We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Service and Good Food”

Jasper Murdock's Alehouse
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Jasper Murdock's Alehouse, a restaurant in Norwich, Vermont, features one restaurant menu, whether or not your preferred dining venue is the Pub, Outdoor Patio, Dining Room or Terrace. The menu is extensive, diverse and moderately priced, offering Pub favorites while adding more substantial entrees. A number of items include ingredients from Jasper Murdock Ales made on site. Our Norwich, VT restaurant and brewery feature seating available on a "first come, first served" basis in the Pub/Patio while reservations are available in the Dining Room and Terrace areas. Private, group dining is available for parties of 4 to 100.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Service and Good Food”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nicely decorated, good food, decent prices and great service. Nice place to visit again in the future.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Capecodaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    51
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
331 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“More than a pub”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The pub is just one part of a larger inn with guest rooms and restaurant. It is a nice stopping point on a trip north on I-91. It's a few miles from Exit 13 in Vermont.

We stopped to meet an old friend for lunch on the way to Crawford Notch. We will definitely do a repeat.

Leave enough time to view the quaint ambiance including paintings and memorabilia.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Little Pub, Great Beers”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stopped here for lunch and to sample the beer. Nice little bar with a few tables. It was a little chilly to eat outside although they had propane heaters at some of the tables.

The fried mac and cheese fritters were really mac and cheese balls but they were very good just the same. The smoked brisket was incredibly smoky to the point of being difficult to eat. Unless you like REALLY smoky food steer clear.

The crab cake came was ok. It came on a bed of quinoa which was flavor but a bit too sweet to complement the crab.

I sampled several beers, they were all good. The Underground Bitter III was great.

I toured the bottom of the Inn: the dining area, parlor and porch. It’s very charming and I hope to be able to stay over in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contoocook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“uninspired breakfast in a nice indoor setting”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Met friends here for breakfast for our first time eating at the Norwich Inn. The menu was rather boring and somewhat limited. One of our party ordered the strawberry stuffed croissant french toast which had a bit of pink colored cream cheese inside it but no identifiable pieces of fresh strawberries. It sounded promising but didn't taste so great. My omelet was good and fluffy and hot. Another friend ordered pancakes and they looked and tasted good. My husband's eggs benedict arrived cold. We had to ask for more cream for our coffee (it never arrived) and water (which was only given to two of us, not offered to all). The view out the window with the lovely colored leaves on the trees and the sunshine was great but we won't return for a meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TookieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy and Good Food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Good food and drink. A great place to relax. Pub is not large so you may want to get there early or to have an afternoon drink. There is also an outdoor patio

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasper Murdock's Alehouse also viewed

 

Been to Jasper Murdock's Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing