We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in Norwich, VT”
Review of The Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Norwich Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Spent a few days at the Norwich Inn while visiting a local company. We were not in the original inn but in the newly added Walker House. Nice size room, nicely decorated with a fireplace. While there we visited the Science Museum (quite nice) as well as the Quechee Gorge area and a day drive to the Green Mountains. Lovely area. We did not try the pub but there are several restaurants in Hanover, White River Junction, or West Lebanon - not much of drive to get to them. Would love to return in the fall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 350 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Go to the Inn the first week of October every year...classic Inn located in the best possible location for Dartmouth College, King Arthur Flour and Woodstock.

Comfortable, always friendly, nice bar with great people. Make sure to go to Dan and Whits General Store next door. Get a cup of coffee and Doug's jelly donuts! A great way to start the day.

Finish with a rock on big front porch!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original Inn for more quaint authenticity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusyBizTraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The friendly atmosphere and the charming rooms make it a little easier on my wife and I when we have to drop our daughter off at college. We have always stayed in the original section, and the rooms have always been large, charming and filled with antiques.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently stayed two nights at the Norwich Inn, in the Ivy Lodge. Our room was excellent. The rocking chairs on the porch in front of our room were a great touch. The staff we interacted with were professional and courteous. We checked in early with no trouble, and check out was a breeze. The pub--food, beverage, service, location--were very good, we ate there twice. We also ate in the Inn restaurant each morning, and the breakfasts were okay, but not spectacular. The servers in the morning seemed particularly busy, don't know if we hit them at a bad time or if the morning shift is understaffed? One problem we encountered, after returning from a night out in a neighboring town, was a lack of parking. Had to circle the block a few times around 10 p.m. to find one parking spot on the Inn property! The only other negative is that the whole stay was a bit pricey, but not over the top. Overall, we enjoyed the Norwich Inn very much and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Ivy Lodge is "detached" from the main Inn, is relatively new and the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank src04605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Norwich Inn. Our room was a little worn, but it was clean and we enjoyed the old fashioned feeling to it. We stayed in the inn building itself. This isn't a fancy place. Instead it feels real. We ate a good dinner in the dinning room. The beer was excellent. We played chess at night in the living room. That's the kind of place it is, very comfortable. Check out the Paul Sample painting in the smaller dining room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Norwich Inn. The first 2 years we stayed in Walker and had a lovely experience.
This summer however we were on the first floor in room 8. When we were trying to sleep, we kept hearing the pounding and slamming of doors. At first we thought it was from down the hall or upstairs. We were unable to sleep for hours and called the overnight innkeeper. The innkeeper did not answer and we left a message (which was never returned). The next day, my husband realized that it was the side entrance door to the building that was directly next to the head of our bed so every time someone came or went it made a loud noise. Obviously that door should have been "sound proofed" during installation. We tried to switch rooms for our 2nd night but the inn was full. The front desk didn't offer any solace or concern.
Upon check out, we were asked by a different front desk lady if everything was OK with our stay. I explained how we were unable to sleep for hours because of the loud noise from the door and her response was "oh, no one's ever complained of that before". End of story. Suffice it to say, we were not exactly happy with her response but were in a hurry to leave for home and didn't pursue it further. For the price paid, we were extremely disappointed with the sound / noise issues and the lack of response / concern by the inn when are complaints were registered.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Walker 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lars30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I booked the inn for its' close proximity to the King Arthur Flour Baking Education Centre and got much more than expected. We stayed in the Walker House. Our spacious room was large, very clean and beautifully decorated, even had a fireplace (not that we'd need it in this heat). The staff was very welcoming. We were late coming back from our baking class and the dining room was closed. The kitchen was gracious enough to make burgers for us for a late dinner in the Jasper Murdock pub. We had the beer 'sampler' from the onsite microbrewery....everything was delish. The Norwich Inn is close to a few places that are equally quaint....Hanover, White River Junction, Woodstock and Quechee, not the mention Dartmouth College. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
1.3 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
284 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
10.1 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
135 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Lebanon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwich Inn

Address: 325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055-9453
Location: United States > Vermont > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: $150 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Norwich Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwich Inn is a historic, full-service Vermont country inn located in Norwich, near Dartmouth College, just across the river from Hanover, New Hampshire. An Inn has been on the Main Street site since 1797; the current Victorian Structure since 1890. This Dartmouth hotel is proud to offer 40 guest rooms, a Pub & Dining Room known as Jasper Murdock’s Alehouse and a Microbrewery featuring hand-crafted English Ales, sold only on site. We are proud to offer one of the largest wine selections in Vermont, housed in our new Wine Cellar, which is also available for private parties. Local legend has it that the Inn and the Town were the inspiration behind the popular TV Show, “Newhart,” which was set in Norwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwich Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing