We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a shop than a museum.”

New England Maple Museum
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Pittsford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“More a shop than a museum.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is fun but it is mostly a store. That said it is a great place to buy a huge assortment of Vermont maple products.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vinny46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Informative but needs updating.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I am glad I stopped at the Maple Museum because the exhibits while old, are very informative. As many of the reviews say, the museum needs some updating and I am not sure if all the dolls take away from the museum or contribute to it. The people running it were very friendly and informative and you get to taste different syrups, spreads, and jams at the end. I would stop by if I was in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This museum should be in a museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The museum was dated and juvenile, but the artifacts were interesting. We did enjoy the tasting of maple syrup samples.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good For a Hour or So”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

If you have any interest in American product history and maple gathering and processing, this is worth the time. A little hooky nut interisting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwbfl0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
379 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Alright, but nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Do you like maple syrup? Ever wonder about its history and how it's made? Then you definitely want to take a trip to the New England Maple Museum. While not very large (you'll go through the exhibits in about 10-15 minutes), it is a bit entertaining, especially with some of the cheesy effects (you'll have to see to actually understand). At the end you'll also see a video of how the syrup is made, which is quite interesting. At the end, you'll have the opportunity to sample different types of maple syrup so you can see which "grade" you like best. And of course, in the main shop (which seems to be half the building), you can purchase any type of Maple Syrup related product.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New England Maple Museum also viewed

 

Been to New England Maple Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing