We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not the Ritz but it rates a 5”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Hero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 North Hero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I spent the weekend here while attending a family wedding. The rooms were clean and very nice...The views couldn't be beat. You are a stones throw from Lake Champlain
I found the help very nice! A continental breakfast is included! There were hard boiled eggs, bagels, fruit, cereal etc...

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrig!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Yes, Shore Acres is beautifully situated, but I've eaten here twice (last August and again this past week) and have had regrettable meals both times. Last year, my fish dinner contained spoiled fish, so this year (we thought we'd give it a second chance) I ordered mushroom ravioli. Alas, the ravioli were tough and empty, with not even a hint of mushroom, leek, or cheese flavor. The accompanying red sauce was quite watery. My husband's turkey & biscuit consisted of a bit of shredded meat in a thin, creamy "soup" (sans vegetables) with a single soggy biscuit in the middle; the flavor was unidentifiable as turkey. Another member in our party received the wrong order, yet another returned his chicken dish because of seasoning issues & got an overcooked, still poorly seasoned dish in return. To be fair, those who ordered the tuna/seaweed enjoyed their meals.

And then there was the service. We were with a large group and at the outset requested separate checks. At the end, we received a single bill with no effort made to help us figure out our individual charges, no easy task because of different tax rates for alcohol vs food, additional surcharges, and wildly varying prices of the meals ordered. We were there for what seemed like an eternity trying to divide the bill fairly. The manager's suggestion was simply to split the bill equally, which would have meant that my husband's and my dinner would have cost $75 for 2 meals that totaled $36 - an unreasonable solution, especially given the poor quality of our meals.

To put this unpleasant experience in perspective, during this same week our group ate at two other restaurants on the island with universally excellent meals as well as outstanding service - including separate checks cheerfully given. Not a single one of us would ever consider returning to Shore Acres, a sentiment we shared with the much larger group with which we were vacationing.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank CtKnitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Shore Acres was so much more than we expected! It looks like a simple motel from the road, but what a location! Right on the shore of Lake Champlain, with views of Mt. Mansfield and the Green Mountain range. Simple, very clean rooms, friendly staff and an excellent restaurant. You cannot do any better in the Champlain Islands. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our bicycle trip around Lake Champlain took us through North Hero near the end of our journey, so we booked 2 nights. What a great choice!! We couldn't have picked a better spot to relax in their Adirondack chairs - and treat ourselves to 2 very fine dinners.

We appreciated their "bistro" size plates which were more than enough to fuel the next leg of our journey. Prices were reasonable for the exceptional quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwinsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I only had dinner at Shore Acres, I did not stay in their lodging. Dinner was exceptional. Handful of nice local Vermont beers on tap. Wine list was above average with reasonable price points. Food was fantastic all around, from preparation, delivery, presentation, taste, and quantity. Best crab cakes I've ever had. Ahi steak was enormous (their "bistro" size would have sufficed, but I went with the "traditional"), filet mignon was exquisite, raspberry crisp wrapped it all up in good fashion. Family owned and operated, and you can see the pride in everyone. The menu might look slightly overpriced at first glance, but the quality of the food and portion size justify. If you're going by boat, depth at the end of the dock is 6' at lake level 97'.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shortonvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Does it get any better than this?
The view is incredible from this quaint Inn & Restaurant that sits on the edge of Lake Champlain.
Sit outside in an adirondack chair sipping your cocktail and enjoy the view. Then go inside for dinner and enjoy the view, ambience, & food.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank stewinaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have had a number of family gatherings at the restaurant & it is indeed a great place to dine.
We had a little family reunion dinner last week at Shore Acres & as usual the food & service was outstanding. We began with the fried green tomatoes & I had the duck & my wife had the pork tenderloin. Everything was done to order & served in a timely manner. The staff is very friendly & outgoing. Shore Acres is a very pleasant experience with an outstanding view & lots of purple martins outside in their little houses that have been there for years.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant

Address: 237 Shore Acres Dr, North Hero, VT 05474-3000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > North Hero
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Hero
Price Range: $90 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Shore Acres Inn And Restaurant
Shore Acres Inn & Restaurant Hotel North Hero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing