We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in the country”

Positive Pie Tap and Grill
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Plainfield
Cuisines: American
Description: You have their Montpelier, Vermont location listed already, Positive Pie 2. The Plainfield restaurant just expanded and now is full service with bar.
Restaurant details
Description: You have their Montpelier, Vermont location listed already, Positive Pie 2. The Plainfield restaurant just expanded and now is full service with bar.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Little Gem in the country”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been going to this place since it opened. It is almost always good. The food is fresh and well prepared. The service friendly and the atmosphere is relaxing and has a good vibe.
On one hand you know you are out in the country, on the other hand it has almost a city like "cool" feel to it. You are never rushed and the surroundings are warm and welcoming. I do wish they had a few more choices on the menu. We go so often that sometimes it is hard to find something one has not eaten several times before. I am not a beer drinker but it is obvious that they have a big and interesting selection. The wine list is okay, nothing spectacular, but definitely better than average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barre, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Meat eater to vegan”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice dinner that pleased the meat eater and the soul trying to eat more vegan meals. Started with the must have Heady Topper, and kale bean soup...fresh and tasty. Pepperoni pizza was amazing, as was the white bean burger over sautéed spinach. Nice relaxed atmosphere if you feel like "chilling".

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“local pub, good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We don't drink but this local tavern sports about 20 microbrews for beer adventurers. A cut above usual pub fare. The fish and chips were delicious with some special tasty slaw. The pizza was outstanding with lots of style and topping choices. Service was friendly and quick and the place gets quite warm and cozy (crowded) as it fills up at dinner time. We look forward to returning on our next visit

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drusmom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncy, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Beer Menu, Bar and Food”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by three times on our last visit to Vermont and stopped by last March. We were out enjoying the fall foliage and capped off each evening by sitting at the bar having a drink, slice of pizza, and salad.

Let's review in the above order. The pizza is what you would expect to find in a good New York City Pizza Parlor. Great ingredients, thin crispy crust, and great selection. You can by it buy the slice, if you sit at the bar. They have a great draft beer selection. I think they may have 20 taps and lots of locally brewed beer. They also have a good wine list and with some instruction make a great dry gin martini. Each time we had the Cesar salad and it had fresh shaved Parmesan cheese and great light dressing. It perfectly complimented the pizza.

The staff was great. The bartender anticipated our needs and made us feel like locals. He made a great Martini by following my instructions, this was not only very kind but quite professional.

As mentioned, they have great pizza and a good pub menu. Dinner selection is very limited. They don't pretend to be full menu operation, however, because of the quality of what they do prepare and the lack of restaurants in the area, I wish the menu could be more extensive. But don't let that stop you from stopping by and enjoying what they offer.








Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We looked for this place since we heard it has good beer. Well -its true. My husbend drank one of their hale and i got strong sider-the best sider i ever had. !! The pizza was also very good and the atmosphire very nice. Next time we will be in the area we will return for the beer!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ililili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Positive Pie Tap and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Positive Pie Tap and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing