We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Vermont American in Warm Log Cabin”
Review of Johnny Seesaw's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Johnny Seesaw's
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classic Vermont American in Warm Log Cabin”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We loved this place, just what we were looking for. It's classic New England/American food, well-prepared in a log cabin, roaring fireplace kind of setting. It's fancy eating, but casual dress is fine. Lots of kids too. Place has a fun history, too. It's the kind of place you wish you could find for dinner after a day on the slopes. Prime rib is very good. Pork roulade was excellent. Yes, it's expensive for what you are getting, but so what? A fun evening and probably what you came to Vermont to find so suck it up and enjoy. Slow service on our night (which as Xmas week and super-busy). Didn't mind except the waiting so much but it definitely cost them dessert and coffee from us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
452 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere - Surprisingly Expensive”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was my second attempt getting seated at this restaurant. I came on a weekend night over the summer and they stopped seating at a surprisingly early time of 9pm. This time around, my friends and I got seated at about 8:15 on a weeknight, and we were the last patrons to arrive (and leave). The building itself dates back to about 1920 and has a lot of history. It's mostly wood with superbly low-lighting and a comfortable, pleasing atmosphere. Our hostess and waitress were pleasant and accommodating. We each started with a cocktail or glass of wine and an appetizer. I opted for the Potato/Leek soup which we were told was "very good." But neither my friend nor I were terribly impressed. The soup was quite bland and required quite a bit of salt and pepper to make it memorable. My other friends's French Onion Soup seemed a better choice. My comrades enjoyed their entrees (one fish, the other a filet mignon). Yet each also stated that there was some ingredient which didn't quite fit, and provided a slightly odd taste. On the other hand, I ordered the pork tenderloin, which used spinach and gruyere cheese in the recipe. It was quite delicious. We received good table service here, and would return. However, the prices were surprisingly high given this location in rural Vermont, with nary an entree under $25.00, though they DID include a vegetable and starch side (in my case, mixed vegetables and brown/wild rice mix).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Here's the Beef!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our Innkeeper mentioned this place to us because of the prime rib so we went. We were not disappointed in the least. The prime rib was terrific! The atmosphere was really relaxing. A big roaring fire in the fireplace pit in the center of the room and in the fireplace next to the bar. The lighting dim like you would expect at a lodge. The service was very good and paced out well. If you like beef and new england fare then this one is for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fivebirds55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Typical apres ski fare”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice quiant restaurant. Flowers on Valentines day.
Hearty meal, decent friendly service. varied menu.
We had a cozy corner table and enjoyed our meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank caryn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“meh”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

everyone says that johnny seesaws is the place to eat when in peru, vt. the menu was filled with heavy, tavern type items which i guess you'd expect from a log cabin in the woods type place. but the prices were very expensive for food that was average at best. i was particularly appalled by the $7 share fee, especially given we had very young kids. the 'kids' menu consisted of half portions at $15/plate. and the sides were either potato or rice. i was about to get the veal parmagian, but who on earth eats rice with veal parm? would it be that hard to cook up some spaghetti to put on the side?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank getmehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Seesaw's also viewed

 
Peru, Green Mountains
Peru, Green Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing