We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vermont with all the Comforts”
Review of The Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Norwich Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a nice place! The rooms in the annexed buildings are newer than the main building. Ours had beautiful furniture, a huge bathroom, fireplace, and all the usual amenities. Pet friendly too. An on site brewery provides perfect lunch fare including delicious micro brews. The only thing lacking are the morning pastries provided in the lobby. Dry muffins? Surprising in a place like this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 350 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had booked a room at the Norwich Inn but because of a death in our family we could not keep the reservation. Although it was very close to the 48 hour deadline, the reservation staff were kind, gracious, unquestioning and cancelled us without penalty. We are grateful for their accommodating response to our family's sorrow and need to cancel. We will definitely plan on staying there for our next visit.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Finnegansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I were married on May 19th. We're not taking our honeymoon until later but wanted to stay somewhere special on our wedding night. Neither one of us had ever been to the Norwidh Inn but from the pictures online it looked beautiful. What a perfect place to stay for our wedding night! The front desk person was so sweet to us and the room was gorgeous. Thank you Norwich Inn!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDKS519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Norwich Inn is a special place. My wife and I first visited in 1965 while hunting for a teaching job as college seniors. We thought it would be fun to make a return visit as retirees 47 years later in May of 2012. We specified a modest room in the inn similar to what we had as students. All was as we remembered. Our room was cozy and updated with a comfortable bed and antique looking bathroom with an old-fashioned pedestal sink that shined like new. It was good to see that the old inn had been well cared for over the years. It was a bit strange to find that on Mondays the inn only offers a free continental breakfast with nice fresh baked assortment, cereals, juice and coffee (apparently it is the chef's day off for breakfast), but we were fine with that. The next day (Tuesday) there was no free breakfast, but we could order anything we liked, and we were happy to have pancakes with Vermont maple syrup. The first night we ate in the dining room and, although I can't remember what I had, I do recall we both enjoyed our meal and resolved to eat at the inn again the next night. Our second night we decided to eat at the inn's pub, Jasper Murdock's Alehouse. It was another great event-- we both sampled some of the Norwich Inn's micro-brewed beer, and it was terrific. It is especially interesting that the inn has a brewery of its own in the back of the property. The beer brewed there is elaborately pumped (not using pressurization) deep underground straight through to the pub at the perfect natural temperature. The Red Ale was superb. Lastly, for those who enjoy a spacious room that is luxurously appointed, you can choose a room in their new modern building adjacent to the inn-- I had a peek, and it was really quite sumptuous. Next time through we'll probably stay there.

Room Tip: For a taste of history, stay at the inn. For maximum comfort ask about the new adjacent building ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I had never stayed at the Norwich Inn but had heard lovely things about it. We have a dog and were delighted to learn that they had pet friendly rooms in the Ivy Lodge. The room was wonderful, spacious and comfortable with a gorgeous shower and bath. We booked the spring "Romance Package" which included a bottle of chilled sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries which were delicious! We had a wonderful dinner in the dining room and a delicious full breakfast the following morning. My husband brought his bike and the folks at the front desk were very helpful in suggesting good bike routes which he really enjoyed while I took the dog for some gorgeous walks in the charming neighborhoods surrounding the Inn. We also enjoyed shopping at a fun outdoor flea market in nearby Lyme. The Inn is minutes away from Dartmouth College so we were able to get together with our son, too which was great! We loved our stay and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The dog friendly room in the Ivy Lodge was great! Clean, spacious and inviting including an outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our family stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed every minute. The rooms are excellently done and completely relaxing. The bath had a towel warmer which the kids loved, there was an iPhone dock in the room, so no worrying about where your charger is. The restaurant and bar are nicely done and the food was delicious. The restaurant took us without reservations and the prices are comparable to any sit-down chain around. We walked the neighborhood one evening enjoying the beautiful architecture throughout the neighborhood, and then enjoyed the rest of our evening sitting on the porch of the Inn in their rocking chairs. The staff was great and payed special attention to our needs and questions. We had an absolutely wonderful time. We would go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My family has stayed there often over fifty years and have had a wonderful experience every time. Our last visit was a family reunion as several family members have attended Dartmouth College. We brought my 93 year old mother who had stayed at the Inn several times back in the late sixties! She had a ball reminiscing about how the Inn had changed, yet kept its true New England feel. The staff at the Inn was so accommodating to our large group... everyone loved staying there. We had cocktails on the outdoor porch, a lovely dinner in a private room, and then headed to the lively, fun pub after dinner was over.
I would highly recommend the Inn to anyone (and have recommended it several times to friends). I plan to keep returning to this wonderful place.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
1.3 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
284 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
10.1 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
135 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Lebanon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwich Inn

Address: 325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055-9453
Location: United States > Vermont > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: $150 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Norwich Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwich Inn is a historic, full-service Vermont country inn located in Norwich, near Dartmouth College, just across the river from Hanover, New Hampshire. An Inn has been on the Main Street site since 1797; the current Victorian Structure since 1890. This Dartmouth hotel is proud to offer 40 guest rooms, a Pub & Dining Room known as Jasper Murdock’s Alehouse and a Microbrewery featuring hand-crafted English Ales, sold only on site. We are proud to offer one of the largest wine selections in Vermont, housed in our new Wine Cellar, which is also available for private parties. Local legend has it that the Inn and the Town were the inspiration behind the popular TV Show, “Newhart,” which was set in Norwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwich Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing