We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in Newport”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Gnesta B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time in Newport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Little Gnesta is a lovely B&B. our host Ruth was gracious, and her inn is clean and charming. Especially glad for the AC. Rare in these northern climes but needed during this ridiculous heat wave. Great breakfast too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blvto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
135
15
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Liittle Genesta is a comfortable and cozy B&B in Newport, VT. just a short walk from the marina. It is a nice combination of welcoming and private. Our room was bright and spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed and AC. Our experience with the breakfast was self-service, but we were told about this in advance and it was like being at home.

Room Tip: choose one of the larger rooms with en suite bath
See more room tips
Green Features: this B & B combines environmentally commitment with the comfort one expects from a cozy B & B
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfwernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThurEdos, Owner at Little Gnesta B & B, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Little Gnesta B & B. I just wanted to elaborate a bit about why your breakfast was self-serve (and thanks for saying that it was like home and that I had told you it would be.)
Sometimes, when customers want to have a very late or very early breakfast, I still offer it but it is often self serve. This was one of those situations.
Normally, I am around and available during breakfast, happy to answer questions and respond to special requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good location, good food, clean rooms and friendly, inspiring and well organized owner. The price is right. The owner also provided us with a safe place to store our push bikes at night, which was very appriciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Messier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Owner Ruth provides a comfortable and homelike setting for her guests. My husband and I used Newport as a halfway point before continuing to Quebec City. We were touring on our motorcycle and Ruth was accommodating and provided secure spot for our bike. Rooms are all outfitted with comfy Scandinavian beds and accessories. Our room was spotless. Ruth took great care when refurbing and outfitting this older home. Breakfast was delicious and the location is a 10 minute walk from Main Street and a few dining options. Would highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vtgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very clean. Superior hospitality. Highly recommend. Very close to lake and other attractions. Rooms are comfortable and the food is good. Ruth really makes you feel right at home. She also takes AMEX cards which is a huge plus for me while here on business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank checkerdflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Little Gnesta is very well-planned. The decor is a beautiful Swedish blend of minimalist and functional. Ruth (and the welcoming committee, Phillip) are gracious hosts who make you feel welcome from the first moment. Breakfast is delicious, and Newport's waterfront is a short walk away. We will definitely return here!

Green Features: The owner has done a lot to reduce the footprint here. It may even qualify for LEED O&M, which I'd recommend.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Really enjoyed the lovely B&B and very gracious proprietor. With all of the activities in the area, I'm sure I'll be back! Felt wonderfully pampered in the Scandanavian beauty of the room. Really delightful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
14.4 mi away
Jay Peak Resort
18.7 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
23.1 mi away
Le Pleasant Hotel & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Jay Village Inn
Jay Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Jay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
12.8 mi away
WilloughVale Inn and Cottages
7.7 mi away
Domaine Les Boises Lee Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gnesta B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gnesta B & B

Property: Little Gnesta B & B
Address: 115 Prospect St, Newport, VT 05855-2027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Swedish-inspired B & B on the isthmus that is downtown Newport, just steps from international Lake Memphremagog. Four simple, yet elegant rooms, combine Gustavian and Swedish-country design elements where you'll sleep "Scandinavian" with fluffy comforters atop queen-size Carpe Diem beds imported from Sweden. A simple buffet breakfast of crusty breads, granola, yogurt, meats and cheeses. Walk to dining and shopping. Free Wifi. Private baths. Bike trail along the lake to Quebec, Canada (6 miles) only two blocks away. Some French spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing