – cheapest kind. One bath towel per person, one hand towel per room - no wash cloths.

Tub drain broken in the closed position. It had to be hand-held opened to drain mid-shower. Old, common bed spreads – not quilts that are shown on the website. Old carpet. A few thin random hangers in the closet. One dresser - one drawer was inoperable, the others fell down when pulled out. Dim, dark. Wished I brought my camping head lamp.

Yes – we did have an individual thermostat to control the heat. There was a tiny 1980’s TV. No phone – no cell service. Wi-fi in some places within the building.

Daily housekeeping - no - this did not happen. We were asked when we arrived if we needed to have our room made up every day. We said not the first day, but we would like clean towels after the second day. Didn't happen – no one came up for our entire stay.

The location is advertised as being convenient for skiing at Killington– not really true - not close. The inn is at least 25+ minutes (good weather) and 45+ minutes (light snow) from the main base lodges of Killington. Killington’s Skyship base lodge is actually closer to the Inn but is closed and won’t open until much later in the season. We spent over an hour daily driving back and forth to ski. Add another hour driving back and forth to restaurants to eat dinner.

All said – very disappointing. No full breakfast. No pub food. No heat. No lights. No amenities. No one cares. Broken tub, broken dresser. This could have been a very bad experience if not for our irrepressible holiday spirits.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Italiczech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB009, Owner at Salt Ash Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Unfortunately you can't make everybody happy. If you read this guests review you will see they are looking to nit-pick at everything. We are not a five star resort and do not charge the prices that they charge at 5 star hotels. The guest never complained about the tub and it was fixed as soon as we found out it was broken, a screw came loose, it happens the building is 200 years old. The pool which is no longer here due to Irene was outdoor and summer seasonal, we're in VT expecting an outdoor pool in the Winter really?

We did have a staffing issue and that has now been resolved, the staff has been replaced. I could go on one by one explaining away all these "issues" but read our other reviews. The place is an affordable place to stay not a 5 star place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've rented properties in the surrounding Plymouth area from the Salt Ash Inn team. Overall, I've been very happy with it.

Pluses:
1. Very cost effective versus options on killington road
2. Just enough amenities - no spa / hot tub, but there's a fireplace downstairs in case you're not the type to ski all day
3. Great place for a group to get a bunch of rooms and basically take it over - just like renting a house

Minuses:
1. About 20 minutes away from killington but this can be a plus if you're looking to basically be on the mountain all day. Plus its near the lift on the backside of the mountain so the 20 minute drive can be 10 if you get it at the right time of the season
2. Limited cell phone service

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in June. The owner was great however, we let a room with a stove so we could cook our own food (we have a baby who was 4 months old and we make our own baby food from organic vegetables), there was no propane and this was never solved during our 7 day stay. Also there was supposed to be a pool which was completely filled with debris, due to hurricane Irene. On the up side this place was definitely laid back. We didn't see anybody until the third day when the owner ran our credit card. The location is nice, and a great area to do some gold prospecting.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bytedisorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salt Ash Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Ash Inn

Address: Jct. Routes 100 & 100A, Plymouth, VT 05056
Location: United States > Vermont > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $77 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Ash Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salt Ash Inn is conveniently located near Killington and Okemo Ski Areas in Calvin Coolidge's hometown of Plymouth, in Vermont. We are just up the road from the Long Trial Brewery, and a short drive to Woodstock. The Inn is a very casual, home-style Vermont Country Inn, think about it as a home full of friends you haven’t met yet. The main building is rich in history and much of our furnishings are antique and rustic. The main building has been an 1830s stagecoach stop, a general store and even a post office. The Inn has undergone many updates over the years and recently underwent a major renovation after damages caused by Hurricane Irene. It now offers 13 uniquely decorated guest rooms (all with private baths, individually controlled heat, TV's and telephones with free domestic calls). We offer warm common areas for lounging or reading, a cozy rustic Country style bar with pool table, gas fireplace, and some of the most unique furnishings you will find anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salt Ash Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Ash Inn b&b
Salt Ash Hotel Plymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing