We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and gracious hosts...lovely B&B.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport Center
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff Haven Farm B&B
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm and gracious hosts...lovely B&B.”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This was my husband's & my first trip to Vermont & I must have checked out a gazillion B&B's in the state. Because we visited early in the fall season, we choose to stay as far north as possible, to hopefully get good color. The color was just starting to change up north and it was lovely. We've stayed in many B&B's around the country and abroad and feel this is one of the nicest we've been. Mim & Jacque were wonderful hosts and just wonderful people in general.

We stayed in the chocolate room, which was very roomy, clean & comfortable. They have comfy robes for guests & the towels were fluffy and smelled really good! Our room had a small balcony to sit and enjoy the view of Lake Memphramagog. The common area is small, but very cozy. The breakfast was wonderful. One morning, we had french toast with maple syrup they make on their property. It was delicious and is available for purchase (which we bought several bottles to give as gifts to our friends).

Mim & Jacque freely offered advice on local eateries for dinner and explained the history of the property and a lesson in the art of making maple syrup. We also understand the small town of Newport (a lovely 5 mile ride into town from the B&B) is about to undergo some rennovations and bring in new businesses. The B&B is about an half hour drive to Jay's Peak, which is also undergoing some growth. There is a tram you can ride to the top of the peak, but it was too windy the day we went to do this. I'd love to go back and take the tram ride.

There is a lovely covered bridge within short driving distance from the B&B. One morning we opted to stay on the B&B grounds and explore. There is a lane you can walk or drive up to their pond on the hill, where there is a spectacular view of the lake and surrounding area. We highly recommend staying at Cliff Haven and hope to come back and visit again...in any season!

Room Tip: The chocolate room has 2 beds, so 2 couples could share or you'd have room for 2 children in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffhavenfarmbb, Owner at Cliff Haven Farm B&B, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thanks so much! We really appreciate your time and effort in reviewing our B&B. It's a great boost for our business. Mim & Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
27
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was our first time visiting relatives in Vermont and we spent 4 days of the trip at Cliff Haven Farm, which our GPS found with no problem. We run a B&B in England, so it was lovely to be looked after so well with a good breakfast. Jacques and Mim couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

The house reflects Mim's artistic taste and ability and our room was very comfortable, so we could relax with a book or the TV on dark evenings. A highlight was using the swimming pond, high above the farm, with amazing views over Lake Memphremagog. No muddy pool this - it's clean, the water wasn't cold and there is even a little pool house for changing. One afternoon we swam then basked in sunshine while looking down on the Lake. Bliss!

Thank you, Jacques and Mim, for your warm welcome and our appreciation Jacques for explaining to us how maple syrup is collected and processed. We'll enjoy eating it even more now - and think of you next February working out in the cold to produce the lovely stuff.

Valerie and John Heard, Gravesend, UK

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BriarsCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We wanted to find a charming B&B in Vermont, being that it was our first trip to the State with a French husband and two young boys (9&11 years old.) We wanted a place with good taste, beautiful decoration, charming atmosphere, surrounding of the nature's beauty, and spacious room enough for four. We also hoped to find hospitality and good breakfast. Most of all, we want a place that would leave a strong memory in our family's vacation as "special". Cliff Haven gave us all of the above - though we did not expect all - and a few surprises. On top of its hills was a private boat house next to a pond in which we sailed, swam, and fished. Our boys spent the entire day there while we sat on a bench under a tree house overlooking Lake Memphremagog and its islands.

We traveled and stayed in so many different continents and countries - countless B&B in the cities, towns, and villages. Until now, this place has won our hearts as the "best place to stay".

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. If you travel with children, stay in the Chocolate Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTHOSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire, uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Comfortable Bed and breakfast. Made to feel really welcome. Room was very large with two four poster beds, lounge area and balcony with spectacular views of lake Memphremagog. Room also included small kitchen area. As the B&B was empty our room was upgraded at no extra cost. Breakfast was fine.

The Farm was a little way out of town and was difficult to find but was well worth the search.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eds31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

As autumn is approaching, memories come back to my mind of the wonderful stay we had at Cliff Haven Farm last year in October. This is really a special place, and I think no picture makes justice to it, you have to go! Everything was just perfect, the room was beautiful, the breakfast was tasty (with home made maple syrup) and the owners were really nice, not to mention the gorgeous landscape surrounding the farm. I take this chance to send my greetings to Jacques and Mim, hoping to visit their place once again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picassofish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Our stay was only for two nights, but two weeks still would have been too short. Jacques and Mim are two of the best Innkeepers in the business. Their B & B is high on a hill with a wonderful view of the lake and mountains. We booked the Chocolate room which was spotless with great views of the property and beyond. Jacques and Mim work extremely hard to make sure everyones stay is first class. We will be returning next year
and again look forward to our stay and spending time with the Innkeepers.

Scooter105

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scooter105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So CAL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Jacques and Mim were very welcoming and the stay at their B&B just wonderful. The room was spotless, all amenities needed were available and the stove in the room was great for the cool evenings. The location is peaceful and the views spectacular! I can hardly wait till my trip next fall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnniesBlackLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Center
13.0 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
16.1 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
22.6 mi away
Manoir Hovey
Manoir Hovey
#1 of 1 in North Hatley
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Tram Haus Lodge at Jay Peak Resort
9.7 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
72 reviews
7.7 mi away
Domaine Les Boises Lee Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Haven Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Haven Farm B&B

Property: Cliff Haven Farm B&B
Address: 5463 Lake Rd, Newport Center, VT 05857-9467
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Newport Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newport Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1800's farmhouse on 300 acres in Vermont's beautiful Northeast Kingdom.Comfortable,private rooms with extreme attention to detail.Great food,our own maple syrup. 15 minutes from I-91, 20 minutes from Jay Peak,in a relaxed,quiet, country setting.The perfect Vermont B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing