We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere -- and that's its secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Weathersfield
Ranked #1 of 2 Perkinsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere -- and that's its secret”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Read the other reviews and you'll come to see why people travel to the Inn at Weathersfield from all over. It's the food, it's the ambience, it's the sense of relaxation. You have to poke a bit down some Vermont roads to get there (admit it, you've never heard of "Perkinsville"), but the 200-year-old building at the end of the lane justifies the work.

For many years there was an extraordinary chef at the inn. He left back in the fall of 2013, they've got a new fellow overseeing the kitchen and, almost always, he keeps the rep going. [The wall next to the office is plastered with rave reviews from travel and food/wine magazines all over, so thats quite a rep to live up to.]

OK, the food. Yes, it was great. Breakfasts of these amazing combos of pancakes and sausages and yoghurt and pastrami (!) and eggs and…just top-notch. Dinner (they don't serve lunch) was similarly impressive. We ate one night in the Tavern, one night in the more formal space (really, they're the same space, just reconfigured or imagined), and enjoyed both meals. Great wine list, imaginative cuisine, very good service. BUT…on two separate nights, my wife's entrees were not uniformly warm/heated, i.e. a little hot here, a little tepid there. Hm. And one night, they just apparently forgot about our table - the waitress came out all flustered, apologizing. That "Chef's Tasting Menu," where everyone in the place gets pretty much the same thing, took two hours. Now, I love to sit, and I love to imagine what the next course will be, but two hours was r-e-a-l-l-y long to get through a meal. Small things, and I expect they'll be ironed out.

The inn itself? Fabulous. We stayed in the Taftsville Room, upstairs in the front (old) part, with windows on three sides, a gas fireplace, comfy chairs, a deep king bed, a cool shower…boy, it was hard to leave, when our stay was up. The owners, Merilee and Richard, are extremely friendly and accommodating -- they're clearly enjoying the experience as much as you are.

We were there in the dead of winter and they kept telling us how beautiful it is in summer (the flower beds, the lingering evenings on the terrace), but it was pretty wonderful in mid-January, too. They have snowshoes you can grab and go out onto the property with.

"New England's Premier Culinary Inn," the website says. Well, I don't know about THAT: New England is kind of big. Let's just say that it's a lock that you will not be disappointed. Most likely, you'll be planning your next trip back as you drive away down the lane….

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms up front in the "old" part of the inn. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spritz735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    22
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
156
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

From the moment I passed through the quaint little entrance way I immediately felt my cares wash away. Marilee and Richard have running a B&B down to perfection. They have a perfect blend of personal & professionalism. After reading a few reviews, I was concerned about the food as read the chef had left,,that quickly dissipated with my first bite of their divine food. This trip was booked as a culinary destination for us, as we work in a similar industry and were researching the farm to table movement. Although I have no record of comparison to the prior chef, I can speak to the incredible talent of their current chef. I appreciated that the food was not only incredibly fresh, but super creative too. After speaking with the owners and the chef himself about the direction they are taking the food, I have no doubt about the amazing things to come from the Inn. I loved how the main part of the Inn maintained it's original architectural integrity while the private rooms had many of modern luxuries that made it feel like a spa vacation. I even booked a massage (which I highly recommend) in my private room. If I had any complaint about the room, it would be the noise level. We booked the upper falls which is right above the dining room, so you could hear late night guests and early morning set up. I'm sure this is easily resolved with some earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Otherwise the room had everything! Bed was comfortable with high quality linens, heat worked great, new windows and great spa shower. It was spacious and immaculate. (and believe me,,I am a clean freak..I looked!!) The only other thing to note is seclusion. Be prepared to drive to things. Everything is about 20 minutes away. Marilee is wonderful about printing out directions, and things to do in the area. But I can't stress enough that the food justifies everything!!! We will no doubt return to peek in on their new creations! And with any luck you will meet their dog George, who my Husband fell head over heels in love with :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyp641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We celebrated another anniversary at the Inn this past weekend and, if possible, it was even better than our first stay just a year ago. We tried a new room this time and loved walking out on the deck in the evening to see the stars and in the morning to hear the crunch of fresh snow under our feet and take in a clear view of the woods around the inn...The real stars were Marilee and Richard, the ultimate hosts who continue to find new ways to enhance the experience of their guests. We loved new Chef Jean Luc, who prepared a delicious menu. We had a great time and look forward to returning in the spring to experience the Inn in another season. Thanks Marilee and Richard for a(nother) wonderful weekend... See you soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just spent the most amazing weekend at the Inn at Weathersfield. We were there for a wedding and stayed for 2 nights. From the moment we arrived, Marilee, Richard and their entire staff made us feel as if they had personally invited us to stay with them. The service was extraordinary. We had a private dinner in the wine cellar our first night. It was fantastic. The room itself was warm and decorated beautifully. The food was extraordinary!! That night set the tone for the rest of our stay. Our room (Arlington) was beautiful! The rustic charm was blended with modern amenities. The wedding was beautiful. As an attendant in the wedding, I was able to see all of the "backstage" action. The staff had it down cold! The execution was flawless and the bride and groom had a magical night. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Inn to anyone...in fact I have been talking it up all week! Upon leaving, we were given hugs by Marilee and Richard and welcome to return anytime. I can assure you we will!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've been here several times. This was our first time under the new management. There are some bugs still to work out, things seem less smooth and less personalized than they did under the previous owners. The food continues to be absolutely extraordinary, this really is a food destination. The wine list has been pared down considerably since our last visit, which is my only criticism of the dining experience.

The main concern going forward is that the head chef is leaving, and the inn has really built its entire reputation around his prowess. Take away the food, and the rooms are a small and overpriced, and the location is just far enough south in Vermont that it is a bit inconvenient to get to major tourist areas. Securing a new world-class chef is going to be the key to the inn's continued success in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coprinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weathersfieldinn, Owner at The Inn at Weathersfield, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Looking back, we should have responded to your review immediately. You visited when we were in the middle of our chef search. If we seemed distracted, we were, and if it affected your experience, we apologize. The good news is we found the next great chef for The Inn at Weathersfield. After reviewing over 80 qualified chefs' resumes, we narrowed the list to 15 candidates for after work in-depth phone interviews. We formed a six-member search committee (including the former inn owners) and invited five chefs to stay at the inn, visit our local farms and cook for us inside The Hidden Kitchen, our onsite cooking classroom studio. It was a unanimous decision. Chef Jean-Luc was the perfect next great chef. His food philosophy directly aligns with our mission statement - to be as authentic as possible - no prepared frozen foods on any menu. Jean-Luc continues to receive high praise. As a native Vermonter and son of a Parisian chef, he was trained in California and split his career between Nantucket, northern Vermont and France before coming here. His food is authentic, inventive and delicious. Our tasting menu continues to change weekly and now we have an a la carte seasonal menu and tavern menu all sourced from our farm partners. As for our wine list, it is true that we didn't replace many of the obscure $200-$300 priced wines we inherited when purchasing the inn. However, our wine sales are the largest in the history of the inn and we just announced Wine Spectator Magazine gave us the Award of Excellence, now 11 years running. Since purchasing the inn, we've spent considerable time and resources replacing furniture, beds, linens, rugs, lighting and paint. (Lots and lots of paint.) We hope you visit us again and see for yourself how far we've come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We found this Inn after a recommendation from a friend and were not disappointed! Beautiful location, great staff (thanks Liz and Paul!) and wonderful food in the gourmet dining areas. Richard and Marilee are some of the nicest hosts we have ever spent time with, and she even arranged for some picnic supplies for an outing to one of the local covered bridges! Our stay in the Martins Mill room was very quiet and over the top comfortable!! An outside fire pit that just draws guests together for good times and homemade doughnuts each morning to take with you on your day. Hands down one of the nicest B and B's we have visited all over the world.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the inn for five nights. We ate dinner at the inn for only three of those nights because the dining room is closed during part of the week (although breakfast is served each day). This is an inconvenience since the inn is located in a rural area requiring that one drive to a nearby town for a meal. One night we ate at the Country Creemee, a roadside stand where we sat on a picnic bench and ate excellent hamburgers and more excellent maple soft ice cream. Another night we drove to Springfield, a dreary town dominated by abandoned factories, where we ate at the Black Rock Steakhouse, a passable steakhouse. The Country Creemee and the Black Rock Steakhouse have the virtue of not haranguing diners with tedious information about what local farmers tore the vegetables from the earth and slit the throats of the animals one is eating. (Note to Vermont dining establishments: just serve us well prepared good food. We don't care who killed it.) The dining, including service, at the Inn at Weathersfield was fine. The food is very good but not at a level to justify a stay solely for the dining experience. The dining comes into play when one combines it with visiting the area. In our case, we hiked in the area, particularly the Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park, about 20 miles from the inn. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The innkeepers and the staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BushPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weathersfieldinn, Owner at The Inn at Weathersfield, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We invite you to return and experience the cuisine of our new Executive Chef Jean-Luc Matecat. When you stayed, our former chef was in his last days at the inn. (He took a corporate day position preparing lunches on a nearby ski mountain in order to spend time with his young children at night). While the trails 20 miles away are quite lovely, there are many, many trails much closer to the inn, including those at Mt. Ascutney and a fabulous hidden gem, down through the Power Basin less than two miles from the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perkinsville
13.8 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
330 reviews
17.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
406 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
473 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Weathersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Weathersfield

Property: The Inn at Weathersfield
Address: 1342 VT Route 106, Perkinsville, VT 05151-9309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Perkinsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Perkinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Weathersfield 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Weathersfield is a boutique farm-to-table inn set on 21 wooded acres with 12 en-suite guest rooms, full service restaurant open to the public for dinner with dining inside and out (weather permitting), on-site cooking classroom studio, organic vegetable garden, wooded wedding amphitheater. Ideally located 20 minutes from Okemo, 20 miles from Woodstock, VT, 4.5 hours from NYC and 2.5 hours from Boston. The nearest private airport is 2 miles away. The nearest commercial airport is West Lebanon, NH or Rutland, VT. Amtrak service is in Windsor, VT and Dartmouth Coach Bus Service is available to West Lebanon, NH with car rental service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Weathersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Weathersfield Hotel Perkinsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing