We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy but not peaceful and quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of North Hero House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Hero House
Ranked #1 of 2 North Hero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy but not peaceful and quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The views of the lake from the property are very nice...but, be sure to request a room away from the road. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. Small, but for 1 night, not a problem. Till about 5am when the traffic right by our room was very noisy. Perhaps there are nicer more quiet rooms, but we needed the only one that offered 2 queen size beds. The property is right next to the only road that goes through town. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwinter05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    60
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
171
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

While the photos on the web site portray a serene lakeside experience, this is not the truth. Federal Highway 2 runs 20 feet is front of the old house and between the main house and the units on the lake. Get out a map and notice it is the only highway in this part of the state. That means that trucks of all sizes pass by 24 hours a day. They DO NOT decrease at night. While steps have been taken to sound proof the old house, very little sound proofing has been done in the lake houses. Your only hope is run the old style wall unit air conditioner at high speed to mitigate the noise of these trucks passing literally 15 feet from where you are trying to sleep. These rooms have furniture that is falling apart and the quality that you would find at a garage sale. The one redeeming quality was that the breakfast was quite good served overlooking the lake. If you decide to not take my advise, park your car pointing towards the traffic to fool the trucks into thinking you are are police and decrease their speeds to the speed limit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 764W0rldTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at North Hero House and liked everything about it. Our room was comfortable, the view of the Lake was amazing and our meals were just perfect. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landsick
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The North Hero house is right on Lake Champlain and our room in the cove house (Hickock room) was everything we had hoped for. The room was cozy with antique furniture and a modern bathroom. We had air conditioning and a wood stove. The best part was the view and our own private porch overlooking the lake.

The food at the North Hero house is superb. Especially breakfast and the desserts. The bread pudding is to die for.

We spent 2 days there and one day we hiked two of the trails in the nearby state parks. Next visit we plan to charter a boat and/or rent kayaks.

I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Check for your favorite room online. It seems the pictures do not lie. If your budget permits, sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landsick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citybay, Owner at North Hero House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Many of our staff members read these reviews and it is very gratifying for them to know that guests appreciate their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The North Hero House has three different buildings and I think your experience here will depend on where you stay. We were in one of the buildings on the lake, which offered a very nice view. But the accommodations were a little cheap and the walls very thin. The beds frames were unbelievably squeaky -- they whine with the slightest movement.

We paid $195 for the room plus tax in August -- I feel like this was substantially too much money.

On the other hand, we had a truly excellent meal in the dining room of the main inn. The food was local and fresh. The chicken was succulent, the peach pie was wonderful, and the ice cream was home made. Our dinner was the best meal we had in our five day vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnblue222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citybay, Owner at North Hero House, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I hate to admit it, but on rare occasions we have a bad night. I remember the night you referenced and we were unavoidably short staffed in the kitchen. I apologize I did not get a chance to talk to you that evening and hope your will come back so that we can make it up to you. Please let me know if you decide to return. Walter, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at NHH for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The setting is lovely with rooms right on the lakefront. Many comfortable places to sit by the water with a gorgeous view of the lake and the mountains. The room was comfortable, clean and well-appointed. We had dinner one night in the restaurant -- the food was delicious and service excellent. Breakfasts were very good with plenty to choose from at the buffet. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAZ0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the North Hero House for 3 nights. We are both 60 years old and were biking between inns throughout Lake Champlain. We chose North Hero primarily because of tripadvisor reviews.

The positive:

1. Great location with views of the lake.
2. Nice food for dinner and breakfast.

The slightly negative:

1. Close to the road, so often noisy from traffic.
2. Air conditioners face out to the screened porch. So it's noisy to sit on the porch at night.
3. Room was a little small with clunky furniture.

THE VERY NEGATIVE AND COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE

My partner either lost or had her wallet stolen. She called Visa the night before we arrived and they offered to overnight a new credit card to her at the North Hero House. She had made the reservation in her name using one of the missing credit cards. She told this to the front desk when we arrived and told them to expect a mailing for her.

After two days, the card had night arrived, so she called Visa and was given the tracking number. We check the tracking number and discovery that the UPS package with her credit card was refused twice by the front desk at the North Hero House; both times on the day we arrived. One time was before we arrived and one time was after we arrived and told them to expect a package. Her name was on the reservation for the room and on the package.

The front desk apologized and said that she could call in her new credit card number when she got home. She asked the person at the desk to note this on the reservation so there wouldn't be a problem when we checked out.

When she went to check out the next morning, she was given a hard time and told it was her fault that they had refused the package since the name "North Hero House" was not on the address. But her name was on the package and she had booked the reservation in her name. Furthermore they refused the package a second time after she told them to expect it.

It was only after I asked to speak to the manager on duty that they backed off and agreed to let her call in her new credit card number on the following Monday evening after work when she had arrived home. Despite this, they called her home twice during the day on Monday and left messages asking for her card number.

The treatment we received certainly left us with negative feelings about the North Hero House. Instead of recognizing the stress of losing your wallet with all of your identification, they gave her a hard time. Instead of acknowledging that they refused delivery of her credit card, they blamed her. A classier place might have bought us drinks or even dinner. It was a disappointing ending to our stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Eulerpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citybay, Owner at North Hero House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We feel badly that this customer encountered difficulties in trying to retrieve her lost credit card and wish to take responsibilty for the problem. We tried to be helpful and made extra trips to the post office to research the problem as we were unaware that a private delivery company had attempted to make the delivery which we refused due to a miscommunication between morning and evening front desk staff. When we realized what had occurred we acknowledged our error and let the guest check out without settling their bill. They were kind enough to call us back with their new credit card number when they finally did receive their card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Hero
23.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
10.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
Best Western Plus Plattsburgh
#2 of 14 in Plattsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
23.7 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
24.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Hero House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Hero House

Property: North Hero House
Address: 3643 Route 2, P.O. Box 207, North Hero, VT 05474-0207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > North Hero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Hero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your North Hero House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Hero House Hotel North Hero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing