We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“June Trip to Vermont” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Ash Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salt Ash Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Wading River, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“June Trip to Vermont”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in June. The owner was great however, we let a room with a stove so we could cook our own food (we have a baby who was 4 months old and we make our own baby food from organic vegetables), there was no propane and this was never solved during our 7 day stay. Also there was supposed to be a pool which was completely filled with debris, due to hurricane Irene. On the up side this place was definitely laid back. We didn't see anybody until the third day when the owner ran our credit card. The location is nice, and a great area to do some gold prospecting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bytedisorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    7
    8
    12
See reviews for
14
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I recently booked a room for the night. It just so happened that Vermont was encountering a rare heat wave and we arrived to discover that the Inn had no air conditioning. In it's defense I understand that it's historical, circa 1830 and therefore in keeping with the times, however our room although very cozy was extremely hot and made sleeping very difficult. Ginger, the lady who was overseeing the property located a fan but it did little to surpress the heat. Breakfast was made to order and very good! It was sad to see the devastation which the area including the Inn suffered during last August and I admire the fact that they are recovering so well at the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weare51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Despite having suffered majorly from the flood last Aug. 2011, this place has made some major headway into renovating itself. I can see the potential in it's ongoing construction. However, as I mention, it is in the middle of renovations so: 1) as a walk in, no one was there but the doors were unlocked. You're suppose to call the # and leave a message. For last minute lodging, we were kinda worried but we went to Long Trail to have a beer and got a call back right away. 2) really, everything was unlocked. Anyone could just walk in and wander the place. 3) no breakfast. 4) it is in the midst of renovations so there are wires hanging about, holes in walls/ceiling, stuff all around...The proprietor was super friendly though and gave us a great recommendation for dinner, Ramunto's Brick Oven Pizza.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pico room which is dog friendly. It has a deck which is great for the dog but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aldin124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

This place is the best, and my boyfriend and I will definitely be back! It's historic and charming, but not in that overpowering way where you spend your vacation worrying you'll break something. There's no place better for a chill week(end) of skiing in Vermont, sans any froofy nonsense.

The owner is is super helpful and accommodating, not to mention a great guy to have a post-ski beer with. He was so accommodating- we had to bring our four-legged friend with us and not only did Al allow us to, he even gave us the room with the most space for our bunny to run around in!

They were just putting the finishing touched on a brand new bar space (...courtesy of Hurricane Irene) and though we didn't use it, I hear there is a hot tub. They serve breakfast and, equally importantly, they can always tell you where to find the best ____ in town!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

The food was outstanding and Chef Miles is a fabulous chef and certianly has a wealth of expertise. The maple cheese was to die for.................and the peach cobbler.... Great....The dining room is very cozy....

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We booked this place paying top dollar for Xmas time having top expectations. But it turned out to be a miserable stay. The place was under construction when we first walked in. Apparently they were recovering from Hurricane Irene which happened about 4 months ago which is ridiculous. The owner of the place did not touch a thing the opening day of the season. So I think it is OK in his view to have guests walking in to their rooms passing through a construction time.

Do not expect to have breakfast at time. We were told breakfast starts at 7 am. Forget about it. You are lucky to find anybody in the kitchen before 8 or 9am. And some days nobody shows up at all. The building is so old and noisy. You can literally hear everything happening upstairs and downstairs.

Overall, do not go to this place if you are looking for a nice ski vacation.Period.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tuna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Plymouth hotels

Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Don't let the exterior deceive you. My kids' faces fell when they first saw it, as it is right on the street and looks quite run down. But we all LOVED the rooms - charming, spacious, and nice bathrooms (we had the 4 bedroom suite, which was a lot of fun for them). The pool was fine -- clean, but quite cold and a few nasty flies around! One of our rooms didn't have a fan, but maybe if we'd asked for one more it could've been provided. The breakfast was fine, and the staff working were extrememly helpful and friendly. Perhaps it was a bit overpriced, but otherwise a very nice summer stay.

Room Tip: If you have a large family, my kids LOVED the "sleeps 9" railroad style suite with 4 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMKCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
11.1 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
7.5 mi away
Cascades Lodge Killington
Cascades Lodge Killington
#9 of 13 in Killington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
9.3 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
7.8 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Ash Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Ash Inn

Property: Salt Ash Inn
Address: Jct. Routes 100 & 100A, Plymouth, VT 05056
Location: United States > Vermont > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Ash Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salt Ash Inn is conveniently located near Killington and Okemo Ski Areas in Calvin Coolidge's hometown of Plymouth, in Vermont. We are just up the road from the Long Trial Brewery, and a short drive to Woodstock. The Inn is a very casual, home-style Vermont Country Inn, think about it as a home full of friends you haven’t met yet. The main building is rich in history and much of our furnishings are antique and rustic. The main building has been an 1830s stagecoach stop, a general store and even a post office. The Inn has undergone many updates over the years and recently underwent a major renovation after damages caused by Hurricane Irene. It now offers 13 uniquely decorated guest rooms (all with private baths, individually controlled heat, TV's and telephones with free domestic calls). We offer warm common areas for lounging or reading, a cozy rustic Country style bar with pool table, gas fireplace, and some of the most unique furnishings you will find anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Salt Ash Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Ash Hotel Plymouth
Salt Ash Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing