We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite Inns anywhere!”
Review of The Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Norwich Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Inns anywhere!”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

THE place to stay while visiting Dartmouth. Only trouble is it's so popular we've only been able to stay there twice - first when checking out the school 5 years ago and next time the night after graduation! Be sure to call ahead a year in advance for move in weekend and parents weekends. I understand it's very popular with visiting Dartmouth sports teams parents. Both times we stayed in the main building. Comfortable beds, quiet, charming rooms without being fussy and the all important WIFI. Front desk was very friendly. Only wish we lived closer so we might visit again now that the kid has graduated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    82
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
85
118
33
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Just a short drive from the Dartmouth campus, the Inn is an ideal place for Dartmouth parents dropping off or picking up their students. The staff is very attentive, the pub serves excellent artisan beer, and the rooms in the old part of the Inn are pleasantly atmospheric. (We haven't stayed in the new section.)

If you have a student just starting at Dartmouth, make a point of staying at the Inn on all your visits. You then probably will "qualify" to get one of the coveted invitations from the Inn to stay there at graduation, when rooms anywhere in the Hanover area are very hard to get.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken-Pat-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My husband, 2 daughters and I stayed here so that my daughter could see Dartmouth. We had taken our son to see Dartmouth 4 years ago, and stayed here as well...only this time, the carriage house that we stayed in had been replaced with 2 new buildings! We stayed in the first building, and it was wonderful. Two queen beds, flat screen tv, gas fireplace, and a spacious bathroom. We were on the ground floor, but it was quiet, and we had no trouble sleeping at all. The employees are warm and wonderful, too. I would highly recommend this inn for anyone needing to go to Dartmouth, as it's a 5 minute ride across the bridge. We had dinner at the Thai restaurant Mai Thai, on Main Street, across from Dartmouth, on the second floor--it was delicious. There's a small supermarket next door where you can get yogurt, fruit, or snacks, too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

The Inn is very charming and staff are very welcoming. The food especially the ale was wonderful. The rooms on the 3rd floor are quite a climb.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We spent the night here in Room 18, with 2 queen beds in the Walker House (new accommodations in the back.) We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious, comfortable room with gas fireplace and multiple windows. It is ideally located to Hanover, only 1.5 miles away from our son's dorm, w/out the parking hassles. Although you can't beat the Hanover Inn re: location, the Walker House was much more comfortable and pleasant. (Having said that, I'm not so sure about the Main House, which looked a bit feeble here and there.)
We ate lunch when we arrived in the pub, and the locally brewed beer was delicious! The bartender was a delight as well.
We had brunch on Sunday which was overpriced and a limited menu ($16 - $18 for most items), although the French toast was outstanding. The service was forgetful (our waiter) and the dining rooms leave a lot to be desired (pretty tired) so, the good news is if you are looking for simple sustenance, have the breakfast (not brunch) and appreciate that you don't have to jockey for a table as you would in Hanover.
I've rated the hotel as very good because one must remember that you are not going to find any sort of luxury accommodations in the area, so expectations must be locally driven. Having stayed at a number of places now (including the Marriott Courtyard and Hanover Inn), we'll chose the Norwich Inn again, provided we can stay in Walker House.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bburke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Food was superb, staff was warm and amiable, atmosphere was country inn-ish, decor was very comfortable.

Actually it's one of the best meals I've had on the east coast. Wonderful bruschetta followed by rack of lamb with cheddar polenta topped with balsamic and porto reduction and candied jalapenos. Unbelievable.

They brew their own beer, too, and the snakeskin IPA is terrific.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcken01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Do not rely on reception here to do anything properly. I arrived there jet lagged, and asked for a wake up call whcih they didn't give me. I almost missed a flight although in fairness, the manager drove me to the bus because of their failure to call me. Worse, because I had to leave in a huge rush, I forgot my much loved bracelet. They said that they never found it. I cannot understand how this could be.
Many things about this hotel are nice but I found the stafff very disorganisied and unprofessional. It took me three questions to find out where the breakfast room was- and then it took them 17 mns to supply a simple bowl of cereal.
Only go here if you are very laid back and tolerant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilana049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
1.3 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
274 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwich Inn

Property: The Norwich Inn
Address: 325 Main St, Norwich, VT 05055-9453
Location: United States > Vermont > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Norwich Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norwich Inn is a historic, full-service Vermont country inn located in Norwich, near Dartmouth College, just across the river from Hanover, New Hampshire. An Inn has been on the Main Street site since 1797; the current Victorian Structure since 1890. This Dartmouth hotel is proud to offer 40 guest rooms, a Pub & Dining Room known as Jasper Murdock’s Alehouse and a Microbrewery featuring hand-crafted English Ales, sold only on site. We are proud to offer one of the largest wine selections in Vermont, housed in our new Wine Cellar, which is also available for private parties. Local legend has it that the Inn and the Town were the inspiration behind the popular TV Show, “Newhart,” which was set in Norwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwich Hotel Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing